Customer Reviews for

The Ember Gods (Kilenya Series, 2)

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    As other people have said just as good as the first book. I can

    As other people have said just as good as the first book. I can't wait to read book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Yh

    Gyghct

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Book 2, just as good as the first!

    The Ember Gods is just a fun and enjoyable as the first book. The characters are well written. This series is a great adventure and a clean read! Great for kids as well as adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Extremely Recommended!!

    The Ember Gods, second book from The Kilenya series by Andrea Pearson, is one of the best YA books ever! It hook you from the very beginning. It takes you to another world full of adventures, fantasy, action, and potions! I highly extremely recommend this book!! It has everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Fun read

    I was so excited to see Jacob's story continue in "The Ember Gods". Jacob starts high school while continuing to learn more about Eklaron. The book does a great job of capturing the life of a boy trying to live in two different worlds. Jacob's eagerness to take on whatever he faces felt very true to life. The story is imaginative and fun to read. I can't wait to see what else is in store for Jacob and his friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great read for anyone who enjoys fantasy

    The Ember Gods is a great book and no I am not the author although we do have the same name :) Here is the review I have written for it! I highly recommend reading the first book, The Key of Kilenya, as well. The Ember Gods, the second book in the Kilenya series, is a book I will recommend to anyone who is interested in fantasy stories. I have taught elementary school and I think this series would be appropriate for 10 years and older, although I am sure some of my 6 and 7 year old students would dive right into these books. After reading The Key of Kilenya, the first book in the Kilenya series, I was very excited to read The Ember Gods. I enjoyed reading the book and was left hanging at the end wanting to know what adventures next awaited our hero, Jacob. I found the book to follow the rules and character personalities of the first book very well. The transition from one book to the next was smooth and uninterrupted. I did, however, feel that it took longer to get into the story than the first. I was so anxious to find out what happened next to the characters from the other world that I wanted the story to begin and in that I was disappointed. It took a few chapters for the story to get rolling and the fantasy and action of the story to absorb me into its world. Once the story got underway my attention was captivated and I was left to allow the author's imagination to take me on the journey with Jacob through the world of Makalos, Lorken, and Minyas. I really enjoyed learning with Jacob what his unique powers are and how to use them. The author does a great job connecting Jacob's earth life with his adventures in the other world. Like any 14 year old boy Jacob has his ups and downs with school, sports, his being basketball, and his peers; because these are described so well, many people, especially teenagers, will be able to relate to him. The author also did a great job of relating to the reader through her description of Jacob's frustration when he feels stretched too thin because of his Earthly responsibilities as well as all that is expected of him in the other world. For anybody looking for a quick, fun read I highly recommend the Kilenya series, by Andrea Pearson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Great book for all ages!!

    This is the second book in the Kilenya series. I was excited to read this book after I finished Andrea's first book The Key of Kilenya. I was glad I was able to continue the series. The book starts right up and continues from where the last book left off. I got pulled in instantly and enjoyed reentering the world of Eklaron. The creatures and the world is different from what I've read before and I loved it! Here is the synopsis:

    ________________________


    Jacob Clark has just returned from the world of Eklaron, where he frustrated the evil plans of the Lorkon and returned the magical Key of Kilenya to its rightful owners. His quest is far from over, though-Aloren is trapped in Maivoryl City by the Ember Gods, and Jacob can't return to save her until he receives the potion that will protect his team from the corrosive influence of the Lorkon. Balancing between this new world and his own proves tricky. Not only has he started his first year of high school, but his magical abilities are bringing him too much attention. He feels pulled by both sides, hoping he'll be able to figure out his special powers to save Aloren in time.

    ________________________


    Jacob spent a lot of time comparing himself to his brother Matt in the first book so I'm glad we got to see more of him in the second book. I enjoyed seeing the strengths and weaknesses of both and how well they worked together. It was fun having Matt witness all of the different abilities Jacob had and instead of being jealous, he worked right along with him. There are many twists and turns in this book to keep you hooked. Jacob has so much going on his life but he is still able to keep it together. He even shows compassion when he could easily have gotten revenge on a high school rival. I loved the ending of the story. You have foreshadowing along the way, but you have no idea what's going to happen until you read the end. I loved it! I can't wait to see what is in store for Jacob in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read for teenagers and adults

    Andrea Pearson's sequel to Book One:Key of Kilenya, The Ember Gods, is a great read for teenagers and even adults. I found the first book very interesting and intriguing and it kept me hooked from the first chapter. The second book is even more suspenseful and exciting than the first, which is saying something. There is more action and I feel like I was more into the book; I couldn't put the book down! This book contains a lot of fantasy, mythical type creatures (that are very creative I might add), and an intense story line. I would rate this book on the same level as Harry Potter. I would recomend this book to anyone 10 years old and above. Andrea Pearson is an exceptional author and with her continuation of her Kelenya Series, I know she will continue to exceed my expectations of a "good book."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1