Customer Reviews for

The End of Your Life Book Club

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

So many levels

This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder an...
This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder and leaves me wanting to contribute to life. Reminds you that a smile and sincere interest in others can do wonders. What a special woman and family. I may not know them in person, but i know them and my life is richer for that.

posted by Diantha on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I ap

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I appreciate the effort but the prose travelled too slowly for me.

posted by Heidi_G on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    So many levels

    This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder and leaves me wanting to contribute to life. Reminds you that a smile and sincere interest in others can do wonders. What a special woman and family. I may not know them in person, but i know them and my life is richer for that.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm participating in The End of Your Life Book Club discussion h

    I'm participating in The End of Your Life Book Club discussion hosted by Jen at Devourer of Books, who was also giving the book away for this discussion! Also participating are a few of my favs, Between the Covers, Books Speak Volumes, and The Relentless Reader.

    Anyway, since I'm going to be talking about the book in length on Devourer of Books, I'll keep my thoughts here short.

    The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe is a memoir of the time that the author, Will, spent with his mother after she was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. Knowing she only had a few months to a few years to live, Will was determined to make the most of his time with his mom.

    They spent the doctor's appointments, chemotherapy treatments, etc., discussing books in their own tiny book club of two people. Through the book club and following discussions, Will was able to find out more about his mom, things he never knew previously.

    Short notes on The End of Your Life Book Club:

    The appendix has a full list of the many, many books talked about in this memoir, thus adding to my already-long to-read list.
    The book started out a little slow for me, but picked up. Definitely is a slower read, not one I rushed through, but worth it.
    Should you read it? Yes, there are great lessons in the book, including just taking the time to help those in need, and taking the time to appreciate what you're lucky enough to have.
    What book have you read that makes you appreciate you life?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Loved this book

    Reading is one of my favorite things, but because of my busy life I don't have the opportunity to read as often as I'd like. Most days, I read on the bus on my way to & from work. I’d loved Mr. Schwalbe’s book & found it a treat to be with two individuals who love to read. I thought it might be too sad because of Mrs. Schwalbe’s health, as I know the worry, stress, & anxiety of living & caring for a loved one dying from cancer. I could not put the book down and was annoyed when I had to close it because I had arrived at my destination. I highly recommend The End of Your Life Book Club. The triumph of the human spirit and the joy of living came through beautifully. I just purchased Daily Strength for Daily Needs because of the comfort it gave to Mrs. Schwalbe.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Just a really great book!! If you like to read, you will enjoy this book. In the back of the book, there is a list of all the books mentioned in the true story. What a remarkable family. A Good Read!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Amazing book

    One of my favorite books. In fact, I am buying copies for Christmas gifts. It deeply touched me as well as putting what is important in perspective.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I ap

    Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I appreciate the effort but the prose travelled too slowly for me.


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Not morbid-celebrates life and family ties.

    Having just lost my own mother this year, it was with some reluctance I started reading this book. I'm so glad I did and became acquainted with Will and Mary Anne. They read many of the same books you and I did and I loved reading their take on them! A son and his mother decided to discuss books they picked to read together while the mom was receiving chemotherapy for pancreatic cancer. Instead of focusing on her ordeal, they talked about the books and characters, their motives and passions, meanwhile discovering a wealth of information about each other and becoming closer emotionally and intellectually. I was hooked from the first page and could hardly put this one down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Fitting and Moving Tribute--For All Book Lovers!

    The End of Your Life Book Club is a lovely homage to the many, many pleasures of reading; some terrific books from recent years and those long gone; and a woman who sounds like someone one would have been fortunate to have met let alone know well. Anyone who has endured the long loss of someone they love who has had a fatal illness may recognize some of the truths this book's author captures, and the author's commitment to honesty in this regard is refreshing. The book is also a celebration of a strong mother-son bond, and the author's brief but frank discussion of how we collectively still seem largely uncomfortable with strong mother-son bonds is spot-on. More than anything, this book is an articulation of why books and reading them matters: because books can introduce to other people and their worlds and in so doing deepen our perspective and capacity to connect.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A good, but somewhat sad read

    The title caught my eye when I was looking for a new book to read. It kind of gives the reader a different perspective on how to feel a little more comfortable(if that's at all possible)around a friend or family member or even a passing acquaintance who is in the midst of a terminal illness.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Great Read!

    Ultimately this is the story of a young man and his mother reconnecting once she becomes seriously ill. However, I'd forgotten about all the great books there are out there with both serious and light subject matter. This book made me recall those books as well as gave me names of new ones that I'd like to try.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommend

    An interesting book that put a different view on a difficult time in any family's life. I found it uplifting and worth the read. I was glad that there was a list of books they read at the end of the book. Some that were presented peaked interest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Terrific book!

    The End of Your Life Book Club resonates with the respect and love within a family of achievers that is highlighted by the author's retelling. The books shared with each other brought memories of my own as they read them. As a mother, I felt the title shows an ambiguity in that physically it is the end of his mother's life but she left much to fill the rest or the ending of her son's life.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Too political

    I had high hopes, but could not get past the in your face politics. After 100 pages I grew tired of the recaps of each book they read & how it may or may not have been tied to their lives.
    Please save your self & pass on this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Similar to The Year of Magical Thinking, the author is so busy t

    Similar to The Year of Magical Thinking, the author is so busy talking about himself and his high society life that the point of the book was often lost on me.  This could've been such a great book.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not Great. Hard to identify to their lifestyle. My sister read i

    Not Great. Hard to identify to their lifestyle. My sister read it also and didn't care for it much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    ME

    Im snowpaw. Snowmelt. And at my clan... im snowstar.

    1 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Touching and well written

    I loved this book. As an avid reader, I was interested in the books chosen by the author and his mother while she was battleing pancreatic cancer. Some I have also enjoyed, and I have a whole new list of books to read. The story is touching in its description of family dynamics during the end of life, and how there is a lot of life to live while dying. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Life affirming

    I really enjoyed Will Schwalbe's experience of connecting with his mother through literature. I have read many of the same books, so it felt as though I was also part of their book club. It was not a sad book, but rather encouraging as his mother continued to live her life on her own terms throughout her illness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    A Great Read

    I ventured away from my usual reading ... John Grisham, James Patterson, Michael Connelly,Janet Evanovich, Robert Crais, etc. because a friend recommended this ... and enjoyed the change of pace. It's a heart-warming story of sharing and closeness and that special mother-son relationship that I cherish myself. There is much joy and sadness and reality as mother approaches the end of her life. Her son is fortunate to have traveled through it with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the interaction between th

    I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the interaction between the mother and son, especially as she got sicker. The book choices were intriguing (most made it to my To Read list). It's been awhile since I've read this book so some of the detail has faded, but it's a good read about an interesting family. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7