Customer Reviews for

The Engine 2 Diet: The Texas Firefighter's 28-Day Save-Your-Life Plan that Lowers Cholesterol and Burns Away the Pounds

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

May leave you hungry!

Being a fire fighter, this book and the author caught my interest. He is very strong in his belief that a plant based diet is the only way to go. I decided to follow his recommendations and switched to a plant based diet, no meat, fowl, and only occasional fish. If it h...
Being a fire fighter, this book and the author caught my interest. He is very strong in his belief that a plant based diet is the only way to go. I decided to follow his recommendations and switched to a plant based diet, no meat, fowl, and only occasional fish. If it has legs, I don't eat it. I will have to say, it was difficult to adjust to with the first two weeks sheer hell! Now that I have been on it for 3 months, things have leveled out, I've lost 25#, my cholesterol has dropped and my blood pressure is within normal range. If there is anything I would criticise, it would be the author's attitude that there is no way to accomplish an improvement unless strictly following his guidelines. Some people may not be able to be that rigid and may abandon a good program because they feel the need stay totally with the program. Mixing the book with some flexibility could give good results even if not becoming totally plant based. All in all, the book is interesting, informative and can work.

posted by Capndan on May 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Engine 2 Diet

Some of the recipes are absolutely delicious. I have searched high and low for some of the ingredients, and was unable to find them, even in our local health food store. I just wish there was more information for transitioning from a meat eating diet to vegan. I don'...
Some of the recipes are absolutely delicious. I have searched high and low for some of the ingredients, and was unable to find them, even in our local health food store. I just wish there was more information for transitioning from a meat eating diet to vegan. I don't like meat, but the rest of my family can't imagine not eating it. The recipes do not include nutritional information, and I don't feel reassured that they are balanced.

posted by Mary718 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    May leave you hungry!

    Being a fire fighter, this book and the author caught my interest. He is very strong in his belief that a plant based diet is the only way to go. I decided to follow his recommendations and switched to a plant based diet, no meat, fowl, and only occasional fish. If it has legs, I don't eat it. I will have to say, it was difficult to adjust to with the first two weeks sheer hell! Now that I have been on it for 3 months, things have leveled out, I've lost 25#, my cholesterol has dropped and my blood pressure is within normal range. If there is anything I would criticise, it would be the author's attitude that there is no way to accomplish an improvement unless strictly following his guidelines. Some people may not be able to be that rigid and may abandon a good program because they feel the need stay totally with the program. Mixing the book with some flexibility could give good results even if not becoming totally plant based. All in all, the book is interesting, informative and can work.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    A New Diet Book

    The Engine 2 Diet is written by a firefighter who, following studies done by his medical doctor father, did a study of 13 firefighters and 2 civilians with the twenty-eight day plant-based Engine 2 diet. All were able to reduce their cholesterol, some significantly.

    The book covers food myths, case testimonials, target BP & BMI, and how to read food labels. There is a section with basic cardiovascular exercises such as jumping jacks and step-ups. The exercise section is short, but covers all body areas and is mostly aerobic and body strengthening workouts. Most able-body persons will be able to accomplish the exercise routine.

    The recipe section is more extensive with foods for every meal and dessert. This is, however, a very strict vegetarian diet. Most of the ingredients are readily available in your grocery store. Living in a small town area, I always take notice of the availability of the ingredients recommended. One lesser known ingredient that is frequently listed is Bragg Liquid Aminos, of which I just recently received a free sample. It is simply a healthier version of soy sauce and can be ordered online if not in your stores. Even in small towns, most grocers now have frozen meat substitutes.

    Strict diets are difficult to stick to, but if you want to be healthy, I'd at least give this one a try for the initial two weeks. You may be hooked on it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Makes sense...

    Okay, so I admit - I need to lose a (clears throat) few pounds! But what really caught my eye of Rip Esselstyn's new book was the subtitle - "The Texas Firefighter's 28 Day Save-Your-Life Plan that Lowers Cholesterol and Burns Away the Pounds."

    Okay - cholesterol is a major concern for many North American adults and who couldn't stand to lose a (clears throat) few pounds?

    The basis for The Engine 2 Diet is Esselstyn's belief that "...the most basic, profound and powerful way to take care of your health on a day-to-day basis is to eat a healthy, plant-based diet."

    As a firefighter and dedicated athlete, Rip was concerned about the health of his fellow firefighters. He convinced them to join him in his plant based diet and all who participated saw profound results, both in weight and health improvement.

    He has two plans - Fire Cadet - which slowly weans you off meat, eggs, dairy, oils and refined products. And the Firefighter - you're off all the above at once. There are numerous studies and facts presented to back up his belief that this is the way to live the rest of your life. Results can be seen in four weeks.

    Of course, it needs to be combined with physical activity, muscular and cardiovascular. Rip uses a method called functional training - using your own body weight, no equipment needed. There is a full section on stretching and exercise, complete with descriptive pictures. He advocates having a number of medical tests (ie blood work, BP etc) done so that you have a baseline to measure your progress against. The book is peppered with testimonials and anecdotes, giving it a personal feel.

    The second half of the book cover recipes and meal plans. I found the section on label reading and specific product recommendations to be extremely helpful and very clearly written. How to ensure you are getting the nutrients you need from sources other than meats and dairy were helpful as well. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised with the recipes and meal plans. They were absolutely do-able, if that makes sense. Many of them were foods I already enjoy. Most of them appealed to me. (But I will take a pass on kale butter!)

    I have to say that a lot of it really makes sense to me after reading this book. Even if you took some of his ideas and adapted them to your life, you would reap some benefit. Am I going to jump on the bandwagon? (or fire engine as the case may be) It's given me a lot to consider.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Overall, a good cookbook and some great ideas

    This could also double for a vegetarian cookbook as it is full of great recipes. The author stresses a vegan, plant-heavy diet free of processed food and rich with whole grains. I can easily see myself using this as a basis of my dietary choices, though I doubt I will ever follow his plan zealously. His advice has helped me to make better food choices, eat more salads, and incorporate vegetables in places I usually don't. I feel better and I look better. It was easy and I don't really think about it. Unlike my old diet of mostly sugary and processed carbohydrates, I feel full faster and I don't crave things nearly like I used to at the end of the day. Because the biggest change I've made has been the incorporation of salads into every meal, I attribute it to the leafy greens that I'm now eating. While I'm sure others may read more deeply into the book and become vegans or vegetarians, for me, I was quite happy just to get some great ideas into how to enjoy vegetables as a main course. The author also adds anecdotes, personal testimonies, and some cute stories which help make the book a very easy read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Must read

    Easy to read and great info.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good info on whole food, plant based living

    Recommended for anyone interested in learning about whole food, plant based living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Was just at the docs with cholesterol over 300 and pretty worrie

    Was just at the docs with cholesterol over 300 and pretty worried. The book is very well written and explains things very well. My only complaint is that the ebook seems to be missing sections that are referenced in the book such as recipes for the sesame dressing which is touted to be on page 238 - too bad my ebook ends at page 188. One day 2 and eating well so far doing the 28 day challenge - will come back and post after my 28 days :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    E2

    I went to one of there immersions 2 yrs ago. I cant go all the way plantstrong, but it does help me to make better options in reducing the amount of salt, sugar and oil in my foods and desserts. This book is like there lectures half of the recipes i habe tried and its very good. And as a cook i can say it inspires me to come up with healthy recipes for my customers and myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Decent

    There are some really good alternative recipes in this book. I am not vegan, but definitely starting to incorporate more fruits & veggies in my diet & cut down on the meat quantity. This is a good book to add to the collection. One con about the book is it does not have the nutritional data with the recipes for those that are trying to keep track. I have made a few of the recipes in this book and so far they were all very tasty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    If you're ready to live, read this.

    We've already changed our life plan eating style to predominately plant-based and I wanted additional recipes for us and information for all the people asking us about our new-found vitality and looks. All our changes have been strictly for the health benefits that a plant-based diet provides and we are enjoying the benefits greatly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Excellent book

    Wonderful book. Learned a lot. Tried it for a month and never felt better! I also look great! Crazy how much we don't know about what we put in our bodies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    OK But....

    Book is ok but not great. This diet is better then no diet.
    Goes vey negative on Olive oil which is not what health professionals are recommending. Olive Oil=Italy and Spain= low heart disease. It's A fact.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2