BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Empty Glass: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Great take on what really could have happened to Marilyn in her

    Great take on what really could have happened to Marilyn in her last days and what happened to the people investing her death.Kept me till the end and then kept me thinking,......Could it really have happened that way??

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Well written, imaginative, entertaining and thrilling. I read it in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book was exceptionally written.  i loved Ben's voice and hi

    this book was exceptionally written.  i loved Ben's voice and his curious nature and enjoyed discovering the secrets of Marilyn Monroe alongside him.  the writing in this book was beautiful and the idea of the story being written as Ben told it to "Doc" was creative and different.  the ending was sort of confusing and at times i tripped over characters and wished that Baker supplied me with more information, which i why i'm only giving this novel four stars.  one day in the future hopefully i will re-read this book so i can say that i give it five stars, but for now it is only four because of a couple of confusing parts... overall, i loved this book and was haunted and captivated by Ben's thrilling ride.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Writing is very poor and at most times disjointed.  Did not enjo

    Writing is very poor and at most times disjointed.  Did not enjoy the book whatsoever.  If it had not been chosen for our book club, I would not have bothered finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    You Haunt me MM

    Page turner though confusing at times. Have researched MM for 50yrs. This books uses known documentation to weave a plausible story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Waste of time

    Writing was sketchy. The story did not flow well. Nothing new about the details of Ms. Monroe's early tragic death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Would not recommend-did not enjoy

    It was a very strange book. Hard to follow and very depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Disappointed

    This read like a 1940's P.I. movie. It takes the story of Marilyn's death scene and imagines things that never happened. The protagonist is , of course, smarter than everyone else in the world. I felt like I really wasted my money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book it was interesting and well written I could not stop reading it I even brought my nook to work with me so I could keep reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Loved the book

    The story kept me interested and in suspense i loved the writing and could not put it down umtil the end highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    This book was hard to get into. It was written as if the person

    This book was hard to get into. It was written as if the person was
    talking to someone, then it switched to "live action" and kept
    going back and forth, so was confusing at times. It did have a good plot overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down. Excellently paced, very intriguin

    I couldn't put this book down. Excellently paced, very intriguing,
    suspenseful, and well-written. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Confused

    This book does alot of jumping around not as good as I though it was going to be disappointed ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    I misunderstood

    I see what the writer was trying to convey! Sad Marilyn only some understood her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2