Customer Reviews for

The Enemy at Home: The Cultural Left and Its Responsibility for 9/11

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A Different Point of View

    This book is well worth the read, even if you don't agree with Mr. D'souza's politics. It provides a different viewpoint on why the U.S. is under attack. Mr. D'souza's main point is that people in the U.S. and the West in general think in an ethnocentric way that prevents us from understanding the complaints from not only the Islamic world but from other traditional cultures. We project our own values onto developing cultures without thinking about how radical they might appear. This is a lesson on how we can better understand other cultures but also shows we need to be more respectful of the other points of views within our own country.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Wrong tactics

    3/29/2007 I own and enjoyed reading several of Dennis D'Souza's books but his latest book is a great disappointment to me. In my opinion, his basic premise that the decadent West's life style and efforts to spread its moral depravity around the world' is the cause of radical, murderous and anti-American Islamism doesn't begin to explain the real reasons. I am afraid that Mr. D'Souza completely misses the root cause of radical Islam's hate of the Western World. He confuses the easily available excuse of a decadent West with the fundamental and very old drive of traditional Islam to regain its position as the one and only permitted religion in the world. The author does not 'connect the dots' of Islam's early political successes, from the 7th to the 16th century, with what has been happening during the last almost 100 years in the Middle East and lately in Asia and the West. He mentions 20th century authors of radical anti-American tracts but forgets the much earlier authors of really radical Islamic thinking starting in the 14th century with Abd al-Halim Ibn Taymiyya '1263-1328', Abd al-Wahhab '1703/4-1792' and Muhammed Rashid Rida '1865-1935' and subsequently with people like Hassan al-Banna '1906-1949', Sayyid Abul A'la Mawdudi '1903-1979' and Sayyid Qutb '1903-1966'. When earlier Islam's political and military power waned during the Renaissance, the Christian West was just beginning to get its second wind, eventually resulting in the world as we know it today. But the original and fundamental drive of Islam as the only permissible religious dogma allowed in this same world, did not die in the 17th century. It was very much kept alive by the radical proponents of what had once been young Islam but had in fact become an aging, mellowing religious construct. It was oil money, in the early 20th century, and support from the Saudi family that gave Wahhabism its opportunity to spread aggressively in Arabia and beyond. Its basic focus includes Islamic apostates and religious slackers as much as any other religion's adherents. Why otherwise would the Taliban have made such an effort to destroy the Buddhist Bannyan Statues in Afghanistan a few years ago? It had nothing to do with anger at the West but represents their incoherent hate of anything not Muslim. The Jihadists hate anybody and everybody because we are considered infidels and therefore must be converted to Islam or slain. That is the fundamental reason they are at war with the whole world. But because the USA is the strongest military opponent with currently a seemingly confused and weak urge to defend itself, it has become the primary target for the Jihadist's rage. I agree with the author that there is an extremely vocal anti-Bush and anti-Iraq war contingent in this country and in Europe which clearly plays into the hands of our enemies. Unfortunately, it has been like that during other periods where we were at war. It is part of our political culture but if one believes that at times like these we must show maximum unity of purpose, thereby denying the enemy any opportunity for insidious tactics, one can only deplore the unpatriotic actions and attitudes of those who indulge in it. Clearly, this perceived American disunity enormously helps to hide the actual objectives of Jihadism, namely the reconquest of the world to impose Islam everywhere, but paradoxically it seems to make all those westerners, who do not like America, feel good. Because the war the Jihadists are waging is completely unconventional, this exploitation of naive and uninformed Westerners is grist on the Jihadist mill. As Sun-Tzu was saying 2400 years ago, in war the use of fear, brutality, fifth column invasions 'immigration', deceit and terrorism are to be employed aggressively and today serve the Jihadist plans and efforts to a tee. If the West cannot see the woods for the trees we are doomed. Instead, D'Souza believes that there exists a significant group of tradi

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Crap bound into a book

    So much for repuke claims they are the "party of responsibility". They destroy this country and then, like spoiled brats, turn around and blam everyone else. This book is a compilation of badly written lies.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    D'Souza is close

    D'Souza is right that this war is about hearts and minds. About the imorallity of the cultural left. But the real issue is spiritual in nature, and how far America has strayed (led by the cultural left) from the Christian heritage left to us by our founding fathers. Until we find our way back to our Biblical roots America will continue to suffer. America's success and prosperity is directly related to our relationship with God as a nation. So I say D'Souza is close but should have emphasized this point more throughly. Our hearts and minds should turn to God for answers not to politics and the economy, and the rest, including 'our war with Islam' will work out.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    His Theory

    D'Souza establishes his theory that liberals are the cause of America's international and domestic problems today and then proceeds to support his thesis with selective quotes. This is a very one sided book with the conservatives the heroes and the liberals the villians. But it is worth reading in order to get into the mind set of someone who views the world in black and white terms and sees very little gray.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Dinesh D'Souza is a genius!!!

    While reading this book I was amazed that he was laying everything out so clearly. Just how ironic it is that the real reason we were attacked on 9/11 is due to the cultural depravity that the radical muslims see in our country and which they deplore...a cultural depravity that is being fueled by the ideals of the liberal left. Yet the liberal left and the radical muslims are at the same time allies in doing everything in their power to ensure the failure of our Country in Iraq. The muslims are doing this because they do not want democracy to take root in the Middle East and the liberals motive is to discredit Bush and the Conservatives so that their liberal agenda can continue unimpeded as it has for so long. Europe has become a secular, decadent place and the liberals want America to go down that same path. Much of Europe has rid itself of the influence of religion and the liberals would like the same for America. They have been succeeding brilliantly with their agenda of weakening the influence of the family in America, particularly that of the father, and our country is paying the price. Everyone should read this book and absorb all it has to say about the terrible predicament of our country!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    highly recommended

    I found the book very interesting. I can certainly understand why deeply religious radical muslims might find our way of life offensive.. and it's not surprising that many liberals might find this book offensive. However, another point of this book is that "most" americans don't allign themselves with the radical left in this country and should make it clear that mainstream America is not so different from the average muslim. There's no reason why we shouldn't be able to find common ground when it comes to freedom of religion. We can do without the radical fringe on both sides of the road.
    There may be more history involved as a prior reviewer responded.. although I would think if that person had actually "read" several of his books as they claim, they would have figured out that the name is not "Dennis" it is Dinesh???

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    liberals and the culture war

    'the enemy at home ' is a very fasinating book and the writer dinesh d` souza has really documented research that shows our enemys in battle and mostly in vietnam and iraq our opponents knew they could not win in battle so our opponents were able to use the culture left in america so this publication proves that through out history our enemys use the left to hurt our soldiers and lose our battles and give bad moral to our nation. this book shows hillary clinton and micheal moore who are more intrested in political gain thean helping there country.the writer gives hope and a voice to the voter and what they can do to make a change.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    You mean like the...

    Adulterer and thief who wrote this book? No wonder he's worried about Muslims -- they take a much harder stance on those things! The Saudis who did 9/11 would cut off a few body parts from him and kill his "other woman" for that. Plus his hero W. flew Bin Laden's relatives out of the USA while the rest of us were stuck in airports on the wrong side of the country/world. And he says it's the LEFT'S fault? Ha ha! Projection is a funny old thing, isn't it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1