Customer Reviews for

The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book: Everything You Need to Know to Put Your EQ to Work

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The best on emotional intelligence

I've read several books on emotional intelligence and The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book is my favorite. I find the anecdotes fascinating and the research relevant to the real world (as the author's studied how emotional intelligence takes shape by gender, job perfor...
I've read several books on emotional intelligence and The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book is my favorite. I find the anecdotes fascinating and the research relevant to the real world (as the author's studied how emotional intelligence takes shape by gender, job performance, with family, etc.) It's also the only emotional intelligence book that comes with an online test, which is key. Each book has a code inside that allows you to measure your EQ online. Really top notch! Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not that interesting or new

Information is basically a re-hash which makes it slow and tough to get through. Lacks practical examples and useful tips. Too simple to be of much help.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    The best on emotional intelligence

    I've read several books on emotional intelligence and The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book is my favorite. I find the anecdotes fascinating and the research relevant to the real world (as the author's studied how emotional intelligence takes shape by gender, job performance, with family, etc.) It's also the only emotional intelligence book that comes with an online test, which is key. Each book has a code inside that allows you to measure your EQ online. Really top notch! Highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Change in perspective

    As a self-admitted antagonist of emotional intelligence, I have always thought EI was a fad concept that would quickly pass. Because of this book, that has changed. The EI QuickBook brings a new, fresh perspective to the field...and does it swiftly! The stories are rich and effective and skillfully intertwined among theoretical and practical research on EI. If you read only one book on Emotional Intelligence...this is it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Endorsement from the book jacket

    'Research shows convincingly that EQ is more important than IQ in almost every role and many times more important in leadership roles. Self-awareness, self-motivation and regulation are foundational to empathy and social skills. This book gives abundant, practical findings and insights with emphasis on how to develop EQ.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    I'm dazzled

    I haven't been this excited about a book in a long time. The stories gripped me and I've taken so much from the strategies the authors present that come from their research on more than half a million people. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Filled With Insights and Valuable Information

    In the fast lane of business life today, people spend more time on computer keyboards, blackberries and conference calls than they do in face-to-face communication. We're expected to piece together broken conversations, cryptic voicemails, and abbreviated text messages to figure out how to proceed. In this increasingly complex web, emotional intelligence is more important than ever before. This book is filled with invaluable insights and information that no one can afford to ignore.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Sorely needed

    Emotional intelligence is such a crucial concept to understand--yet so many people are unaware of it. The authors do a magnificent job of explaining the incredible power of emotional intelligence and how to apply it to achieve your ultimate goals. This book helped me to maximize my potential.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Vynx

    Same as pony bio, but her eyes are more Fluttershy-y, with Fluttershy-ish messy hair. She wears a grey tank top, black shortsleeve sweater with a black bow on the front and a pikachu tail on the back, RD style green skirt with her CM on the right side, black short leggings, and green boots with dark blue wings. Sixth grade. Locker 888. XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Firework Bio

    At st res three is her pony form. So. Basicly thats her skin and hair and cutie mark and stuff. Other than that she wears jeans shorts and a night sky shirt with a firework on it. Her boots are flatish with her vcm on the toe tips. She is a bad as<_>s tomboy with a sprinkle of sass, a seasonibng of 'tude, and a whole gallon of sarcasm. She is also head of the gymnastics team, and the swim team. Anything else just ask. And oh yeah. She is in 7th grade and she has a mechanical arm. Right arm to be exact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    X

    Name:X (I suck with names so I couldn't make a full name) <p> looks: like MegaMan X <p> age:13 <p> grade:7 (could I please cheat a little and be in middle school) <p> other:breaks the rule about not having a weapon on school grounds because he has an arm cannon because he's a robot but teachers are ok with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Biography- Twilxe

    Name: Twilxe <p> Age: 16 <p> Personily: Same as my pony pers. <p> Grade: 12/ senior year. <p> will be update soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boost your EQ

    If you had to select the person you think is "most likely to succeed," how would you go about making your choice? According to authors Travis Bradberry and Jean Greaves, you'd miss the mark if you based your choice on educational achievement, intelligence or experience. The main criteria, instead, is a set of social skills known as "emotional intelligence (EQ)" that helps people interact effectively. When you're emotionally intelligent, your emotions work for - not against - you, and you are respectful and mindful of other peoples' feelings. Even the most emotionally challenged people can boost their EQs by practicing the skills this book outlines. It offers specific examples of how to bring emotional intelligence to bear in a variety of situations at home and at work. getAbstract recommends this book to those who want to use emotional intelligence effectively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    Very Good Information - EQ repeatably wins over IQ

    This easy to read book was very revealing of what I have experienced in the work place. It is never about smarts (IQ) and always about how we manage our thoughts to take action that is acceptable to our particular working environment (EQ).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1