Customer Reviews for

The Elusive Wife (Entangled Scandalous)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't read this genre of book very often and I wasn't really e

    I don't read this genre of book very often and I wasn't really expecting to like it. However, it was witty, the characters had a lot of spunk & the issues/conflicts were timeless so I really enjoyed it! 




    Who would want to be forced into an arranged marriage? Obviously the idea doesn't appeal to most of us, but I'll tell you the way Hutton described Jason physically along with the fact that he is titled and wealthy made him a very eligible bachelor! However, readers will understand why Olivia is very turned off from the moment she meets him. 




    Jason & Olivia are actually both seeking the same type of relationship--neither wants a typical ""ton"" marriage in which both partners cheat & all they worry about is keeping up appearances. Sir Jason doesn't give this impression from the beginning though and when Lady Olivia finds out about his reputation as a rake and a rogue, she decides to play a little game with him. 




    Normally, women depicted from this time period are prim & proper and would never behave in ways that would compromise their fitness for marriage. Lady Oliva--while still maintaining her virtue & always remaing a lady in every way--manages to outsmart Jason at every turn. It is delightful to read! She proves her intelligence, talent, heart, and character all while displaying wit & self-respect. She's definitely not your typical ton socialite! 




    I loved this book and you will too. Jason is a hottie & Oliva is the kind of woman we'd all want as a friend. Read it! 




    Reviewed by Joelle for Cocktails and Books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE ELUSIVE WIFE by Callie Hutton is an exciting Regency Histori

    THE ELUSIVE WIFE by Callie Hutton is an exciting Regency Historical Romance. A fast paced story of Lady Olivia and Jason Cavendish, the Earl of Coventry forced to marry in order to gain his inheritance,Jason sets his new bride aside the next day without a backward glance,with no consummation of the wedding vows, of course. He will learn that hell hath no fury like Lady Olivia….Lord Coventry doesn’t even remember what is beautiful wife looks like,he was drunk for their wedding. So when she decides to visit her good friend in London,what a surprise,he doesn’t know the lady he is chasing his is wife. Filled with passion,a secret or two,and coming to terms with your past. These two lovebirds may just became “lovebirds” after all,if Lady Olivia can put her hurt aside,and Jason can put his feelings for his father aside. Fast paced and filled with a bit of laughter. You will not want to miss “The Elusive Wife” as the truth unfolds,their hearts are laid bare,then maybe love can blossom. For you see Lord Coventry is running from the demands his father placed on him,even from the grave. I would recommend this title if you enjoy a quick read,to me anyway,historical romance,and the tale of two people betrothed at a young age, why Lady Olivia was only a baby,and Lord Coventry a very young man,and the struggles with reality,than you will enjoy “The Elusive Wife”. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR (Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The Elusive Wife is a great historical romance about Lord Covent

    The Elusive Wife is a great historical romance about Lord Coventry and his arranged marriage to Lady Jane "Olivia" Grant. Jason struggles with his fathers meddling ways and to proof him wrong he treats his future wife horribly by getting so drunk he can not remember her. Lady Olivia has a hard time understanding why her husband would treat he so badly and leave her in the country. The meet while she is staying with a friend in London and Jason immediately is drawn to her. He must now get a divorce so that he can pursue her. Only he doesn't know that she is his wife. Will they overcome their issues and stay married or is the betrayal to much to overcome?!?

    I really like this book. I was happy that Olivia made him work for her affections and that it wasn't easy for him. I am a fan of Sylvia Day and this book reminded me alot of "The Stranger I Married". I will definitely read more form this author. 

    I received an ARC of this book for an honest review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher. Note: There

    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher.

    Note: There are some plot reveals in this review.
    This book has an interesting plot. Olivia and Jason are forced into an arranged marriage.
    Jason, who is disappointed over having to marry someone not of his choosing, gets drunk the night
    before his wedding. He is so drunk during the ceremony that when he wakes the morning after the
    wedding, he can not remember her and he leaves before he sees her again. Abandoned at the estate,
    Olivia feels humiliated and sends a letter to her friend Elizabeth, who invites her to London,
    where the fun begins. Jason doesn't recognize the woman he marries and whom he believes is still
    residing in the country. He is attracted to Olivia, while she is angry that her husband didn't recognize
    her and was pursuing her while he is already married. Jason eventually realizes who she is and is livid.

    Olivia is a strong character who is resistant to Jason's advances, while he is determined to win her over.

    The writing was good. I did feel though that the use of the word arrogant to describe Jason was a bit overused. I also didn't quite understand Jason's motivation for keeping the marriage a secret even after he knew her identity and she had moved to his London townhouse. It would seem in London with the number of people around this could not be kept secret.

    Overall, I enjoyed this book and would read more books from this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Jason is forced into an arranged marriage in order to inherit. S

    Jason is forced into an arranged marriage in order to inherit. So what does he do? He gets so drunk before the ceremony that he doesn't remember what his wife looks like. When he does see her at a ball, he doesn't know she's his wife and is attracted. Then he has to work for it.  This is a well written story with witty dialogue and banter that keeps you interested straight to the happily ever after. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    The Elusive Wife was a complete surprise to me. As I do not norm

    The Elusive Wife was a complete surprise to me. As I do not normally read historical romance. The characters were realistic and seemed to jump off the page at you. I couldn't put the book down until I completed it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well written trip into history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Last night I just finished The Elusive Wife by Callie Hutton. I

    Last night I just finished The Elusive Wife by Callie Hutton. I have to say I did enjoyed the story. However, there were sometimes I wanted to strangled the hero and heroine. However, I'm glad they were able to workout their situation.

    The things a liked about the book:

    First off, I really liked Lady Jane Olivia Grant. However, I felt really bad for her. I mean she kind of got tossed around like a bad penny. It was heart-breaking to see that no one really wanted her. Fortunately, that changes as the story goes on.

    Then you have Jason Cavendish, Earl of Conventry. Yes, he didn't want to get married. He could have tried to get to know the girl before he ran back to London. Granted his best friend was calling him a bastard for doing what he did. You know that's bad when you use to go traipsing around town together. Not a good sign at all. I really thought of him as scum of the earth, but he did slowly win my heart. I love how everyone in the story couldn't understand why he did what he did, because they see a different side of him.

    I must say The Elusive Wife was brilliantly done. I think Olivia did a marvelous job keeping up with her charade. I don't know if I could have done what she had done, I personally would have lost my cool and gave up a long time ago. I love how Jason decided he wanted to make a go of his marriage once he realize he enjoyed her company. The dynamics of the story is quite entertaining. Overall, a well done book. I would recommend this read for those who enjoy historical romance with a convoluted storyline. I truly think The Elusive Wife is a well done story. So, if you are looking for a clueless Earl go check this read out.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    I received the ARC copy from publisher. Thank you! I never read

    I received the ARC copy from publisher. Thank you!
    I never read any Regency Historical Romance, I know, don't hate me. I don't tend to buy books in this genre :-) :-) I received an ARC but this was my fault I didn't read what I signed up for, yup, *hide my head* hate me now...But it's a good thing I didn't read it or I missed such a good story. I enjoyed reading every pages. I enjoyed and loved Lady Olivia and her friend Lady Elizabeth. I feel for her most of the time, good thing she's not one of those whiny heroine and could hold up on her own with Lord "Arrogant" Jason Cavendish. But Lord Cavendish, arrogant he may be, I can't help to liked him with his delicious way with the Ladies :-)
    But like men in our time, Lord or Earl they maybe, cleavage got nothing on them, it can make them loose their heads or start a brawl hahaha.
    I truly loved reading this story. The plot was excellent and the story was well written. This one was well worth my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    What a great farce!  The battle of wits between the main charact

    What a great farce!  The battle of wits between the main characters was well written.  Their antics were both funny and frustrating, just as they should be in a novel such as this.  Hutton's latest novel is quite a bit different from the last of hers that I read.  Moving from the Oklahoma Territory is quite a switch, and Hutton did it well.  Wonder where she'll take us next time?

    I received an advance copy of this great novel in exchange for a review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Elusive Wife By: Callie Hutton I loved this story by Callie

    The Elusive Wife
    By: Callie Hutton

    I loved this story by Callie Hutton! The Earl Lord Coventry is forced by his deceased father’s will to marry Lady Jane in order to inherit; after the wedding, he sees his wife again in London, but since he left the next morning after the ceremony, he doesn’t recognize his wife. When Jason Cavendish marries, he is too drunk to recognize his wife when he sees her again as Lady Olivia in London.

    Since Jason doesn’t want to be married, he leaves his wife in the country after their wedding. She feels betrayed, left alone, and unloved. When she goes to London and sees her husband at a ball, he doesn’t even recognize her. She is mortified. Not only did he leave after the wedding ceremony, she didn’t make enough of an impression on him for him to remember what she looked like. But yet, Lord Coventry is pursuing her. Why would he pursue her when he is married and doesn’t know she is his wife?

    What happens when Lord Coventry finally realizes his wife Lady Jane is Lady Olivia, the woman he is pursuing? Lord Coventry and Lady Jane’s bantering will keep you entained throughout the book. He tries to convince her to love him and she is upset, angry, and confused about his actions. Once you start this book, you won’t be able to put it down. Lord Coventry decides he must win his wife’s love, but will she accept? Can he change her mind about how she feels about him since he abandoned her after the wedding and then pursued her not knowing she was his wife? Lady Olivia doesn’t make it easy for Lord Coventry. Her friend Elizabeth encourages her to purchase her wardrobe and accessories for the Season in London and charge it all to Lord Coventry. In another scene, Lady Jane knocks them off his horse and then rides away, leaving him behind without a way back to the stables. Their banter will keep you turning the pages until the end. You will not want to put this book down! You will laugh, cry, and cheer for this couple as they fight their love for one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    very good book...quick read

    very good book...quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Noew this is what a writer do and you did it well.

    Wonderful read 226 pgs in one day. This is what I do. My frist book by Ms. H and it will not be my last. And no I am not about to tell you about the story buy it and fall in love with the players yourself. For you have a review to write. Love it wondetful. Ms. D from Bronx, NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommend this book.

    The year 1812 Lady Jane Olivia is to wed Jason Cavendish, the Earl of Coventry. He does not want to wed his fathers goddaughter and shows up at his wedding drunk. The ceremony takes place but he has no idea the following day what she looked like.
    This indeed is a very cute book with a story line that has humor and charm. If you enjoy Historical Romances this is a perfect choice. JM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Enjoyable characters

    Other titles in the series are interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Entertaining with a delightful twist to keep you interested. St

    Entertaining with a delightful twist to keep you interested. Story line progressed well and was my style of humor especially dealing with arrogant males.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Fun Regency Read

    Elusive Wife delivers on the promise of one collasal mistake that digs our hero and heroine deeper and deeper until the inevitable resolution. Getting there -- with the torn loyalties, hurt, guilt on one side and the joy of new love, wicked humor and shopping on the other -- is the fun. This is an entertaining light-hearted read sure to satisfy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This was a fun book. I lol several times...especially during the

    This was a fun book. I lol several times...especially during the bedroom scene. When you read it, you 
    will know what I'm speaking of.  Humor, well written, and a lovable couple makes this book a steal at 
    .99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Awesome read

    Written very well. Characters were great, romance and tension was awesome. Good story line too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2