Customer Reviews for

The End of Your Life Book Club

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

So many levels

This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder an...
This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder and leaves me wanting to contribute to life. Reminds you that a smile and sincere interest in others can do wonders. What a special woman and family. I may not know them in person, but i know them and my life is richer for that.

posted by Diantha on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I ap

Warm and heartfelt, the book just didn't grab my attention. I appreciate the effort but the prose travelled too slowly for me.

posted by Heidi_G on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    So many levels

    This book has so much to it. A close mother-son relationship that grows closer through her terminal illness. A glimpse into an inspiring woman's life. Intelligent discussion on a variety of great books. Values to share with your children. It gives you much to ponder and leaves me wanting to contribute to life. Reminds you that a smile and sincere interest in others can do wonders. What a special woman and family. I may not know them in person, but i know them and my life is richer for that.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Loved this book

    Reading is one of my favorite things, but because of my busy life I don't have the opportunity to read as often as I'd like. Most days, I read on the bus on my way to & from work. I’d loved Mr. Schwalbe’s book & found it a treat to be with two individuals who love to read. I thought it might be too sad because of Mrs. Schwalbe’s health, as I know the worry, stress, & anxiety of living & caring for a loved one dying from cancer. I could not put the book down and was annoyed when I had to close it because I had arrived at my destination. I highly recommend The End of Your Life Book Club. The triumph of the human spirit and the joy of living came through beautifully. I just purchased Daily Strength for Daily Needs because of the comfort it gave to Mrs. Schwalbe.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Just a really great book!! If you like to read, you will enjoy this book. In the back of the book, there is a list of all the books mentioned in the true story. What a remarkable family. A Good Read!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Amazing book

    One of my favorite books. In fact, I am buying copies for Christmas gifts. It deeply touched me as well as putting what is important in perspective.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Not morbid-celebrates life and family ties.

    Having just lost my own mother this year, it was with some reluctance I started reading this book. I'm so glad I did and became acquainted with Will and Mary Anne. They read many of the same books you and I did and I loved reading their take on them! A son and his mother decided to discuss books they picked to read together while the mom was receiving chemotherapy for pancreatic cancer. Instead of focusing on her ordeal, they talked about the books and characters, their motives and passions, meanwhile discovering a wealth of information about each other and becoming closer emotionally and intellectually. I was hooked from the first page and could hardly put this one down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Great Read!

    Ultimately this is the story of a young man and his mother reconnecting once she becomes seriously ill. However, I'd forgotten about all the great books there are out there with both serious and light subject matter. This book made me recall those books as well as gave me names of new ones that I'd like to try.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Terrific book!

    The End of Your Life Book Club resonates with the respect and love within a family of achievers that is highlighted by the author's retelling. The books shared with each other brought memories of my own as they read them. As a mother, I felt the title shows an ambiguity in that physically it is the end of his mother's life but she left much to fill the rest or the ending of her son's life.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    ME

    Im snowpaw. Snowmelt. And at my clan... im snowstar.

    1 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Touching and well written

    I loved this book. As an avid reader, I was interested in the books chosen by the author and his mother while she was battleing pancreatic cancer. Some I have also enjoyed, and I have a whole new list of books to read. The story is touching in its description of family dynamics during the end of life, and how there is a lot of life to live while dying. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Life affirming

    I really enjoyed Will Schwalbe's experience of connecting with his mother through literature. I have read many of the same books, so it felt as though I was also part of their book club. It was not a sad book, but rather encouraging as his mother continued to live her life on her own terms throughout her illness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    highly recommended

    This is an intriguing, thought-provoking read. I felt as if I were listening to the private discussions between a dying mother and her son, and I have made a list of many of the books they discussed which I have not read. I will recommend it to my book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it inspiring to see a person with cancer really live while waiting to be cured. I also found it interesting to see how family member dealt with the illness and death of a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I recommend this book to those who are avid booklovers. The dis

    I recommend this book to those who are avid booklovers. The discussion of the books they'd read during Mary Ann's treatments is reason enough to read this book but the life of his mother, remembered as time goes by, made me admire her very much. A loving story by a loving son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent Book

    My mother died a year ago and she was an avid reader, so this book really hit home. I really enjoyed it, although it made me sad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    When I first looked at the cover of this book I imagined it to b

    When I first looked at the cover of this book I imagined it to be a insipid little story. However, a senior editor at a large publishing house recommended it so I gave it a chance. 




    This book is a memoir about a literary professional and his very literate mother. Their love story plays out after the mother is diagnosed with terminal cancer; it is depicted via the books they read. It is a book club of two. 




    Schwalbe's mother is something of a Mother Teresa. She traveled the world, often the most cruel and filthy places, to improve situations. Reading all her achievements made my life feel small and sheltered. 




    I felt like I got to live vicariously with a woman whose world view was broad. At the same time, I got to see a simple portrayal of mother/son relationship as they discussed the books they read, often in the waiting room of the oncology treatment center. 




    One of Schwalbe's greatest strengths is that he is shows instead of tells. He treats readers as intellectuals and doesn't tell them what they are supposed to feel in each scene. 




    Neither does he put his mom on a pedastal, although I'm not sure how he could keep from doing that when she was so accomplished. 




    I highly recommend this book. Even thought it tackles a sad topic, it's inspiring---not sad---until the very end. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Flametail

    Waits for laceflight....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Amazing Read

    A dear friend recommended this book but I did not immediately put it on my reading list. However, when it appeared on a Barnes & Noble list of books that might be interesting, I ordered it based upon her recommendation. This was a wonderful book at so many levels -- their love of reading, the mother's phenomenal life story, her struggle with the life-ending diagnosis, the relationship between a mother and son, their life in review as it went through the 50's, the 60's, the 70's, 80's, 90's, through 2011. I, in turn, have recommended it to my sister who loves non-fiction better than I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    End of your Life Book Club

    I finished this wonderful book. Will Schwalbe's elderly mother is diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. So we all know how the book ends. But what happens from diagnosis to her death is special, yet families experience it everyday. They used books to learn about each other as people, not mother and son. I highly recommend this book. And Mary Anne Schwalbe was an incredible woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Beautiful story-highly recommend!

    Lovely story of the relationship between a son, his mother and their time together sharing books as she battles terminal cancer. It is not maudlin but inspiring and courageous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    I would recommend 100%

    Really great book , you should defenitly put it in your to read list

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3