Customer Reviews for

The Ender Quartet Box Set: Ender's Game, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I have read the first two books in this series. The characters are so well developed that you start to think of them as real people. The reactions of the characters to one another is realistic.<BR/><BR/>The plot line is dirrect, and draws you in until the last page. That only leaves you waiting to get your hands on the next book. I would recomend this series to any one, even those that are not Sci-Fi buffs. His insite into the human psyche is unmatched.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    Ender's Game

    I've read the first on the series, ender's game, and it is an amazingly great book. I read it for school and couldn't put it down, if you like science fiction you'll love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    ender quartet

    The Quartet is well worth reading. It's appeal should extend beyond those interested in Science Fiction. The ideas explored through out the series are well worth considering. The books are very well written. Card is always in control of his material and its expression. Unlike a good deal of Sci-Fi, Card's entities are plausible and believable, sufficiently well rounded and complex to remain memorable.
    The first book, Ender's Game, is perhaps the best of the series. Highly original, it achieves its considerable impact from the consistent point of view utilized by Card, namely that of Wiggin himself who has limited knowledge. As he and the reader uncover what is really going on, the story gathers momentum and reaches a satisfying ending. The second book is also superb, with an intricate interweaving of species and ideas. The concept and title "speaker for the dead" is one of my favorites in the literature. The series does taper off slightly and i found the last book, while interesting, a bit of disappointment when done (much like Farmer's brilliant Riverworld series 3 decades ago) but the overall journey is certainly worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of the best science fiction books I've ever read!

    I love reading science fiction books, so when I heard about the Ender series, I started to read them. I immediately fell in love with these books. They are everything a scifi series should be: interesting, romantic, adventurous, comical. They make the reader think, "could this ever really happen?" These books question the laws of science and physics as we know them. Although these are terrific books, this series does not tell a heart-warming story. In fact, some may find the books to be a little disturbing at times, but they truly tell a wonderful story. All in all, this is a must have for your science fiction book collection!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Most amazing!

    Ender's game series is so good! The story and the characters keep you interested all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    good

    it was what i wonted I wish it was in hard cover. my 9 year old son just started it and he cant seem to top reading the books. its fun reading for him and he does not even wont to play his video games any more that's a good thing for any mom to see $ worth spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    The Bestseller of All Time

    Card's "Ender" series are the ultimate classic. Everyone who loves sifi should have them in their library. Everyone who doesn't normally reach for sifi (such as myself) should read them. It's thrilling, engaging, full of imagination and somehow, still keeps things so real. This box set is nice when you want to collect the entire series...which you will after you finish reading the first book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Great series!

    A must-read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2