Customer Reviews for

The End of Your Life Book Club

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

So many levels

This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder an...
This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder and leaves me wanting to contribute to life. Reminds you that a smile and sincere interest in others can do wonders. What a special woman and family. I may not know them in person, but i know them and my life is richer for that.

posted by Diantha on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I ap

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I appreciate the effort but the prose travelled too slowly for me.

posted by Heidi_G on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    The author clearly conveyed his devotion to his mother, and I fo

    The author clearly conveyed his devotion to his mother, and I found this to be a very interesting approach to describe that relationship through their discussions of books.
    This was one of a very few books I've read where I found myself highlighting excerpts and thinking that I need to go back and look at that again. It's a book that makes you think, and if you have also lost a family member to cancer, it's a journey you can relate to.
    My one complaint is that his devotion to his mother was so strong that he made her seem flawless, I think it would have been a bit more engaging if she could have been fleshed out with a few warts and flaws to make her more real and not just a sanctified caricature of who she undoubtedly really was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Beautiful story-highly recommend!

    Lovely story of the relationship between a son, his mother and their time together sharing books as she battles terminal cancer. It is not maudlin but inspiring and courageous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    I would recommend 100%

    Really great book , you should defenitly put it in your to read list

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    recommend it

    Touching, with lots of new books listed to add to my own list

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Our book club read this book. The book had some great quotes and thoughts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Excellent Book!

    I just finished reading The End of Your Life Book Club and I was so moved by the friendship and love Mr. Schwalbe and his mother had. Their relationship is the kind so many people long for and can achieve through this book. Mr. Schwalbe was a guest at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York recently and I am so sorry that I was not able to attend his visit. I have already recommended this book to several people and I hope that once they have read it, they will do the same. Mr. Schwalbe thank you and your mother for introducing me to a wealth of books that I knew nothing about and I am eager to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Good

    I am always interested in books that incorporate elements or discussion of the classics. I enjoy having a good discussion with someone about a book we have both read. I also like a book that challenges my own paradigms about our moral or spritual foundation. The author and his mom, who is working through a terminal diagnosis do exactly that in this book. It reads a bit like a journal or a diary that can only truly be appreciated by the parties involved in the affair, so unless you are interested in end of life thoughts or are a book junkie, you might not find this appealing. Since I can relate to the subject, I found it interesting. It would make for great discussion at a book club or in a class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Best book I've read all year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Recommend

    An insightful look at the emotion and reality of sharing precious moments with a loved one in the end stages of life. A personal tribute to a strong, courageous woman who chose to leave this world a better place, not only during the process of dying but also throughout her life. As a former educator, I loved the inclusion of the books they chose to read. I plan to add a number of them to my personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Interesting

    Interesting read. You know from the start the outcome of this book. I think there could have been less of Will Schwalbe's life and more of Mary Ann's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I am reading this book with my husband who has a chronic illness

    I am reading this book with my husband who has a chronic illness. We are enjoying it as issues arise we will have to deal with in the future. The book also brings back memories of many of the books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe is another one o

    The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe is another one of those books that has been on every ‘Best of 2012′ list I have seen. It’s also very popular in the world of book blogging, with a few of my bloggy friends having read it already. So, I decided to take the plunge and read the book even though I wasn’t entirely sure how I would feel about it and couldn’t personally relate.




    The book is about the author’s last two years with his mother, Mary Anne, who is dying of terminal pancreatic cancer. Through chemo treatments and doctor appointments, the two read and discuss various books (which are provided in an appendix, which has added considerably to my ‘to be read’ list). Although there is never any question about whether or not the author’s mother is going to live or not, I was still surprised and sad in a way that I hadn’t expected. Perhaps it was because Mary Anne was a real person and not a fictional character (it could also be because she spent her last days fluctuating between reading and Law & Order, which are two of my favorite things).The author punctuates the book with words of wisdom, most of which was gleaned from his mother, who by all accounts was an amazing woman. She was a firm believer in caring for others and devoted her life to spreading literacy in Afghanistan and working for and with refugees. She was able to move in and out of third-world countries just as easily as she could fit in with Harvard administrators (where she was one). And, she wasn’t a fan of e-readers because she couldn’t be surrounded by her books, nor could she hand them down or read the same copy as someone else.




    By the end of the book, I felt like I really knew Mary Anne Schwalbe. The author does a great job of bringing the reader into the inner folds of her life and doesn’t taint it with that feeling that he is trying too hard to convince the reader of her amazingness. I have been fortunate in that I cannot personally relate to this book, but yet I can appreciate the hard work and emotional toll (albeit therapeutic) it must have taken on the author and I am grateful that he chose to share their story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I bought this book for my son for Christmas (the son/mother relationship is what sold me on it) but it didn't come in on time. So when it did arrive, I decided to read the book first before I gave it to him. I am so glad I did because I may never have read it otherwise. It is excellent -- his mother lead an extraordinary life -- smart, well-educated but also caring and compassionate. If I had 16 lifetimes, I could never accomplish what she did! And all the books they read, are a plus -- books that I probably would never have read if not for this one book! Thank you so much for sharing your mother with us and for giving us other books to read and explore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Definitely Recommend

    This books is very well written, it makes you appreciate your life and those around you. It is truly inspiring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book, what a lucky guy to have done that with his mom. The list of books was fascinating and I'm keeping that handy for my next read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Good read.

    Full of emotion. A true testament to the poweful connections a love of books creates.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Well written and full of insight into death and living with the actively dying loved one.

    The storyline is simple and heartwenching. A must read for anyone dealing with the impending death of a loved one. A leason for all humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    confusing

    I kept getting lost. This book jumps around to much for me. Had it not been for that i might have finished it and found out it was a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A MUST READ!!!!

    Will everyone want to read this book, no, but should everyone read this book, YES!!! The book cover didn't draw me in, but the title piqued my curiousity enough to read the summary and then the book. This book was SO much more than I anticipated and the first ebook I bookmarked and highlighted on many pages. The way the author presents his mother makes me wish I had known her, and yet through his words I feel like this amazing, spirited woman has touched my life, made me think deeper, want to act on behalf of those who can't and keep smiling at stranger's and hearing their stories like I've always loved to do! Can't wait to read the other 'book club' books talked about in this story too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I love to read

    My son loves to read. Like Mary Anne and her son we spend time talking about books we've read. Our lives and relationship are enriched by books and discussions about books. Sharing books can be a way to share love. I recommend this book and many mentioned in"The End of Your Life Book Club"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7