BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Empty City (Erin Hunter's Survivors Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 805 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(664)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

83 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

An actual review- for once.

This review section is full of mindless spamming. But for those who want a real review, here you go. This is a fairly good book, wth an interesting pot and characters that are realistic and have ACTUAL FLAWS. *pointed look at Firestar* But you are bombarded with several...
This review section is full of mindless spamming. But for those who want a real review, here you go. This is a fairly good book, wth an interesting pot and characters that are realistic and have ACTUAL FLAWS. *pointed look at Firestar* But you are bombarded with several characters at once, causing mass confusion for the reader. The book itself is somewhat darker than Warriors, yet somehow more juvenile at the same time. The plot grabs you and holds you until the end, alhough its grip slackens at times where the plot drags on. You also have to learn the new lingo, which may take some getting used to. Overall? It's a good book, definitely worth reading, although it is sometimes confusing.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Only the four erins know what this is.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 664 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Warriors pf all clans loners kits roges kittypets elders med cats

    We must keep warriors alive at all costs or else cats will fase fading away to nothing warriors must not be forgotton ever.


    WARRIORS FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    67 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    I'm hopeless: HELP!

    I've read all of the warriors and seekers series' (and have preordered this survivors), but I have bluntly no idea what all the rucus around the "join my 'pack'" or "become my 'mate'" is about. Is it an online game in which you get to design a dog and pack? If so I would greatly like to participate. And I would (and will) happily join the pack of the person who tells me how to play. Include the url and\or a http code for it, the name of your pack, and a few steps the will help me start off well
    Thanks
    -Molly

    35 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Survivors

    The Erins first book in their new series! Ill admit, i was a bit bitter toward the book when i first started reading, because i loved warriors, but it kept me quite entertained. There were a few things that stood out to me. First, is that the " dog language" was quite confusing to me at the beginning, but i started to understand the more i read ( like warriors). Second, Lucky, the main character, seemed a little cowardly and annoying and stupid, but in like the next chapter hes like this brave dog thats super smart and leads a pack (srry spoiler, but he loves being alone) but i assume that this is, as my english teacher would put it, " growth of the character". And lastly, this book is short! In my opinion at least. It is 169 pages. Most warrior books(for u warrior fans out there) are at least 100 pages or more than that. Obviously i still REALLY liked this book or i wouldnt have rated it 5 stars. I think that its another great series to follow. BUY THUS BOOK!!! And if u dont know what warriors is, its erin hunter' s other series about cats. Great series. Read it. Yes you, in fact... read BOTH!!!!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    To disappointed

    The Warriors series' are over. The only othrrs coming out are the extras, then no more. And if you don't like Seekers, too bad. Other people do. I personally am glad they are branching out with new themes.

    22 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Dogs!

    Omg I love dogs so much! Im glad shes making this series!

    22 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    New warriors series + awesome book

    Great book! I heard erin hunter(s) are making new warriors series. They say it may be called "Dawn of the Clans". About before even Pinestar's time (For Pinestar, read "Bluestar's Prophecy"). Like when the Clans first formed.

    Im like in the middle of this book, right where lucky meets his sister for the first time since their Pup Pack. Overall, so far, a great book. I highly recomend this book to anyone who loves erin hunter(s), warriors, or seekers.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Epic

    I jst loved this sereis! It was qiute amazing. And since i have a golden retreiver it just made the story more fun. Highly reccomented.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    To below

    It comes out on august 21
    MISTY

    10 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    If you love dogs youll love this book!

    This is an amazinh book! Another job well done Erin Hunter! :)

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    A great book

    Even though it was disappointing that erin hunter will no longer continue the warriors series, this is a great read and recommended to all warrior, animal, and dog lovers.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Erin Hunter

    Hey guys i am the author. This book was written about my own dog, a dog rescued after the earthquake in Chile and yes, his name really is Lucky. Enjoy this series and if you get the chance, try out my other series "Warriors” and "Seekers”. Keep reading!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    ITS FINALLY OUT!

    ITS OUT! WHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOO! PARTY EVERYONE!

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I am a senior in highschool, I read the Warriors series from whe

    I am a senior in highschool, I read the Warriors series from when the Erin Hunter team first released the first ever Warriors book. I was around in 6th grade to 8th grade back then, and I immediately fell in love. I admit I stopped reading the series at The Power of the Three ark, and I wasn't a huge fan of the Seekers series... BUT THIS ONE, I fell in love! Especially, that I love dogs so much more than cats because in real life I'm allergic to cats... Haha! But, I truly believe that this book was meant for readers over the age of 14, because I really believe it was meant for fans who have grown up with Warriors. As one of the other reviewers of this series stated, this book is definately more dark, and definately a tad bit gory. I warn you that the next stuff I say WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW. In the first chapter, you learn from context clues (foreshadows) that there has been an earthquake and that the dog catcher van is in a wreck in which all but the main protoganist dog and another dog survive. Lucky, once again the protoganist, gets out with the other dog to smell and see blood and dead dogs. There is also a very hearttugging part where Lucky and Sweet venture to a food packaging plant to learn that the twoleg/longleg(human) that once fed Lucky scraps and was very sweet and loving towards Lucky calls Lucky to his side when Lucky finds him dying underneath the fallen debris. Lucky, helpless even after a few tries to free the human, watches this human he is endeared to die. So, once again, the series is more dark and gorey! HOWEVER!!! It really is an amazing read... I will agree that you will get a bit confused throughout the book in certain instances, because it is still a bit scatterbrained in some parts.... However, it realy is worth it. And it's fun for someone like me, being seventeen years old, and being able to enjoy a book that is not about vampires or drama in a teenager's life... I mean, I find it fun that this new author that is part of the Erin Hunter team, Gillian Philips, has spread out many context clues. I get a little pang of excitement when i find out what certain words or even context clues mean... The story is located near San Francisco, Caifornia, if you look at the city and the book and look up where SF, CA is it is an exact match, which explains the earthquake. I also find it awesome that I'm able to know that the Fierce dogs are more than likely Doberman Pinchers. I also am reminded constantly that Daisy, the Westie- Jack Russel Terrier mix reminds me of my own excitable Jack Russel Terrier - Chihuahua mix named Jack who acts just like her. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS SERIES! I will be following it!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    STOP RPGING!!!

    This is Barnes and Noble people why rpg on the nooks when you can get a real rpg site? This place is for reviews and help. I wonder if this is a good book. Oh BTW, I reported all of you who are RPGing. BN are also going to be looking at that too so please stop rpg and just get a real one.
    Thanks!
    MelodyMusic

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    More warriors

    I like that there going to dogs I was a dog person but now I like cats continoue the series until I die atleast. Ps Warriors rule have a cat that looks like lionblaze named him Leo. TWO full moons from aprentice.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    When oes this coom out=|

    ok so when does this come out? Plese respond!-Star, leader of Rainclan

    6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Hm

    So...much...spam!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Yay

    Yay cant wait to read this series!!!But wish the Erin Hunters hadnt stopted Warriors. :(

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Thunderpack

    Join thunderpack at thunder 2 result.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Read plz

    Ruff Ruff Ruff Ruff Ruff Ruff Ruff Meow

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 664 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34