Customer Reviews for

The Eighth Day

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This unique story absolutely blew me away and turned my rocker i

This unique story absolutely blew me away and turned my rocker into a rocket! Heavily scientifically detailed but, even for the technologically challenged (me), I was willingly led into parts unknown and learned about worlds I never imagined. The characters and brillian...
This unique story absolutely blew me away and turned my rocker into a rocket! Heavily scientifically detailed but, even for the technologically challenged (me), I was willingly led into parts unknown and learned about worlds I never imagined. The characters and brilliant plot entice you into wanting to know more and more and more.
I am begging Tom to please provide more and more and more!

posted by JackieBaron on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blah

Despite the great reviews i just could not muster any interest to finish this

posted by MSGraves on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    This unique story absolutely blew me away and turned my rocker i

    This unique story absolutely blew me away and turned my rocker into a rocket! Heavily scientifically detailed but, even for the technologically challenged (me), I was willingly led into parts unknown and learned about worlds I never imagined. The characters and brilliant plot entice you into wanting to know more and more and more.
    I am begging Tom to please provide more and more and more!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Grrrreat! As a female and first-time reader of a thriller, I was

    Grrrreat! As a female and first-time reader of a thriller, I was absolutely mesmerized and could not put down "The Eighth Day." Not only was the story riveting but Tom Avitabile’s research and knowledge of computers, bombs, mathematics, and the various branches of the military added to the realism to this well-crafted novel. His realistic details are informative and educational to the reader. Since his language is not formal or technical, his narrative allows for easy reading. Tom Avitabile also lets us into the main character’s background, inner thoughts, and tender feelings. I did not want the book to end. I wanted to know more about Hiccock, the main character, and his ex-wife, Janice. I know the book is a thriller but Tom Avitabile made me care about them. I look forward to reading his next book and hope Hiccock and his ex-wife are in it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    A great who done it

    I really enjoyed this book. If anyone is into mysteries, this is one for you. Opened my eyes to a lot of intel issues I really should have know about and how techie our world has become.

    I will look for other books by this author, a great writer and you feel like you are right there and waiting to see what is going to happen next. It's a "gotcha" type book.

    Would make a great book to discuss for any book club.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I have only submitted one other review, but I could not keep fro

    I have only submitted one other review, but I could not keep from sharing my praise for this book and the author. I love reading thrillers, and this is definitely a thriller in all sense of the word. The author never allowed the science to overwhelm the reader, and explained the scientific aspects in the way a great teacher does, so that your mind is open to something new and wonderful. But the bottom line is this is an extraordinary, fast paced, well written thriller. I will definitely have Mr. Avitabile on my list of favorite authors to read. I can't wait to get my hands on his next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great piece of literature! Exciting, captivating, beautifully wr

    Great piece of literature! Exciting, captivating, beautifully written! Once you start reading it, you'll lose the track of time!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This is my first ever book review. I never have any time to rea

    This is my first ever book review. I never have any time to read books. I have an entire book shelf of unread books. I bought "The Eighth Day" at a bookstore in Newark Airport right after it was first published. And, I originally only bought it to support my friend Tom. But I decided to actually try to find some time to read it, so I started reading it -- the first book I had read in many years -- during my breaks at work. I knew Tom was a great talent because I had seen his commercial and film work. I had no idea he was such an incredible author. I am NOT just saying this because he is a friend of mine. I was absolutely hooked when I started reading "The Eighth Day." I know this sounds cliche', but I could not put the book down once I started (and got in "trouble" a few times at work when my manager caught me reading the book well after my break had ended). Wild Bill Hiccock is a fabulous character, but so are many others in this book. And there are many great, unexpected surprises. I hope SOMEone with vision will turn the "Eighth Day" into a major motion picture. Can't wait. Anyway, I LOVED the book.

    -- Lory Lazarus, Bloomfield, NJ

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    You won't put it down and when you do you'll be waiting for the

    You won't put it down and when you do you'll be waiting for the next book to be published!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Wow

    Thriller that sucks you in...could not put this book down. Vince flynn, clancey,patterson, all need to look in their rearview mirrors....theres a new kid on the rise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Having listened to an audio teaser sample (expertly read and rec

    Having listened to an audio teaser sample (expertly read and recorded by the author), I am anxious to read this book. Had me after the first paragraph! . . . EJ Schussler

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    Good read! Storyline beleivable, charecters realistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Fantastic! An intelligent, thinking person's thriller!

    Fantastic! An intelligent, thinking person's thriller!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I just finished this book and loved it. It is a real page turne

    I just finished this book and loved it. It is a real page turner and i enjoyed it every night for the past month. A great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Excellent read! Highly recomm

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Excellent read! Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Great read

    Good mix of suspencee mytery plot story characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Great

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Author Tom Avitaible has given us a most enjoyable reading experience and something to really think about. His cast of characters runs across a broad spectrum of individuals from the U.S. president, various appointed and elected political types, a goodly number of military and Secret Service types and a plot line that is terrorfying to contemplate. Eagerly looking forward to this author's next offerings.

    J M Lydon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Page turner mystery!

    An eye-opening and thought provoking mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    WOW what a story !

    This was a story of WHAT lF and is in the realm of possibility.Is a cautionary tale of what we as humans are capabiliy of and how science and technology are operating and occurring at a faster rate then we can fully understand. If you are a fan of author James Rollins you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    William (Wild Bill) Hiccock is the Science Advisor to the Presid

    William (Wild Bill) Hiccock is the Science Advisor to the President, when unknown terrorists begin to attack the United States in a wide range of areas, with various methods. When the Director of the FBI goes after the terrorists with the same old techniques, William believes that using scientific methods would look at the picture differently and bring about a better outcome. He turns to his ex-wife and other experts to track down some of the peculiarities he sees.




    This is an incredibly action packed book that reaches out to the reader on so many different levels. The setting moves all across the country and in multiple areas of the White House, dealing in political, military, and FBI/CIA relationships. Using science as a venue for the crimes, the vocabulary and focus of the book builds around various areas including computers and artificial intelligence, keeping the reader involved. The action just keeps hopping. It kept me up late for three work nights! The premise leaves your wanting to check your computer to make sure it does not have an enemy within. Hiccock is much like a mental MacGyver. If you like action packed adventure with scientific deduction, you will love this. I cannot wait to get the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    This book was an interesting jaunt into sci-fi / thriller territ

    This book was an interesting jaunt into sci-fi / thriller territory! The characters were well written and easy to like, or hate as the case may be. The science end was very easy to understand and grasp the concept of. SO much so that it was thought provoking wondering what parts could be real and what could not. The characters are not the normal "superhero, never do anything wrong" type of people and I like that about this author.
    I really couldn't put it down. So much so that I've just purchased "The Hammer Of God"
    Finally found a good author to give some of the other thriller genre writers a run for their money!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2