Customer Reviews for

The End of Illness

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad, but has Issues

This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor. It is a decent reading for both health care p...
This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

posted by LibrarianNancyStafford on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

More brainwashing for the masses

It is surprising to me that a book like this is available in ebook format while truly eye opening books like "Sugar Blues" are not. This book is filled with medical mumbo jumbo and recommends (poisonous) flu shots and drugs over sensible changes to eating habits like do...
It is surprising to me that a book like this is available in ebook format while truly eye opening books like "Sugar Blues" are not. This book is filled with medical mumbo jumbo and recommends (poisonous) flu shots and drugs over sensible changes to eating habits like doing away with sugar and eating raw unprocessed foods. I would not be surprised to find that this book was published with backing from the big drug companies. People need to wake up and start taking charge of their health by forgetting everything they have learned from doctors and the constant barrage of drug ads on tv and do their own research on the true causes of disease and ill health. The modern diet, especially in America, is made up of foods that have been refined to the point of having no nutritional value. And where can you go any more without seeing "Get your flu shots here"? We need to start educating ourselves and our children about the importance of a truly healthy, unrefined, unprocessed diet.

posted by DStevenson on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad, but has Issues

    This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

    58 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    More brainwashing for the masses

    It is surprising to me that a book like this is available in ebook format while truly eye opening books like "Sugar Blues" are not. This book is filled with medical mumbo jumbo and recommends (poisonous) flu shots and drugs over sensible changes to eating habits like doing away with sugar and eating raw unprocessed foods. I would not be surprised to find that this book was published with backing from the big drug companies. People need to wake up and start taking charge of their health by forgetting everything they have learned from doctors and the constant barrage of drug ads on tv and do their own research on the true causes of disease and ill health. The modern diet, especially in America, is made up of foods that have been refined to the point of having no nutritional value. And where can you go any more without seeing "Get your flu shots here"? We need to start educating ourselves and our children about the importance of a truly healthy, unrefined, unprocessed diet.

    33 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Preventative medicine???

    The fact that this book pushes statins and flu shots make me question anything recommended in this book.

    I have two family members who had serious reactions to statins. My husband suddenly had severe memory issues (at 45) and joint pain. I read an article about people having these issues on statins and suggested he stop taking them to see what happened. The symptoms went away after stopping the drugs.

    My dad recently had issues with debilitating back pain. When he went to his doctor about the pain, and was sent to a pain specialist who gave him powerful pain pills and injections in his back. When he mentioned the pain to his cardiologist, he looked at his meds and told him to stop taking his statin drug. The pain lessened the next day after stopping the drug, and over time completely went away. How is it that only one of three doctors thought to look at his medications?

    In talking to friends, I hear the same stories over and over again of health injuries to their relatives from taking statins. A couple of patients had doctors who did not make the connection until too late, and the patients have irreversible damage. One woman is crippled and another has permanent Alzheimer-like brain damage. I feel fortunate that my husband and father do not seem to have lasting damage.

    On the flu shot, the only time I have ever had the flu was after having a flu shot. I also developed pneumonia from that bout, something I have not had before or since. I have heard others speaking of coming down with the flu only after having the shot as well. Our nurse practitioner never gets the flu shot, but her husband got it one year at work due to pressure in the workplace to do so. He came down with the flu (never had it before - like me) and he passed the flu on to his wife and son. Where there is smoke, there is fire.

    It would be nice if there were a magic pill or shot that would insure health, but from experience and thinking for myself I am seeing there is no such thing. I fear that health consumers are being misled into taking things that have little or no benefit, and are injurious to good health.

    Good preventative measures, in my opinion are: drinking plenty of good clean water, a fresh and varied diet, daily moderate exercise and plenty of fresh air and sunshine.

    29 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Important, valuable information in this book.

    DStevenson's review should be ignored. Vaccines such as the flu vaccine and statins are some of the most beneficial, commonly used drugs currently available. He is correct when he talks about educating ourselves and should take advantage of his own advice. It is important that we learn how and why science works and how to apply those lessons to our lives so we can think more clearly rather than believe conspiracy theories, including those about "Big Pharma". The kind of advice given in this book should be taken seriously and is backed up by serious scientific studies.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    To the Anonymous Reviewer

    You are terribly misinformed. You cannot get the flu from the flu shot. Statins are one of the most beneficial drugs of the 21st century. No drug is fail proof.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Great health info

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Mostly a history of his own Bio Company

    I was a bit disappointed after all the hype that the author had some definite ideas that were unique to medicine. When it all came down to was a long account as to how his Bio company came into being and why you should get tested. He does explain the mechanics of the body and how different things effect it and how the body can react. He comes close but never really steps over the line into ideas different from the current medical beliefs.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Thought provoking book

    I enjoyed this thought provoking book where Dr Agus describes a different way of looking at health where disease may be a temporary state of imbalance. He advocates the use of statins and questions if dietary supplements have any value at all. My criticism is that he leaves out of the equation the huge benefits in cardiovascular health seen from the reduction in smoking. I also doubt that most people will be as fascinated by their own biology as he is. I enjoyed the book and it definitely made me think.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Scattered but informative

    I'm not a doctor, so i'm not the best judge, but i am well read on the topic of health, mostly from the standpoint of nutrition.

    This book is a manifesto on the health industry - its current status and what he hopes for the future. It had many interesting factoids, like the relationship between melanin and and folate, and the findings about gene renewal from vigerous exercise, but the book seemed on the whole scattered. It was unnecessarily wordy much of the time. Sort of a cross between a lengthy white paper, and almost journal musings.

    It also contradicted itself. The message "everyone should be on a statin," for the first 1/3 of the book, but then, "never take supplements bc they are ineffective," and by the end, "do nothing bc the bidy heals itself." Whew!!

    I'm glad to have read it, and i'm glad it's now over.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended- interesting information & viewpoint.

    The book is thought provoking! Research into DNA, cells indicates all that we have been taught & learned about vitamins & supplements may be WRONG! Living a "healthy lifestyle" is the best way to stay well. Regular eating & sleeping habits along with good nutrition & excersize may be our key to life long wellness.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    A must read.

    As a physician I plan on taking a critical look at my life and health. This book has made some pretty significant recommendations.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Cool

    Its by the doctor who treated steve jobs

    5 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Longer than it needs to be.

    The doctor's main message is everything in moderation. 300 pages are far more than are needed to get that point across. I would think a good editor could have gotten this book down to around 150 pages while a great one could have done it in under a hundred. I don't really need nine studies and 30 pages to make me believe that excess vitamin D or C supplements probably aren't going to do me much good and could cause more harm than good. Perhaps doctors like to read lots of statistics to prove a theory but lay people like myself are generally satisfied with a couple of short case histories. I'm either going to take your word for it or not in the short form. The doctor refers to former vitamin advocates, himself included who have come to the realization that isolating compounds and taking them in unnaturally high isolated doses are beside the point and it may be their associated compounds that make them work. As a smart, intuitive, college educated but not a nutrition specialist person, I had figured that out a number of decades ago while Dr. Agus and his associates were still feverishly advocating vitamins. Dr. Agus makes a point of stressing the importance of fresh food, emphasizing the loss of nutrients in as little as 24 hours after vegetables are picked, advocating flash frozen. But reading the book in Upstate NY at the end of winter eating week old, or even two week old broccoli on a regular basis, I can't help but think of the contrast between myself and my ancestors as little as 100 years ago, barely 2 or 3 generations, surviving on beans, rice, meat and half rotten potatoes with a few home canned string beans which would not have been available another hundred years back, for half the year. I can't help but think a decade from now Dr. Agus won't have the same opinion on fresh vegetables as he does about vitamins now. He gives the good advice of drinking two glasses of red wine daily, but laments the loss of nutrients from manufacturers using clear glass for juice since the light will oxidize the nutrients away. So how does the wine which has been around for weeks, often stored in oak barrels for months before it even sees a green glass bottle, oh I think light gets into that, whose nutrients are pickled in an industrial solvent [alcohol] retain all these life giving nutrients that concord grape juice has lost. Common sense says that's a flawed concept. Part of the reason I read this book is because I was interested in Dr. Agus' views on statins. I never saw that part although he promised a number of times in the beginning that he was going to make a strong case for their benefits. Perhaps I missed it since after about page one hundred I was skimming heavily, the redundancy was getting pretty thick, but I really didn't find it. Never the less, I find it hard to imagine he makes a very good argument for taking powerful pharmaceutical drugs that alter your liver function after stressing the dangers of relatively benign vitamins that may or may not do just that. I'm waiting to see the unintended consequences of statins a couple of years from now. They don't seem to work, diabetes and heart disease are still on the rise even though I'm the only guy over 50 not taking them. In closing I would say if you are a person who has an interest in health, nutrition and exercise and read the occasional magazine or newspaper article, maybe watch a tv show about these issues once in a while you already know most everything in this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    The End of Illness by David B. Agus, MD

    Only have read the first few chapters but is an excellent book. I am retired from law enforcemet and have made the medical field my second career, this book has enlightened and advanced my knowledge and done it in an interesting way. Glad this book was recommended to me, I will do the same for others to enjoy and learn from.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Amazing Book

    Very original viewpoint...changes the way you think about our single point ideas of health and medicine. Encourages you to think for yourself and to become the advocate you have to be for yourself with your health care professional. They need us to think for ourselves and have a partnership with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Very interesting. A good read for anyone wanting to explore more opinions on their health.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Not what I was expecting...

    I saw the author speak on the Daily Show and thought I'd give his book a shot. It gives you a lot of things to think about in terms of your own health, but I found that I didn't really care about being in "perfect" health after about 50 pages. Might be more relevant to an older audience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Highly recommended

    An intriguing read on the future of your health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Looks good, but too expensive for an e-book. I'll wait for the

    Looks good, but too expensive for an e-book. I'll wait for the movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3