Customer Reviews for

The Eminem Show

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting

    I was young once, loved the rebellious music, i grew out of it, but this guy I still listen to this is my only rap album i have left and the only one i still like

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Eminem Show

    "The Eminem Show" is a good CD with a variety of diffferent songs. I like this CD becuase Em Raps about things that other rappers don't. He talks about real life, and makes the situations funny. He has talent, and really shows it in this CD, with unique and amazing lyrics and beats. For anyone thats a Eminem fan, this CD is a must. For those who are new to Emimen, make sure you don't listen to this CD in front of younger siblings, or your parents. Overall, I really enjoy "The Eminem Show" and think its a classic Rap CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO FRICKIN COOL

    The Eminem Show is definitely the genius of the best rapper alive. Everything from Curtains Up to Curtains Down is a motherfreaking hott song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    guess who's back...

    This CD is pretty good. I like some songs more than others. but all around this is a great CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    its ya boy

    i gave this album 4 stars because of white america... that song probably has the best lyrics with meaning ive heard in a long time... an there's a couple of other songs on there that i like but only 4...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You're 'bout to witness hip-hop at its most purest...

    The whirlwind of controversy that has surrounded Marshall Mathers since his mainstream debut, The Slim Shady LP, has been nothing short of Marilyn Manson-esque. With each album, however, this talented emcee has gone from a novelty act to one of the best in the game, and with The Eminem Show, Eminem displays nothing short of a modern day miracle: a white kid putting out the best hip hop album of the year. Eminem begins the album with "White America", a track which Em examines his popularity through his affect on the modern day TRL crowd and why he believes congress has beef with the emcee. On "Cleanin Out My Closet", Em gives us a deeper look at his troubles with his ex-wife and his much-publicized feud with his mother. There are many great tracks here that allow us to hear the lyrical genius that is Eminem, such as "Square Dance", "Say What You Say", and the Dr. Dre-produced "Business". Even the filler ("Without Me", "Drips", "Superman") don't necessarily require the skip button. But the diamond in the rough in this collection is "'Til I Collapse", a hardcore track with a Nate Dogg hook where Em angerily spits his venom for all the right reasons at his detractors "In this industry I'm the cause of a lot of envy, so when I'm not put on this list this **** does not offend me" and offers any emcee to bring it "So this is like an open attack I'm launchin' at 'em, the track is on some battlin' rap, who wants some static?" With "The Eminem Show", we get to see an emcee at the top of his game, but not at his pinnacle. One can only wait for his ILLMATIC or BLUEPRINT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Guess whoz bak?

    Once again, Eminem masks his album in a thick covering of critic-proof skin, so that his third release The Eminem Show, like its predecessor The Marshall Mathers LP, can hardly be faulted. Of course, way back in 1999 with his first album The Slim Shady LP, Eminem had already recognised his ''bad role model status'' with songs like Guilty Conscience and of course, the controversial Role Model. Slim Shady's come a long way since as is evident on The Eminem Show. In some ways, he is iller than ever. Perhaps 2000's Kim showed the peak of his rage, but it is almost matched on the nerve-shredding anger of Cleanin' Out My Closet, in which he blasts out another storm of fury against his father (''My faggot father musta had his panties up in a bunch'') and of course, against his mother who has already sued for $12m. (''You selfish *****! I hope you ****** burn in hell for this ****!''). On the other hand, musical sensitivity is more present than ever like in the charming Hailie's Song and also My Dad's Gone Crazy, both of which feature his daughter Hailie-Jade. Unsettlingly though, both songs are also opportunites for anger and revenge. On the former he viciously attacks his baby's mother (''Man I shoula seen it comin'! What I stick my penis up in!'') but in the same song he also says, ''People..just don't see my real side.'' However, it's very hard to see a sensitive side in Shady as in his music it is always concealed with vindictive anger. And how good is the album? Absolutely fantastic; unbeatable lyrics, production that is every bit as great as the rhymes, and brilliantly captured emotion that proves Shady every bit as authentic as any of his black counterparts....yet at the same time absolutely infuriating and horriblly unforgiving. But you can not argue against it. It's just too good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Guess Whos Back?

    ..scratch my back. Eminem's new joint will go down as his best to date. Shady could soon be listed as the greastest MC in the game. he does touch on somme sensitive issues, but that's why we have free speech. How about him giving props to all the artists he feels are better. I think all rap fans would agree with that list. He shows he is not cocky like the other cat who claims to be the greatest. He just shows his greatness by letting his numbers do the talking. Did he ever mention his bling. A couple of songs could go into the rock category, but that just shows his diversity. Some artist do get better with time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Promoter's Dream

    Eminem's new album provides an insight into the seemingly twisted mind of a quintessential white boy gone bad rapper that is Marshall Mathers. Look further into his lyrics (Cleanin Out My Closet, Hailie's Song...) and you are left with the brilliance of a rapper who is, in reality, a marketing genius. Nicely played.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I heard it and its great

    I heard this album and its his best yet. From beginnning to end it had me listening to what he was going to say next. He even SINGS a song for his daughter and then 2 songs later has a song WITH his daughter. Ok so I admit I got the bootleg but its so good im even gonna buy the real one. And that doesn't happen too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1