Customer Reviews for

The End of Normal: A Wife's Anguish, a Widow's New Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    I Highly Recommend It

    This book was both very easy and very difficult to read. The writing style made it a quick, easy read. However, the content was heavy, personal, believable, and sad. I commend her for writing it. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of reading it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Riveting!

    Such a well told & even handed book. It didn't seem sensationalized in any way. You felt every one of her emotions from beginning to end. I couldn't put it down...finished it in a day.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! - A must read

    A compelling and heartbreaking story. Couldn't put the book down. I admire her strenght and her eagerness to move forward for her own and her children's sake. I wish her the best and I hope she can find happiness again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Tragedy

    Well written....yet such a very sad story. I feel for Stephanie and her children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    good book

    well written.

    glad she wrote it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent - A Must Read

    Very compelling and heartbreaking. Stephanie's honesty is to be admired. Very well written and hard to put down. God bless Stephanie, Mark and their children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I adored her complete honesty throughout the book. I think some

    I adored her complete honesty throughout the book. I think some people think that a person's story should be told with a degree of ability to look at things from all sides. Honestly, I prefer the raw honesty Stephanie gives. No matter what the objective truth is, her reality is that her husband was deeply wounded by his father's lies. She tells it like it is and like it was, and I now look forward to reading Andrew Madoff's book to see his and Ruth's reality. I don't think anyone intentionally lies when telling their story, I think they just see things from their own limited perspective. Just like we all do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Makes me see another side of the story... not only the thousands

    Makes me see another side of the story... not only the thousands of
    victims- but his own flesh and blood were victims as well. How to cope
    when your entire life is a fraud and a father is truly not the man you
    had thought he was. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Recommended

    I am glad that Stephanie Mack was able to tell her side of the story. I don't agree with some of the readers' opinions that she is selfish. She was honest and yes, flawed, like every other human being. I say, good for her, for having the courage to write a book about such personal experiences. I hope that she and her family can move on and be happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    One of the best books I have read, choked me up more than once a

    One of the best books I have read, choked me up more than once and gave me goosebumps at times. An incredible sense of truth and honesty throughout the entire book, a difficult story told extremely well. My heart goes out to Stephanie as well as her and Mark's children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Great Book

    Well written, very interesting. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly recommended reading!!

    I could not put this book down!
    Stephanie Madoff's account of her life with Mark Madoff is both sweet and heart-breakingly sad! I applaud her for being brave enough to write such an honest book.
    I came away with a lot of respect for Stephanie and her family and what their lives have been like since the horrible Bernie Madoff scandal came to light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    A Woman's Story of Loss and Love

    Stephanie Madoff Mack doesn¿t hold back her thoughts, emotions, and shares private moments in her family and the Madoff family. I read online that Stephanie was often asked by interviewers why she chose to write a book 6 months after the death of her husband¿.almost as if it wasn¿t appropriate because not enough time had passed. In my opinion, Stephanie choosing to write this book during that time was actually quite cathartic for her, helped her share her most intimate thoughts without holding back, and gave her a platform to show to the world who her husband really was. In doing this, she was also able to reveal the inner struggles Mark ( her husband) experienced as a result of his father¿s crime and the devastation it caused to her, Mark, and his children.

    No longer the protector, the buffer, the one Stephanie could turn to who also shared in her grief and anger over Bernie Madoff¿s crime, she is left alone to pick up the pieces and continue the fight for justice as she works to clear Mark¿s name against any wrongdoing the media tried pinning on him and his brother, Andrew. As Stephanie Madoff Mack shares her story, she unknowingly gives a voice to those left behind from suicide. She shares the pain she experienced, where she was when ¿it¿ happened, and the struggles and challenges she experienced with the Madoff family. Stephanie is very raw and open as she describes the anguish, anger, betrayal, and loneliness of being a widow and mother to two small children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    A Bestseller

    Stephanie is an inspirational woman. She stood by her husband through the rough and tumble of the Madoff scam. I have no doubt in my mind that someday she will heal fully and find a genuine peace. I'm sure Mark is looking after her and very proud of his wife. THIS BOOK WILL BE A NATIONAL BESTSELLER IN NO TIME. Good luck Stephani, you will be in my prayers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    AMAZING

    I absolutely LOVED this book! I do not really spend my time reading books but when I saw a preview about it in one of the magazines I happened to pick up and read the short article I knew I had to get the book. Just by reading the magazine article I wanted to know more and I could not wait until the next day to begin reading. This story is very touching since it is actually told by Stephanie herself and not someone telling the story for her. After reading, I truly admire her strength to overcome and deal with difficult situations. Stephanie seems like just an everyday down-to-earth mother and wife thrown into the mix of a horrible family lie by her father in law. I would highly recommend this book if you are interested in stories such as this one. I found myself not being able to put the book down, I read the book so fast that it left me feeling like I wished the book was never-ending. Hope my review has helped!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    This book is a real page turner...I couldn't put it down. I read it within 2 days. It's such a good book: a heartbreaking, but honest look at what Stephanie experienced because of the Bernie Madoff scandal and how it changed her life forever. The book is very well written and I will be recommending it to my friends & family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2