Customer Reviews for

The Elite (Selection Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(391)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

I purchased this at midnight on my Nook. I told myself I was onl

I purchased this at midnight on my Nook. I told myself I was only going to read 50 pages or so and then go to sleep. I am now at work with a pounding headache and blurry eyes because of course 50 pages was not enough and I ended up reading the entire thing by 5am. It wa...
I purchased this at midnight on my Nook. I told myself I was only going to read 50 pages or so and then go to sleep. I am now at work with a pounding headache and blurry eyes because of course 50 pages was not enough and I ended up reading the entire thing by 5am. It was so, so worth it though! I should start by saying that I am Team Maxon all the way, so all the little American/Maxon moments just made my heart flutter. I don't want to give away any details, so I'm not going to say much about what happened. I lot of interesting developments/twists. The only thing that bothered me is that I feel like there's so much we still don't know about the rebels and who they are or what their purpose is. Otherwise, I sincerely loved The Elite! Can't wait until the next book!

posted by dear_prudence on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The Selection has become a game within a game...Take the concept

The Selection has become a game within a game...Take the concept of a reality show and add a pinch of dystopian class structure and you have this series.
The Bachelor for teenagers.
It is written in a very simplistic manner.It lacks the gritty substance of a YA and is g...
The Selection has become a game within a game...Take the concept of a reality show and add a pinch of dystopian class structure and you have this series.
The Bachelor for teenagers.
It is written in a very simplistic manner.It lacks the gritty substance of a YA and is geared stylistically more towards young teens and indeed I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to readers age 13 plus.
It is filled with the fantasy of young girls. Pretty dresses and handsome boys vying for the heroines attention.
Unfortunately she seems to be just a tad on the fickle side and the content of the book is a long extended game of the following. Oh Maxon likes me, wait a minute Aspen is really kind of cute, Maxon likes me, oh no wait a minute no he doesn't, uhm Aspen is cute...errm Maxon might like me?
Fair enough younger readers and YA/Teen category lovers will probably adore it.
I think the author needs to be careful not to let the series become too predictable. The next book will eliminate two more girls and so on. Whatever essence of faux fantasy life attracted readers to the first book is slowly starting to dissipate in this second one.
I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

posted by CherylM-M on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    The Selection has become a game within a game...Take the concept

    The Selection has become a game within a game...Take the concept of a reality show and add a pinch of dystopian class structure and you have this series.
    The Bachelor for teenagers.
    It is written in a very simplistic manner.It lacks the gritty substance of a YA and is geared stylistically more towards young teens and indeed I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to readers age 13 plus.
    It is filled with the fantasy of young girls. Pretty dresses and handsome boys vying for the heroines attention.
    Unfortunately she seems to be just a tad on the fickle side and the content of the book is a long extended game of the following. Oh Maxon likes me, wait a minute Aspen is really kind of cute, Maxon likes me, oh no wait a minute no he doesn't, uhm Aspen is cute...errm Maxon might like me?
    Fair enough younger readers and YA/Teen category lovers will probably adore it.
    I think the author needs to be careful not to let the series become too predictable. The next book will eliminate two more girls and so on. Whatever essence of faux fantasy life attracted readers to the first book is slowly starting to dissipate in this second one.
    I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Anonymous

    I thought this book was a big step down from the Selection. The whole book had no purpose; nothing has changed. Maxon's still in love with America, America still hasn't made up her mind, and Aspen's still left hanging on. I would have said spoiler alert but you already knew all that from the Selextion: my point exactly. Not a lot of eventfulthings happened and whem somethimg did and I thought the plot would twist for sure, everything got straightened out right back to plain old boring. In the first book, America seemed so strong, but in this book if I had a dime for every time she broke dow crying, I'd be rich. I would have liked to read more about America's family. I'm not saying they disappeared, except for Gerad, just that I would have liked to known how the money America was sending helped the family. Also, the characters' personalities changed too. Examples: America is less strong and more whiny, Maxon is less caring, Marlee is less perky, and Celeste acts not threatening anymore but bored. Maybe it was suppose to be like that and have some deeper meaning, but I liked their personalities a lot better in book 1. Even though this book did not live ip to my, and probably your, expectations, I still recommend reading it because it is a good book just not nearly as good as the first. So ya, read this book just lower your expectations first so you can finish the series.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    The Elite started out even more irritating than The Selection. I

    The Elite started out even more irritating than The Selection. Instead of worldbuilding, we get thrown straight into the action, but there’s just not all that much action. America and Maxon go back and forth on their feelings toward each other, never truly expressing how they feel. America grows into an even shallower individual. She’s nice to her maids. Right. But she acts superior toward everyone else. So I don’t really buy it. I don’t buy half the stuff she says or does, because she’s simply too inconsistent. She never makes up her mind.

    Maxon isn’t that great either. He’s boring and annoying, and he changes his mind every other minute as well. I started hating him halfway through the book, especially after what happened to Marlee. I’ve always liked Marlee – sometimes I wished she would’ve been the main character instead of America.

    Storywise, not a lot happens. America and Maxon play a game of hot and cold, Aspen shows up at the palace, the girls still compete for Maxon’s affections and our dear prince doesn’t exactly stay monogamous. If I were America, I’d probably slap him, but hey, I would probably not fall for such a douchebag in the first place. Either way, Maxon doesn’t redeem herself and by the end, I’d wholeheartedly prefer Aspen over him.

    I can’t really tell you the plot, because there’s barely any plot. There’s barely any character development. There’s barely anything. Either way, I enjoyed it enough to start reading, hence the somewhat-positive rating, which surprises me. It’s kind of like “The Bachelor”. The show is empty, there’s no spark, no story, but still you get hooked for an unexplainable reason.

    I might pick up the third book to know how it ends, but I’m not enamored by the series at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I have to say I loved selection much more. This was not as good.

    I have to say I loved selection much more. This was not as good. It was pretty much the same, there wasn't really much new information.I hate Maxon, I think he's a jerk. I love Aspen. Even though I wasn't a fan of this, I have to see how it turns out. This book was predictable and annoying

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    I had a good time reading and cursing against the characters ...

    I had a good time reading and cursing against the characters ... while egearly turning the pages...

    If the first volume was about a well known reality tv show maybe a little bit too developed, the author relies less on this in "The Elite." Yet, the game is still on and the prince must choose his beloved.
    And this is where I found that the story revolved around in circles.

    As there are no more dramatic elimination (except one), nor romantic getaways, the story focuses on the emotions. Unfortunately, America is still undecided. She wants to be selected by Maxon but continues to keep her opportunity open with Aspen. 
    And she dare to be jealous when the prince shows interest in another suitor. Not a great role model...  Our heroine seems to have forgotten that she is in a game .. She does not know what she wants, she is unfair and for these reasons, she is annoying. Surprisingly, she is also endearing thanks to her blunders full of good intentions.

    Maxon, as all male participants in "The Bachelor", he takes full advantage of the opportunities with its contenders. Therefore, he is annoying when he confess his love after making out with a different girl few minute earlier. An annoying player with a poker face...
    But new revelations at the end of the book promises to spice up the next volume.

    If I turned the pages cursing, I still turned them quickly. This is the main thing! 

    After that, maybe I would have ended the selection in this volume and I would have concentrated on the princess life at the palace once the cameras would be turned off because of the rebels, of the alliances and the king's attitude... All these ingredients announce a great page-turner potential...

    So, I look forward to the next volume should be more darker ...

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Just ok

    I was very excited when this came out. Unfortunately, it was not nearly as good as the Selection. There wasn't much forward momentum and plot. America thinks she loves Max, she gets upset with him over something, they talk about it, and she repeats the whole process. It was one of those books that are long for no reason, it is just a collection of mushy words. I still like the overall idea of the selection going on, but this book was just ok. I would suggest just getting it at the library. It isn't worth the ten dollars. You don't even find out who wins. I can't wait until the next one comes out; both to see if Cass will write better and to finally find out what happens in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Good.annoying. a little heartbreaking.& ok.

    I read this book in 2 hours. This is how it went... i really started out liking this book than i was annoyed with it.with aspen, america, and the prince. Than my heart was breaking because i was really thought it was the end. I just wish america will get over aspen. I use to like him but i dont anymore he seems more of a jerk.

    This book was good i just hope the third one comes out soon because i didnt like the ending very well.


    I give it a three star because im not as eager for this series but i am interested in it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Story falters

    Harder to read than the first book. The MC's are constantly doing things out of character and it gets distracting. Although I have to find out what happens in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Fun series

    Prince Maxon has narrowed the selection down to six girls - the elite. America must decide not only between Maxon and hher old love Aspen, but between life as a princess and that of an ordinary person. My frustration with this book was about that - America seemed to keep changing her mind or was otherwise unable to make adecision about what she really wants. I'll probably read The One though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Does this remind anyone else of The Bachelor?? A bunch of annoyi

    Does this remind anyone else of The Bachelor?? A bunch of annoying & sometimes idiotic women chase after a guy, while you cheer for one? Anyway, I still enjoyed it for the most part. I do not give away spoilers, so I will not get into my likes and dislikes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Loved the first book. Not totally impressed by this one. America

    Loved the first book. Not totally impressed by this one. America was somewhat annoying, but still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    The Selection

    Could've been better. I hated how she kept changing her mind between Aspen and Maxon,just make up your mind! Also,I wish there wasn't any cussing or quite so much physical closeness. Overall I do like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Honestly, I was a little disappointed with this book. it was not

    Honestly, I was a little disappointed with this book. it was not as good as the first one. the characters that the author set up in the selection were not the same characters here. I'm fine with surprises and twists but this took a twist in a bad way. it was a decent book. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Liked it a lot

    Liked it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    The Elite is a very emotionally draining book. This is not a hap

    The Elite is a very emotionally draining book. This is not a happy-go-lucky edition to the series at all, and I would not suggest reading it while you are already in a crappy mood unless you want to add to your already bad mood. I am kind of glad that there is only one more book left in the series, because I really want this love triangle to end. I don't like love triangles already, but this one is just dragging on with no hint of it being resolved. My feelings on Maxon have changed a lot and he isn't the sweet guy I thought he was. Regardless I still don't want America with Aspen, so Maxon better shape up. On the positive side America is finally gaining self confidence and is realizing her potential. I thought that was a really great thing that came out of book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great series

    Very good book...a little short but couldn't wait to read the next part of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Good Series

    This is a great series of books. But unlike some series, both books have an open ending, you have to read the next to get the rest of the story. I think the author should have waited until the story was complete and made it one book. I was so disappointed when I got to the end of this book and it just ended without any conclusion at all! that's why I gave it three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Eh.

    I will admit I was a bit disappointed in this book compared to the first. The first book was fantastic and then when I read this book (in a few hours), I was disappointed with how the characters had changed. I understand why they had to because of things that were happening in the book, but it seemed as if America became too dependent on a man when in the the first book she had a lot more independence. Also, all of the characters save Marlee really angered me. They weren't the characters I grew to love. I am curious as to how this will all be wrapped up because at the moment it is a mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2