Customer Reviews for

The Emperors of Chocolate: Inside the Secret World of Hershey and Mars

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I was captivated by all the facts and historical background thes

    I was captivated by all the facts and historical background these infamous candy corporations have gone through.
    It's a good read for those who are chocolate fanatics and enjoy their tasty products. The book is full of secrets and 
    mysteries that both hurt yet helped create and form these successful brands. A lot of what was written was really 
    surprising and it's a lot of information to take in that one wouldn't expect that lies behind these private, remote 
    companies. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    This was a really good book even though it starts off kind of co

    This was a really good book even though it starts off kind of confusing. The history behind each company is broken down in depth and is descriptive. It is exciting to read about how the business began because chocolate is so popular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Chocolate and a mystery!

    I found this book to be very interesting! It gave a mysterious insight behind the scenes of the one thing most of us love, chocolate! I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves chocolate and a good mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    A Must-Read!

    I was impressed by this book so much. Honestly, it would make a great movie, which is praise to Joël Glenn Brenne's ability to tell a tale. Mysteries abound, and Hersheys and Mars are tied in quite lucidly to dramatic events in both their candied worlds and the greater events in history. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    A great read perfect for chocolate lovers! Full of mystery and s

    A great read perfect for chocolate lovers! Full of mystery and secrets and made you want to keep reading! It was kind of sad at some points but the way Brenner explains these two emperors story made you feel as though you were in your own Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory type of story! All in all anyone who loves chocolate with a bit of mystery should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Education and Entertaining! I love chocolate!

    This book was highly enjoyable! I love chocolate, so I was very amused while learning about the world of the two biggest chocolate manufacturers in the world Not only was I enjoying myself while reading this book, I actually learned a lot! I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a chocolate and candy lover like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    review.

    This was a really good book even though it was confusing at times. I learn a lot about hersheys and the other candys. But as I was reading it I would want some chocolate. Good book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    my review

    This book had some good and bad. I thought it was a little confusing at times when it went back and forth between Mars and Hershey, and their life stories were a bit dull, but it was interesting to know more about the history of chcolate. It made me want to go out and buy some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    Like chocolate, it left me craving for more.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Emperors Chocolate. The stories of both Hershey and Mars, even more so the battle between them, was very intriguing. One of my favorite elements of the book was the order in which it was presented, in that it started and ended with a fairly current setting, ultimately, coming full circle. In many ways, The Emperors Chocolate was like reading a fictional story, given the animated characters (and companies), their exciting life stories, and their ingenious ideas. The book uncovers all the information about Hershey's and Mars in particular, that has remained "under wraps" for so long, allowing the reader to truly understand and appreciate the chocolate eaten today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    Very Interesting, But A Tad Drawn Out

    I really enjoyed learning about The Hersheys & Mars company, but after awhile it was hard to follow because there was too much information for one to remember and comprehend. The research was put together well, but i would of enjoyed it more if she used more creative sentence structure. I like chocolate, but after reading about chocolate for so long, it wasn't one of my cravings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    Pretty good

    The book jumps around a bit, going back and forth between Mars and Hershey, and back and forth thoughout the years. Sometimes it's hard to follow with all the jumping, but I learned a lot about both companies. For example, most of the world can't stand "American" chocolate. Turns out, many think that while Milton Hershey was trying to perfect the milk chocolate process, he used milk that was about to go bad. Not everytime, but when he finally perfected it, he used almost bad milk. That gave Hershey chocolate its 'sour' taste that most of the world doesn't like, but many Americans love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    The book book for the chocolate lovers and the chocolate mysteries you have always wondered about.

    This book is full of chocolate secerts and mysteries. Its for the kind of person who loves chocolate and wonders all DAY about how they actually make the chocolate and who created it. Its quite a good and interesting book. Make sure to have a couple of chocolate bars handy, so when the time comes that you will want some its there. trust me you will need it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    the emperors of chocolate review.

    I personally thought this book was very well written. It had many interesting facts about the Mars and Hershey company. The Emperors of Chocolate inform us on the "war" between both Hershey and Mars. Joel Glenn Brenner invites the readers into both the Hershey and Mars family. We learn how Mr. Hershey built an orphanage near his chocolate factory, while Mr. Mars comes on as a unlikeable type person. Although, both Mr. Hershey and Mr. Mars did lead very successful lives and produced the worlds best candy. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves chocolate and is interested about where their chocolate actually comes from and all that it goes through. I would also recommend this book to anyone doing a economic assignment. This book would be perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Not so sweet after all.

    Though this book did have some interesting points on the chocolate industry, I found it completely uninteresting to read about the personal lives of the Mars family, which had absolutely no relevance to the running of the business. The description of the way the chocolate was manufactured is enough to make you want to buy a bar of chocolate. I would not recommend this book to anyone who has no interest in the different styles in which a business could be run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    The Emperors of Chocolate!!

    I strongly recommend The Emperors of Chocolate to everyone! I would like to describe the book as a biography of Chocolate. Now days, chocolates are so familiar to us that we see them everywhere like grocery store, cafeteria, and bookstore etc.,! But I didn't know anything about chocolates.. Until I met this book. The Emperors of Chocolate opened my eys to the new world, that I haven't imagined before. I first thought chocolate was discovered by random food company for greater benefit. However after reading this book, I realized chocolate benefits more than our economy. It is part of our history and culture which gives energy and joy to our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Chocolate Lovers

    This was a great book. I learned about the history of chocolate and how hard the workers have to work just for us to get a taste of delicious chocolate. So when you're eating chocolate think about those hard workers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Talking Chocolate.

    For me this book was a lot more surprising then I thought it would be. It blew my mind away to find out things about the chocolate world that I didn't know before. I first started reading this book because I had to for my Econ class. I dont regret choosing this book one bit. I learned a lot. When you read the book you'll know a lot about the workers and the history of chocolate. It'll make you think about the candy you're buying. I recommend this book for people who are interested in the candy they're eating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Great, breezy read

    The book details the rise of the two great American chocolate companies: Hershey's and Mars. It takes a particular focus on the very differing personalities of the founders and how the differences in corporate philosophies have created two very different companies. The history of Hershey's and Mars are made fascinating by the Brenner takes plenty of time to detail the very down to earth and mundane operations of the to companies, as well as the vicious competition between them that defines them. It is a great and quick read that really gives you a picture of the inner workings of one of the most interesting industries in America. A great primer on the chocolate world, you will crave a Hersheys bar or M&Ms while you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    The Chocolate Lovers Truth

    This is the best book yet that has fulfilled my interest in knowing how to chocolate factories were produced. Loving to eat Mars candy and reading this book has made me understand that the Snickers bar that I eat went trough so much trouble to produce. These inventors of candy not only were looking for satisfaction but were looking for new candies that did unrespectable things that other candy maker could not produce. That is when Mars brought in to the display M&M¿s. These candies are suppose to stay in your mouth and in some strange manner not melt in high temperatures but only in your mouth. I learned a lot of many things about this book and before reading the back it some how reminded me of Willy and the Wonka factory. This connects very similarly to the movie in the way that the company leaders do not want anything to get out, and in the book Wonka fires all the human workers and hires the ump a lump as. Many things that the book informs us the readers makes us understand the rich taste of chocolate that is being sold to us in the market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    I just love Chocolate!!!!

    I enjoyed this book because I got to see inside a big corporation. It was amazing to see how each company (Hershey and Mars) works. I think its amazing how each company has a different attitude towards their work. I felt that the beginning was a bit slow and at times it was hard to follow along because I did not know who was who. It was interesting to read because at times the Mars Co. acted like my older sister and Hershey was my little sister. I do recommend this book to people who want to learn about how companies compete with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2