Customer Reviews for

The End Of Alice

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS SHOULD BE AN EBOOK!!

    I have a Nook and I want this book on it. ): It is not in either of the two library districts and it would be so much cheaper to just have it as an ebook instead of getting a hard copy and having to wait for it in the mail.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just a Thought

    The ephebophile title to go along with the main male character is accurate. [To confirm and add creditability to what was earlier stated in a pervious review.]

    The book itself is truly intriguing and given the proper reader can be a worth while experience for someone daring enough to dive deeper into a darker reality. First stumbling across this book in my high school library last year, many of my peers questioned if a Sophomore should be reading such a deeply evolved book- still A.M Homes truly captured my attention and gave me much to think about. Maturity level is something to keep in mind here, the story plot is hard to accept for anyone easily disconcerted.
    Obviously the twisted intellectual mind of the main male character is captivating in a horrifying way that questions your morality as you discover his past- and even possibly find sympathy for the doomed man.

    A great read, but keep in mind the content and be ready for that risk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    Wow..

    I first was introduced to this book by a friend and I have to say, I have never read anything like this before. I understood afterward why some people mentioned that the book should be read by an older crowd. I'm a junior in high school and I have to admit this book scared me a little. The writing style of the book was impressive and allowed me to easily slip into the story line. The story line itself was shocking, several times I found myself questioning why I was reading it, but I had to find out what happened. I do recommend this book and I don't. I recommend it to people who have an open mind and can appreciate well written works, but I don't recommend it to those who have a hard time separating the intensity of the actual story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Disturbing novel, not for the faint of heart...

    I have enjoyed nearly all of Ms. Homes' writing, but 'The End of Alice' was titillating to extremes, tauntingly horrifying and it goes to dark desires that may lurk behind the average teen and the nearly average psycho-sadistic pedophile's mind. I do not recommend this book for anyone who is not of college age--and I mean juniors and seniors in college or older readers. The level of comprehension required is not well developed in younger readers, and it is much too disturbing for anyone without a strong stomach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    Azamingly disturbing, tittilating provacative...

    This was the first AM Homes Book I read, and it surely won't be the last. Homes focuses on aspects too dirty for voicing, and she does it brilliantly. However in some ways it appears that her sole purpose for writing the novel was to reveal her own dirty fascinations. Either way, the novel is exceptional and I highely reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I don't know how to review this book. I don't have the slightest

    I don't know how to review this book. I don't have the slightest clue about what I could possibly say.

    This book isn't for everyone. Really, I'm not sure if this book is for anyone at all. There's the disturbing subject of pedophilia for one. However, I've read Tampa, so that's not something I've exactly shied away from. The End of Alice is different, though. Besides the disturbing subject, it's just foul. I can't count the number of times I had to stop reading for a few moments simply because of how disgusting this book was. And really, that's the only term I can think of to adequately describe how I felt about this book. Disgusted.

    Aside of being thoroughly disgusted, the book is well written. It always boggles my mind how an author can write a book like this. How can a book with this subject matter be so well written? How can anything this gross be worth reading? I'm not sure if I'll ever figure it out, but it happens. This is one of those instances. Well written, disturbing, and worth reading if you can handle the subject matter.

    You can check out my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    The End of Alice

    'The End of Alice' in a number of instances suggests that the protagonist (the rather viscious pedophile) and the secondary character, the female pedophile could be 'anyone.' Certainly disagree strongly with this--most people even in today's world still have both morals and self control, and choose to exercise same. Much of the book was quite frankly disgusting. Makes me wonder where on earth the author pulled together such an ugly book. I could see very little that had any value, even as social commentary.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was very horrifying in many ways. This book was extremely, I don't know the word for it but, wrong. Disturbing, yet gripping. It let me fall into the world of the narrator and his corrupted mind. His obsession with little girls and sexual pleasure and desire- it really disturbed me to where my jaw hung to the floor for about ten minutes after I finished reading this shocking novel. I still shudder at the thought of what his childhood was like with his pyschopath mother and her horrific ways with her little son. Please, don't read this unless you think you can handle it. I seriously think the author needs help. I probably shouldn't judge her since I haven't read any of her other books, but by just this one novel, my mind has reached places I never needed to know about. I had nightmares after I read her book. It was truly sick and twisted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    woah.

    This book was amazingly scarey. The whole concept is troubling, and most of the events are disturbing. Never the less, this book was wonderfully written. The author is very talented and goes into such discrption that at some very dirty parts I had to put the book down and watch some cartoons to get my mind off what I'd read. Over all, the author has some amazing talent this book is raw and unqiue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2000

    Thought Provoking- deep and moving.

    The story is fast paced and beautifully written- the insights are scary but deliciously tantalizing- I kept turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Deeply disturbing and provocative

    This book caught me by surprise and I'm glad it did. The End of Alice is dark, and daring. I spears you with it's sharp twists and provocative prose. It scared me, intrigued me, and over-all changed my views on the world and humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Memoires of an incarcerated ephebophile.

    First of all, it's not about a pedophile, it's about an ephebophile (adolescent lover, not child lover). Now that we're past the political propaganda terminology... I was impressed that a female writer could have such an accurate portrayal of males, though I suppose once you realize that sex is foremost on every male's mind, that isn't difficult. The same with male tolerance of grossness. I initially thought she went too far on the latter, in the part about scabs, but I had the book sent to an incarcerated ephebophile to see what he thought, and he said he used to do the same things with scabs. Holmes wins that round. I also appreciated that is was so uncensored in language and sexual descriptions, and that it had an interesting ending, but overall I didn't feel I had learned or thought about anything new, and found much of the descriptions of prison life and scabs a downer. I'd say the book's OK, but not something I would want to read again; try 'Lolita' or 'The Saskiad' first. The incarcerated acquaintance of mine was of about the same opinion: he preferred more descriptive novels like 'Billy' (Whitley Strieber, 1990).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1