Customer Reviews for

The Elements of Style

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A good book marred by the foreword?

A quick glance at the foreword makes me wonder if they should have left the 'little book' alone after the third edition. Here are a few gems from the foreword -- 2nd para: 'Less frequent practitioners - the job applicant; the business executive .. ; the high school s...
A quick glance at the foreword makes me wonder if they should have left the 'little book' alone after the third edition. Here are a few gems from the foreword -- 2nd para: 'Less frequent practitioners - the job applicant; the business executive .. ; the high school senior .. ; the graduate-school student .. ; the writer ..' ---> Rule 2. In a series of three or more terms .., use a comma after each term except the last. -- 3rd para: 'It was this recurring question, put to himself, that must have inspired White to revive and add to a textbook by an English professor of his, Will Strunk Jr., that he had first read in college, and to get it published.' ---> Rule 20. Keep related words together. -- 3rd para: 'The result, this quiet book ..' ---> Will Strunk's a quiet book? Omit needless words! Use the active voice! ..

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Elements of Incomplete

I was disappointed with the Strunk & White text. I found the reference to be incomplete. Too many rules were not completely illustrated and the entire concept of punctuating dialogue was not included. There is a reason why the book is so slight comprising less than 1...
I was disappointed with the Strunk & White text. I found the reference to be incomplete. Too many rules were not completely illustrated and the entire concept of punctuating dialogue was not included. There is a reason why the book is so slight comprising less than 100 pages--material is missing. I recommend you purchase a different book if you want guidance on punctuation and grammar. Strunk & White are living on a name garnered in past when their work was a valid reference.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Style, not grammar

    This is a book about style -- that is, the style of the author's voice. Not about grammar, punctuation, initialization, et cetera (although it includes elements of those). Read it for its strengths, not its limitations, and you will be happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Must Have Book!!!

    I think this book is absolutely good to have whether you are a writer or not. Everyone writes so the book is good to have and to read again and again. I find it helpful in learning the dos and dont's when it comes to writing and writing correctly. I would highly recommend many individuals to purchase this book. You'd be surprised at what you do wrong when writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    My whole Composition course.

    This book has helping me in my college education; In my Reading and Writing courses.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    EDIFYING

    Intellectual. Edifying, yet eccentric. Whatever the final consonant? Disapprove with the final consonant `s¿! Charles¿s friend is Charles¿ friend; Burns¿s poems is Burns¿ poems. Exclamations? Perfect! Colloquialisms? Perfect!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    The classic and still the best reference for form and style

    Every serious writer--at any experience level--should have a copy of this classic, immensely useful reference book. Compact, yet filled with information, Strunk & White's ELEMENTS OF STYLE is one writer's reference tool that will never go out of fashion. (For a list of additional must-have writing books, visit the Resources page at WriteWayPro's website.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    Indispensable

    This book is a powerful antidote to blithering illiteracy. Buy it, use it, and become a good writer. Leave pretentious, meaningless prose behind. I wish more modern novelists would read it and follow its directions. I might start reading their books if they did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Four generations of STYLE

    This was a required textbook for all freshman English students at Cornell in 1944. Forget "since 1959"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    SIMPLY AN AMAZING BOOK! A MUST-HAVE

    This book is a treasure. Every writer or anyone in school should DEFINITELY buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    The best guide on how to write, bar none

    Bare none, this book is the #1 book for all writers to have. A must buy and a keeper for years to come

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    A Writer's Treasure

    I had forgotten what a treasure this little book is. This updated edition is essential for students and seasoned writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    The College Student's Best Friend.

    This has to be the greatest manual ever printed on the efficacy of concise writing. A must for anyone who writes for virtually any purpose. Grammatical rule has been placed on a 'pen point' for easy reference and excellent explanation. There is no competitor to Strunk and White in this realm.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Sharp, Clear Writing is a Must!

    Pseudo-poetry, experimental prose, and sentences that run on forever are cursed. Simplicity and directness always win. The Elements of Style has set many a floundering writer straight, and it can do the same for you. If you want to write truly great prose, this book is indespensable. I suggest that you buy it now, read it twice on the day it arrives, and then start memorizing as much of it as you can.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2000

    Writing Then, Writing Now

    Strunk and White is great for a quick clean up of one's grammar. It is not helpful though for developing complex style, using metaphor, or using new organizations found in today's essays. My recommendation for that is below.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    The best has gotten better

    This concise and helpful volume brings back simple joy in researching the questions of style,punctuation and grammar that arise in everyday writing. With the new glossary of grammar terms, my only cause for reservation has been removed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Good tool

    book is very informative and has helped my college and professional career already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    vital resource...all my copies -- 2nd, 3rd, & 4th editions -

    vital resource...all my copies -- 2nd, 3rd, & 4th editions -- are dog-eared, worn, and still often consulted...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Never be out of style. This handy little tomb has taken me through decades of public school and college. Now, I give this book to my high school English Language Arts students most of whom are thrilled with its humor and serious take on our wonderful language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shame on BN - as noted below in some of 179 Customer Reviews it'

    Shame on BN - as noted below in some of 179 Customer Reviews it's very hard to tell which edition this book or any of the other books with the same tittle and author, are, or which is the most current.  If you read the Overview, the Editorial Reviews and the Comments listed they appear on each version of the book which BN has offers.  So not only are you clueless to which edition of book the editorial review is actually reviewing, but you have no frame of reference which of the comments apply to which of the books.  I opened 3 different versions of this book, and the same Overview, Editorial Review and Comments appear under each of the different books. So when it's noted that some of the books don't contain all the contents as described in the overview - it's no wonder since the same reviews are posted for each edition of the book.  come on BN - you can do better then this!  You do change the Product Details area which displays the ISBN number, the publisher and the date published and the number of pages - surely you can provide separate comments as they apply to each of the various versions.  Please correct - right now what you display for the average reader is misleading and erroneous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Not very useful

    Check out some other tool books, I don't like this one, there are much better ones out there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4