BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Engagements

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This is a great book! I loved the vivid characterizations and wi

This is a great book! I loved the vivid characterizations and winning plot line. I couldn't put the book down until I was done with it!

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

B-O-R-I-N-G!!! And tedious reading. Takes the author 4-5 pages t

B-O-R-I-N-G!!! And tedious reading. Takes the author 4-5 pages to describe a moment, not an event! This is so not a beach read! Based on the description that the book provides, it sounded so intersting, but unfortunately it fell so short. Just Blah!! I felt compelled to...
B-O-R-I-N-G!!! And tedious reading. Takes the author 4-5 pages to describe a moment, not an event! This is so not a beach read! Based on the description that the book provides, it sounded so intersting, but unfortunately it fell so short. Just Blah!! I felt compelled to finish this book no matter how tedious it was (it was!) just to see if there perhaps was some saving grace.

posted by 6405264 on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book! I loved the vivid characterizations and wi

    This is a great book! I loved the vivid characterizations and winning plot line. I couldn't put the book down until I was done with it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    As a huge fan of Sullivan's last novel, Maine, I had very high e

    As a huge fan of Sullivan's last novel, Maine, I had very high expectations for her new book. I'm thrilled to say The Engagements lives up to all the hype.
    It's a fascinating look at four interconnected marriages and introduces characters who stayed with me long after I finished the book. This is summer reading at its best. Can't wait for her next one.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Really great

    This is a terrific book - well written & engaging. The characters are "real" & the author brings them to life so well that you feel like you know them. Great facts interwoven with great plot lines. I loved it better than "Maine" & I didn't think that would be possible! Don't miss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was my first J. Courtney Sullivan novel and I was really im

    This was my first J. Courtney Sullivan novel and I was really impressed. The writing is top notch. The characters are well developed. The different types of relationships are so interesting to read about. I really recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    B-O-R-I-N-G!!! And tedious reading. Takes the author 4-5 pages t

    B-O-R-I-N-G!!! And tedious reading. Takes the author 4-5 pages to describe a moment, not an event! This is so not a beach read! Based on the description that the book provides, it sounded so intersting, but unfortunately it fell so short. Just Blah!! I felt compelled to finish this book no matter how tedious it was (it was!) just to see if there perhaps was some saving grace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    entertaining read, like 5 books in 1

    I enjoyed this book and how the stories all eventually intertwine. The different stories are easy to follow as these different lives go through the ages with their ups and downs, ultimately all coming together in the end.(the connection, not the people) Plus I also really enjoyed the true life based core of the story, the famous diamond ads that changed the way we all think of weddings and engagements. I too fell for all the marketing material. Genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Another  great summer read from Sullivan. However, characters we

    Another  great summer read from Sullivan. However, characters were disjointed until the very last paragraph. I would have liked this book even better if she had started with that last thought and then gone back to tell the stories. Loved Frances and the advertising agency piece of the story!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    "Engagements" not very engaging!

    A very uninteresting book. Such a disapointment compared to "Maine". This book does not hold my interest at all. Not going to finish it. Very strange for me,as I read a book a week. Jumps around too much and I feel like it is an effort to continue. I cannot even rate it.







    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Excellent book. Very well written. Interesting how the stories are woven into the history of diamonds and the advertizing agency's intimate involvement. Makes me want to rid myself of my diamonds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Pleasantly Diverting

    I came The Engagements not knowing anything about the DeBeers "A Diamond Is Forever" ad campaign and the (ironically) never-married woman who created its tag line. The Engagements isn't straight up historical fiction since the reader is offered perspectives on marriage through the stories of other characters, but to the extent it is, it's more compelling when one is learning something new. The novelty--for me--of the DeBeers story increased my enjoyment of the novel overall. But, even without that, The Engagements is a smart and diverting exploration of some of the different perspectives that exist about marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    This was a bookclub selection...

    A few of the group enjoyed this and others did not. The group described this book as "sweet, enjoyable" and others who thought "disjointed, and slow." Overall, the minority liked the individual stories of Evelyn, James, etc. Evelyn's story was the most engaging and enjoyed by all. Some of the group thought Evelyn could have had a book all to herself.

    The group discussion of the book was really good compared to some of our most recent books. Discussions of how we were all proposed to came up and we all wore our special diamonds to the meeting.

    And as a history lesson on diamonds, it was very well researched.Kudos to the author for all the research.

    I would recommend this to your book group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Hard to follow

    I have enjoyed previous books by Sullivan but found this boring and unengaged.The diamond theme didn't really pull it together as it should have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Another "Gem" from Courtney Sullivan!

    This is Ms. Sullivan's third book (after "Maine" and "Commencement") and follows her pattern of giving each main character separate chapters to develop. Unlike the first two books, the characters in "The Engagements" do not have a familial or collegiate relationship (although a couple characters overlap tangentially). This does not spoil the enjoyment that I received from the book, and I especially liked the chapters concerning the ad agency's development of the "Diamonds are forever" catchphrase. All in all, this was a most enjoyable work by an author whose next book I am eagerly anticipating. It's a fun book to read and I would recommend it without qualms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    This is a book about how a single engagement ring can have an ef

    This is a book about how a single engagement ring can have an effect on four very different marriages. However, I am giving it three stars because I found myself skimming some of the pages because at some points the storyline was slow. But other than that it was an interesting summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Interesting Info on Diamonds

    The only problem I had is that it skips around too much between story lines and time periods. Seemed to be just too much going on and all the ends were tied a little too conveniently. It did make me appreciate my ring more, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fabulous!

    A beautifully written novel full of rich history; peppered with newfound facts and 21st century activism. Enjoyably enlightening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very Disappointed

    I have read several of the authors books and was looking forward to this one. It was drudgery just trying to get through the first few chapters. Iam very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Courtney

    Hi

    0 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2