BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, Th

    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her ow...
    What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her own) from my local Waterstones .
I could not personally put it down. It was absolutely thrilling with such a bitter sweet ending that literally had me in tears.
    My daughter is about half way through and she is thoroughly enjoying the book also. and what is wonderful is that since starting the book, she has been reading it non-stop, bar sleeping and eating, and has even missed her favourite TV shows. My daughter never used to enjoy reading. She liked me to read to her, but would not pick up a book to read herself unless she had to for school.
I cannot wait for her to finish the book as I am bursting with wanting to talk to her about it all.  I shall be recommending this book series to my daughter's friends  and to her school. 
    I truly hope that there will be more books to come in this series

posted by 18125417 on August 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Plz tap me

U have finished it already?

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

        What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, Th

        What an amazing book this is. I read The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell to my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. When we heard that there was to be a sequel we could not wait. I managed to pick up two copies (my daughter insisted on having one of her own) from my local Waterstones .
    I could not personally put it down. It was absolutely thrilling with such a bitter sweet ending that literally had me in tears.
        My daughter is about half way through and she is thoroughly enjoying the book also. and what is wonderful is that since starting the book, she has been reading it non-stop, bar sleeping and eating, and has even missed her favourite TV shows. My daughter never used to enjoy reading. She liked me to read to her, but would not pick up a book to read herself unless she had to for school.
    I cannot wait for her to finish the book as I am bursting with wanting to talk to her about it all.  I shall be recommending this book series to my daughter's friends  and to her school. 
        I truly hope that there will be more books to come in this series

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I have really enjoyed reading this book and so has my cousin. Sh

    I have really enjoyed reading this book and so has my cousin. She's eleven and loves fairytales. It brings a new light into the old fairytale characters

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    G

    I loved this book and the ending caught me off my gaurd i was in tears because i have a twin myself and i would rather die then be seperated forever from her.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Perfect book, a great new read

    I loved the drama and action of the first book but this one us so adventurous and touching and funny! Highly recommend

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    This is an excellent book, very well-written, with a much more m

    This is an excellent book, very well-written, with a much more mature and refined writing style for Chris Colfer. This book would be a pleasure for readers of any age and not only Colfer fans. Anyone who likes magic, unique characters and fairy tale ethics would enjoy The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns. I hope to see at least one more in the series, and then see what germinates in Colfer's fertile imagination.

    I enjoyed Colfer's first book, The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell, for its interesting characters and Colfer's rough but unique plot twists and dialogue. TLOS was definitely a novice effort (fun, but rough), but TLOS2 (Colfer's 3rd book in about 1 year) is light-years past TLOS in writing style, development and overall quality. I could tell from reading TLOS that Colfer had potential; Struck By Lightning (Colfer's 2nd book) showed improvement and was emotionally wrenching, while still being ultimately inspirational. Now, TLOS2 shows even more of Colfer's creative potential.

    In my opinion, had this book been classified as Young Adult, rather than Middle Grade, and been displayed in the main portion of the stores, it would quickly be another New York Times hit. Sadly, many stores (Barnes & Noble) are relegating TLOS2 to the rear portion of the Children's section, which means that many teens and adults will never see it.


    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I loved the first one and now theirs a second one its also great

    I loved the first one and now theirs a second one its also great.I read them and enjoy them my twin daughters also love these books. Great job with these books. I look forward to reading more of them.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Best Book Ever

    I don't know about you, but this is the best book ever!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Yay

    THIS WILL BE A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Go alex and conner

    CHRIS COLFER RRRRRRRRROOOOOOOCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great reading!!!

    Chris colfer's second book has more adventures with the twins Alex and Conner. It has drama comdedy and I'm sure a few tears here and there. I'm about to go off to college in about a year but when I read this it really made me feel like a child again. It made me feel like a little girl excited to see which princess was going to show up next. Chris is often compared to his Glee character every where but if you read this book you realize how amazing of a writer he is and what a creative imagination he has and it's just incredible. I loved it and I would read it a 100 times more <3

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love these books! They are filled with imagination and fun! I reccomend this book for 9-14 year olds!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Best book ever

    I need to readmore!!
    The third book is coming out fall 2014
    And the fouth will come out somewhere in 2015

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    The adventurous novel, The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Retu

    The adventurous novel, The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is a sequel to a simply breathtaking series. The story of two twins traveling to another world is a book that appeals to many readers, from kids to young adults. Every page keeps you on the edge of your seat, having you wanting more. The travelers Alex, Conner, Goldilocks, Jack, Froggy, and Red, show in countless sequences of fatal endeavors that courage truly does conquer all. As soon as I read the last page, finishing the book, I immediately wanted to go right back to the first page again and read it over and over. This fictional sequel is a book I strongly recommend. 




    This book is filled with details that painted these continually moving and changing pictures in my mind. It kept it so very real, as if I was in the Land of Stories fighting off witches and goblins along side Alex and Conner. The theory ‘nothing beats the original’ is not the case here. Colfer does not fail to keep the magic alive and growing in this second book, making it anything but a disappointment. I have never read a more descriptive piece of writing. The words flowed along perfectly, giving you such a clear idea of each character, kingdom, and nature of the Land of Stories. 




    Alex and Conner, although just 13 year old twins, gave me the courage they had through each one of their adventures. They showed you do not need physical strength to be a victor.  It gave me so many lessons and messages such as; if you have courage, nothing can stop you. The characters are so well written and described, I had almost an emotional attachment and different relationship with each queen, creature, and hero. Some chapters had tears rolling down my cheeks, while others has me gasping, and some I even found myself muttering a small ‘yes!’ under my breath after each victory the travelers gained.




    This read is something that you will not regret setting your eyes on, and taking time to sit down with. Every chapter just hooks you in even longer. The stories of all the memorable princess and hero’s you recall from your childhood, the author has taken them and twisted their stories in a unique and extraordinary way.  It has you smiling at the familiar faces from old storybooks and Disney movies. Giving the true meaning behind every villain and creature that never truly had an ending. Your picture and idea of all different characters from the fairytale world will never be the same. This novel gives every tale a twist that will take your breath away. The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is only an addition to the remarkable very first Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell I have never read anything quite like it before. I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an on edge, action filled, adventurous novel. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    With ¿The Wishing Spell¿ the first volume of ¿The Land Of Storie

    With “The Wishing Spell” the first volume of “The Land Of Stories”, I found back the fairy-tales characters I had grew up with but Chris managed to make them feel like they were real human beings. Just like every one of us, they have feelings, dreams and fears; they have a past, a present and a future, something I have only discovered in “The Land Of Stories”. Moreover, all the fairy-tales characters were linked and there was this thing that made me feel that they were reachable, that we also could be part of this story, and that is what I love the most. 
    To go into details, I found the second book, “The Enchantress returns” gripping, funny and touching. I couldn’t stop reading it, and now that I finished the book, I just want some more! I’ve never felt more connected to a book as I am now, and my wish is that there is a third novel to this incredible series, to find back the magical world that is “The Land Of Stories” This book is enjoyable by children, teenagers, adults &amp; seniors, because there is no age to stop believing in magic. 
    -JF

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    What would you say if you found out the fairy tale characters yo

    What would you say if you found out the fairy tale characters you grow to love as a child actually existed in another world of their own? Connor and Alex Bailey, thirteen year-old twins have found this out the hard way and return once again in the Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns by Chris Colfer. This is the second book in The Land of Stories series. If you have not read the first book yet, stop reading this right now, and go read it! Alex and Connor discovered the shocking truth that they have connections to the fairytale world in the first book and in this edition of their twist-filled lives they return, but this time with harsher terms. An evil enchantress has returned when the whole fairytale world believed her as dead and plans to take over both the human and fairytale world. The two young twins are ready to dive head first into the adventure of their lives, or I should say one of the adventures of their lives.    
                           “‘The Enchantress,’ Sleeping Beauty whispered to herself. ’She’s back. “’ In a land of happily ever after, her return is something that can make your fairytale turn into a nightmare. The Enchantress was once a young girl who simply went by the name Ezmia. She was a girl with a bright future and plenty of talent to share. The talent she had could have been put to great use if she hadn’t had her heart broken too  many times. Ezmia was broken, hurt, and alone. She may sound like a wounded person in need of love but she turned her heartbreak into fuel for her vengeance.  You may have heard of this wicked woman in the classic Sleeping Beauty and now she is back and stronger than ever, which means the fairytale world needs some saving from this evil antagonist. Connor and Alex on the other hand are the protagonists in this twisted fairytale story. These two twins’ mother one day was kidnapped by the cruel Enchantress and they head out to find a portal to the fairytale world to save her. When they first embarked upon their journey they didn’t know how bad the otherworld situation was and that they were getting into two world saving matters. In this world unknown to most humans Alex and Connor join friends Jack, from Jack and the Beanstalk, Goldilocks, Red Riding Hood, and Prince Charlie Charming (who the twins call him Froggy due to his appearance as a frog during their first encounter) go on a life-risking journey to collect items that they hope will help defeat the gruesome Enchantress.  The setting switches because at the beginning of the book they are in the human world but during most of the story they can be found in the fairytale world. They travel from kingdom to kingdom in air and on the water hunting to find all the items they need to hopefully defeat the Enchantress and what she wants for the world’s fate. Alex and Connor must fight for the greater good in this book filled with familiar faces, friends, and foes.
    A truly memorable book is one that combines elements you already know you are fond of. I have always had a soft spot for fairytales in my heart so this book fit me quite well. I was literally in love with the first book and was overjoyed when I discovered the second. This book really left me craving for another book by this young author. Chris Colfer has reimagined the typical cliché fairytales and taken them to a world that I desire to read more and more about. During the story line my emotions were a range from exuberant to apprehensive to extremely emotional and crying.  Even though my emotional train of thought was a mess during the book I absolutely love it and look forward to a next if there is going to be one. My only complaint would be how bittersweet the end was but the happiness of when they find items in their quest they need evens out the sorrow of the ending. Each time they faced a challenge I was a little exited and ready for an interesting adventure, like when they had to face the Snow Queen, and I was also nervous when times got dangerous, like the time they met with the Sea Witch for a trade underwater. In my overall opinion I love this book and it was a fabulous read that kept me interested from page one. 
    A simple recommendation for this book would not be enough to describe how much I believe people should read this book. If fairytales have ever touched your heart or you just have a special interest for them, pick up this book immediately! It is an extraordinarily written book that should also be read if you love to read suspenseful stories that keep you intrigued until the story is over. Also, if you have a tight bond with a sibling in your family and love to read about other close sibling relationships this book is an outstanding match for you. Even if none of these fields of compatibility meets your standards this book is one that should most definitely be read! It is a fantastic read and an enjoyable one. It would be a book of interest to girls as well as boys and by people who enjoy fantasy and adventure. This book has a lot of characters and an amazing plot and would be a great fit for most ages above 10. I truly recommend The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns by Chris Colfer to anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Great

    Thsi bookbis fantastic! If you wanted more after Wishing Spell thisnone is great! Fall 2014 book 3 and 2015 book 4!!!!! SUPER EXCITEF

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Happyface

    I have read the first land of stories the wishing spell, and i loved it. I hope this one is just as good. Wounder if this time they will fall inside an notebook!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Awsome book!!!!!!!!!!!:D

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I WOULD GIVE THIS BOOK ...*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** A MILLION STARS (which i put down.)
    YAYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:{) like me dimond sword ! Argh!
    ==|:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> :{)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    A helpful response

    Awseome book it is better than the first if you like fantasy this is great if not it has lots of adventures

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    St.Patties girl

    I like this book because it talks about the princesses being different from the first princess books a long time ago. I think you should get a sample of this book before you actually buying it so you know if you like the book or not. If you do buy it and you did not read the first book, then you should read the book from the way begining to see what the first one was about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9