Customer Reviews for

The Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, Th

    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her ow...
    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her own) from my local Waterstones .
I could not personally put it down. It was absolutely thrilling with such a bitter sweet ending that literally had me in tears.
    My daughter is about half way through and she is thoroughly enjoying the book also. and what is wonderful is that since starting the book, she has been reading it non-stop, bar sleeping and eating, and has even missed her favourite TV shows. My daughter never used to enjoy reading. She liked me to read to her, but would not pick up a book to read herself unless she had to for school.
I cannot wait for her to finish the book as I am bursting with wanting to talk to her about it all.  I shall be recommending this book series to my daughter's friends  and to her school. 
    I truly hope that there will be more books to come in this series

posted by 18125417 on August 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Plz tap me

U have finished it already?

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

        What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, Th

        What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her own) from my local Waterstones .
    I could not personally put it down. It was absolutely thrilling with such a bitter sweet ending that literally had me in tears.
        My daughter is about half way through and she is thoroughly enjoying the book also. and what is wonderful is that since starting the book, she has been reading it non-stop, bar sleeping and eating, and has even missed her favourite TV shows. My daughter never used to enjoy reading. She liked me to read to her, but would not pick up a book to read herself unless she had to for school.
    I cannot wait for her to finish the book as I am bursting with wanting to talk to her about it all.  I shall be recommending this book series to my daughter's friends  and to her school. 
        I truly hope that there will be more books to come in this series

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I have really enjoyed reading this book and so has my cousin. Sh

    I have really enjoyed reading this book and so has my cousin. She's eleven and loves fairytales. It brings a new light into the old fairytale characters

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    G

    I loved this book and the ending caught me off my gaurd i was in tears because i have a twin myself and i would rather die then be seperated forever from her.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Perfect book, a great new read

    I loved the drama and action of the first book but this one us so adventurous and touching and funny! Highly recommend

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    This is an excellent book, very well-written, with a much more m

    This is an excellent book, very well-written, with a much more mature and refined writing style for Chris Colfer. This book would be a pleasure for readers of any age and not only Colfer fans. Anyone who likes magic, unique characters and fairy tale ethics would enjoy The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns. I hope to see at least one more in the series, and then see what germinates in Colfer's fertile imagination.

    I enjoyed Colfer's first book, The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell, for its interesting characters and Colfer's rough but unique plot twists and dialogue. TLOS was definitely a novice effort (fun, but rough), but TLOS2 (Colfer's 3rd book in about 1 year) is light-years past TLOS in writing style, development and overall quality. I could tell from reading TLOS that Colfer had potential; Struck By Lightning (Colfer's 2nd book) showed improvement and was emotionally wrenching, while still being ultimately inspirational. Now, TLOS2 shows even more of Colfer's creative potential.

    In my opinion, had this book been classified as Young Adult, rather than Middle Grade, and been displayed in the main portion of the stores, it would quickly be another New York Times hit. Sadly, many stores (Barnes & Noble) are relegating TLOS2 to the rear portion of the Children's section, which means that many teens and adults will never see it.


    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Best Book Ever

    I don't know about you, but this is the best book ever!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I loved the first one and now theirs a second one its also great

    I loved the first one and now theirs a second one its also great.I read them and enjoy them my twin daughters also love these books. Great job with these books. I look forward to reading more of them.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Yay

    THIS WILL BE A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Go alex and conner

    CHRIS COLFER RRRRRRRRROOOOOOOCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great reading!!!

    Chris colfer's second book has more adventures with the twins Alex and Conner. It has drama comdedy and I'm sure a few tears here and there. I'm about to go off to college in about a year but when I read this it really made me feel like a child again. It made me feel like a little girl excited to see which princess was going to show up next. Chris is often compared to his Glee character every where but if you read this book you realize how amazing of a writer he is and what a creative imagination he has and it's just incredible. I loved it and I would read it a 100 times more <3

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love these books! They are filled with imagination and fun! I reccomend this book for 9-14 year olds!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Best book

    WOW!!! Best book ev ~so gooooooooooooddddd

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Best book ever

    I need to readmore!!
    The third book is coming out fall 2014
    And the fouth will come out somewhere in 2015

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    The adventurous novel, The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Retu

    The adventurous novel, The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is a sequel to a simply breathtaking series. The story of two twins traveling to another world is a book that appeals to many readers, from kids to young adults. Every page keeps you on the edge of your seat, having you wanting more. The travelers Alex, Conner, Goldilocks, Jack, Froggy, and Red, show in countless sequences of fatal endeavors that courage truly does conquer all. As soon as I read the last page, finishing the book, I immediately wanted to go right back to the first page again and read it over and over. This fictional sequel is a book I strongly recommend. 




    This book is filled with details that painted these continually moving and changing pictures in my mind. It kept it so very real, as if I was in the Land of Stories fighting off witches and goblins along side Alex and Conner. The theory ‘nothing beats the original’ is not the case here. Colfer does not fail to keep the magic alive and growing in this second book, making it anything but a disappointment. I have never read a more descriptive piece of writing. The words flowed along perfectly, giving you such a clear idea of each character, kingdom, and nature of the Land of Stories. 




    Alex and Conner, although just 13 year old twins, gave me the courage they had through each one of their adventures. They showed you do not need physical strength to be a victor.  It gave me so many lessons and messages such as; if you have courage, nothing can stop you. The characters are so well written and described, I had almost an emotional attachment and different relationship with each queen, creature, and hero. Some chapters had tears rolling down my cheeks, while others has me gasping, and some I even found myself muttering a small ‘yes!’ under my breath after each victory the travelers gained.




    This read is something that you will not regret setting your eyes on, and taking time to sit down with. Every chapter just hooks you in even longer. The stories of all the memorable princess and hero’s you recall from your childhood, the author has taken them and twisted their stories in a unique and extraordinary way.  It has you smiling at the familiar faces from old storybooks and Disney movies. Giving the true meaning behind every villain and creature that never truly had an ending. Your picture and idea of all different characters from the fairytale world will never be the same. This novel gives every tale a twist that will take your breath away. The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is only an addition to the remarkable very first Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell I have never read anything quite like it before. I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an on edge, action filled, adventurous novel. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    With ¿The Wishing Spell¿ the first volume of ¿The Land Of Storie

    With “The Wishing Spell” the first volume of “The Land Of Stories”, I found back the fairy-tales characters I had grew up with but Chris managed to make them feel like they were real human beings. Just like every one of us, they have feelings, dreams and fears; they have a past, a present and a future, something I have only discovered in “The Land Of Stories”. Moreover, all the fairy-tales characters were linked and there was this thing that made me feel that they were reachable, that we also could be part of this story, and that is what I love the most. 
    To go into details, I found the second book, “The Enchantress returns” gripping, funny and touching. I couldn’t stop reading it, and now that I finished the book, I just want some more! I’ve never felt more connected to a book as I am now, and my wish is that there is a third novel to this incredible series, to find back the magical world that is “The Land Of Stories” This book is enjoyable by children, teenagers, adults &amp; seniors, because there is no age to stop believing in magic. 
    -JF

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Plz tap me

    U have finished it already?

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    I read the d I read the first one but not the other two yet

    Havent read the second & third one yet but i have read the first one it is so amazing that coulread it five more times if i want ti

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Favorite book

    This is one of my favorite books ever. I would totally recommend reading it, even if you don't like fairytales.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Wow

    This is a great book im probably only a fourt h of t he way through thou g h

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    MUST Check Out - Imagination BLOWN!

    *SPOILERS*This next book is the most amazing evil villain hero story. The biggest villian in the fairy tale world comes back to the kingdom with more power then ever! Then Alex and Conner with only a couple of the fairy tale characters like Red Riding Hood, Goldilocks, Jack (From Jack and the Giant Beanstalk), and Froggy (aka Prince Charlie Charming the long lost Charming) to create a wand that they didn't need after all they just needed to take the Entrancess' Pride. In conclusion the book is the BEST book in Fairy Tale history!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10