Customer Reviews for

The Engine 2 Diet: The Texas Firefighter's 28-Day Save-Your-Life Plan that Lowers Cholesterol and Burns Away the Pounds

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

May leave you hungry!

Being a fire fighter, this book and the author caught my interest. He is very strong in his belief that a plant based diet is the only way to go. I decided to follow his recommendations and switched to a plant based diet, no meat, fowl, and only occasional fish. If it h...
Being a fire fighter, this book and the author caught my interest. He is very strong in his belief that a plant based diet is the only way to go. I decided to follow his recommendations and switched to a plant based diet, no meat, fowl, and only occasional fish. If it has legs, I don't eat it. I will have to say, it was difficult to adjust to with the first two weeks sheer hell! Now that I have been on it for 3 months, things have leveled out, I've lost 25#, my cholesterol has dropped and my blood pressure is within normal range. If there is anything I would criticise, it would be the author's attitude that there is no way to accomplish an improvement unless strictly following his guidelines. Some people may not be able to be that rigid and may abandon a good program because they feel the need stay totally with the program. Mixing the book with some flexibility could give good results even if not becoming totally plant based. All in all, the book is interesting, informative and can work.

posted by Capndan on May 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Engine 2 Diet

Some of the recipes are absolutely delicious. I have searched high and low for some of the ingredients, and was unable to find them, even in our local health food store. I just wish there was more information for transitioning from a meat eating diet to vegan. I don'...
Some of the recipes are absolutely delicious. I have searched high and low for some of the ingredients, and was unable to find them, even in our local health food store. I just wish there was more information for transitioning from a meat eating diet to vegan. I don't like meat, but the rest of my family can't imagine not eating it. The recipes do not include nutritional information, and I don't feel reassured that they are balanced.

posted by Mary718 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Success Story

    At the end of 2008 I found myself the heaviest I had ever been. I had just turned 40 and the scales were saying 270. I was 100 pounds overweight. My cholesterol was sneaking up to the 200 mark and my doctor told me that if I couldn't get the number down with diet and exercise, medication was the only option. I was already on meds for my high blood pressure and I really didn't want to add any more.
    So, like a lot of people do, I made a new years resolution to lose weight. I thought that if I would just eat less of the bad foods I was already eating I could lose weight. By the end of January I had lost 10 pounds and was feeling confident. But by the end of February it was back again. Sometime in March I saw an article in The Dallas Morning News about this book. I had always been interested in the vegan lifestyle but never thought I could live with the diet. Your diet looked interesting. It was something different and that was just what I needed. I bought the book and started the E2 diet on March 23rd. I really wasn't that hard at all. I was finding all kinds of new food and new ways to cook them. I even stared growing some of my own food. I am never hungry. I eat until I am full. But, I am now eating good plant based foods.
    As of today, April 28th, I have lost 35 pounds. I am losing a pound or more each week. I am starting to exercise daily, which I haven't done in years. I am feeling great. Oh and by the way, I just got my lab results back from my doctor visit last week. My cholesterol has dropped 48 points and my triglycerides dropped 66 points. My doctor says to "keep doing what you are doing because you have finally found what works for you".
    I am half way to my goal of being under 200 pounds.
    Thank you,Rip, for the book and the help it has given me. It has no doubt added years to my life.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is simply a must read for anyone looking to improve their health.

    I had just completed Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn's book when I heard that his firefighter son, Rip, was also authoring a book on the benefits of a plant based diet. Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn's book "Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease" was an amazing read. This well respected surgeon led a pioneering study that paved the way for many to change the course of their lives. This includes me. So it was with great enthusiasm that I ordered Rip's book "Engine 2 Diet". I read the entire book in 2 days and was amazed at its approach and enthusiasm regarding a plant based diet. As a firefighter I know that many in our profession succumb to the ill effects of the typical western diet. Rip's work infuses logic into a workable solution that is remarkably easy to follow. The dietary options are endless and the included recipes have me wondering if eating this way can really taste this good. The Engine 2 Diet is a convincing philosophy for every firefighter to consider. But make no mistake, the book is for everyone who wishes to improve their health. In the 3 weeks that I have subscribed to the Esselstyn dietary philosophy I have noticed dramatic increases in energy with obvious weight loss. Please do yourself a favor and read Rip's book. Buy it for a firefighter you might know and tell your friends. While many have tried to espouse the benefits of eating well, these two just might have created a force to be reckoned with when it comes to an American dietary revolution.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A quick, easy and interesting way to become healthy and energetic.

    This book gets right to the point. You can read a few pages then jump right in to the program. After 4 weeks of being on this diet, my family has learned to eat differently, enjoy many new foods, and began cooking together. We will continue to maintain this diet 90%. The only down side is that it is difficult to come home from work and spend so much time cooking. There is a lot of prep work and lots of dishes. We are now going to work on efficiency in the kitchen and we will also begin looking for simpler menus that can be prepared in 30 or 40 minutes.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Great book.

    I love this book. It is very easy to follow and it answers all your questions regarding a vegan diet. My husband and I are on our 8th week following his diet and have lost 15 pounds each and have really enjoyed our food. We are not hungry and have no cravings. We plan on making this a permanent lifestyle change.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Changed how I eat

    After months of trying to diet and exercising daily, I had little to show for it. I saw Rip on the Today Show when the book came out, and I decided this might be worth a try.
    I used to consume a diet of almost all meat. I thought it could be tough to stay on the diet, but the recipes helped me realize how good fruits and vegetables can be.
    So far I've lost 35 pounds. This book changed how I eat, and I'm much healthier now.
    When I explain to people how I lost the weight, they're always very surprised. I've now been able to get some friends to read the book and try the diet, as well. Most people have phenomenally unhealthy eating habits, and I think this is a great diet for everyone--regardless of whether you need to lose weight.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    excellent book!

    After reading this book I was forced to evaluate what I ate and the consequences of it. During the first 28 days I lost over 13 lbs and never felt better. This eating style works for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT book...Tons of Info, GREAT recipes

    Rip makes it easy to transition to a healthy vegan diet, with plenty of compelling reasons why, research to back it up, and an awesome group of recipes to make it delicious. This book proves ANYONE can do it...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Great Investment!

    This is not just a diet, it is a lifestyle choice.

    A choice that if you make it will be the best investment in you that you could make!

    As a Firefighter / Paramedic, with the patients I see, it makes one want to exercise and eat right. I thought I was, yet my vitals and and numbers stayed the same. After reading this book and becoming, "Plant Strong", I have not only noticed my cholesterol, blood pressure, and weight decrease, but my energy and stamina have increased as well.

    Unlike other "diets" everyone* will see positive results, *(Unless you already are plant-strong, then you like this book for the recipes!)

    Make the investment in this book for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!

    if you're looking for results, this book can help. If you just want to improve your diet, this book can help, if you are vegan this is the book for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    This is about a lifestyle not a diet.

    Great book, great recipes from a man that walks the walk. I have lost 80 pounds not being on a diet, rather by changing my eating habits. I have never felt better nor looked better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Must read for your health!

    This book is a must read for anyone interested in keeping their cardiovascular system healthy for a quality life!
    The weight will drop off without stringent dieting with this healthy food.
    The author makes a fantastic case for healthy eating with an impeccable family background in medicine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great book

    I am extremely happy with this purchase. The information is helpful and the recipes are fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    A good choice for a healthier life

    My goal was to lose some weight and in the process I have been reading a great selection of books. I first learned all the bad news about processed foods. Now my interest is in the vegan diet and avoiding all animal based foods and dairy products. I discovered the Engine 2 Diet book and love it. It puts the topping on the cake. Rip gets into the medical advantages of this type of eating plan in great detail where the other books lack that angle of discussion. I am not a tofu lover. There are some tofu recipes in the book, but there are a lot more to help you create some very tasty meals using vegetables and legumes along with fruit. There are some nice healthy substitutions for sugar and all those sugar substitutes. There is lots of good advice in this book that is supported by research done for a life of whole food plant based eating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This book is fantastic! I definitely recommend watching Forks O

    This book is fantastic! I definitely recommend watching Forks Over Knives, reading the book and then moving on to Rip's My Beef With Meat and The Engine 2 Diet. If you are a vegan you'll love all the information and recipes! If you are considering or interested in becoming a vegan these are the best resources out there to get started. Besides being very informative they have delicious recipes as well as some workouts/workout information to accompany the dietary information! Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite The Engine

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite

    The Engine 2 Diet by Rip Esselstyn was a kick in the pants to take better care of myself through my diet. As I get older, I’m noticing joint pain and elevated blood sugar . . . two big warning signs of inflammation. Then there’s that 30 pounds I haven’t been able to lose. Engine 2 is about a firehouse team that decided to go vegan to help their teammate drop his cholesterol and in just three weeks made astonishing improvements. The beginning explains what a firefighter’s job is like —- extremely strenuous and high stress as they carry 100 pounds of equipment up ladders or stairways, go into potentially fatal conditions, and carry people out of burning buildings. You’d have to be in great shape to do this and not be a liability to the others in your team. You’d have to have a lot of energy and some may think you could not get that from a plant-based diet, but Esselstyn gives plenty of research and detail about how you can. Some of the world’s strongest animals are vegetarian! 

    I LOVED The Engine 2 Diet. The presentation is energetic and no-nonsense as Rip Esselstyn challenges people to do their best to feel good as well as take care of their families. The audio book version was extremely convenient to listen to in the car and I can listen over and over effortlessly. Lots of pantry tips and recipe ideas are given to make this accessible for anyone. Lest you think you won’t get enough to eat, there are higher calorie plant-based foods such as grains and avocados that can supply that full feeling. With the controversies over eating meat due to hormones, antibiotics, farm conditions, and genetic modification, this is a do-able way to be healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Best nutrition book ever!

    This book is practical and everything Rip says is true. You will have more energy, sleep better and feel better. Life changing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great book with fabulous recipes. Large quantities of food so be

    Great book with fabulous recipes. Large quantities of food so be aware. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this diet. What the Esselstyn's have done for heart healt

    I love this diet. What the Esselstyn's have done for heart health is immeasurable. There are two approaches stated in this diet. The Fire Cadet, and The Firefighter. Basically the Fire cadet still lets you cheat with some select animal products, which Rip goes over. The Firefighter is completely animal product free. The Firefighter proved too difficult to do out of the gate, so after a few days, I decided to do the Cadet for about a month. This allowed me to get away from animal food cravings. 
    Rip goes over typical pitfalls, and how to substitute out animal foods with good plant alternatives. You’ll find your pallet change over time, and you’ll really begin to taste the food that you’re eating since it’s not covered in salty, sugary, and fatty stuff, usually from animal products. 
    There are plenty of recipes found in the book, and unlimited number can be found on the Internet, which are Engine 2 friendly. Basically, a food needs to be vegan, and also free of refined oils. So search out vegan dishes, and sub out the ‘vegan butter’ or ‘vegan cheese’ with more heart healthy substitutes. Rip goes over these options, but I also found some options on the fatfreevegan website.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    The recipes are great and the best part is that no counting calo

    The recipes are great and the best part is that no counting calories or worrying about portion control.  If you focus on everything that you can eat and not what you can't it is easy to be successful.  More than a fad diet, it is a great way to lose weight and improve the family's health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Life Changing

    It will be almost 2 years since I read this amazing book. We have been mostly vegan since then. We've had our stumbling blocks, but 95% we follow this healthy way of life. My husband's cholesterol dropped 30 points in 1 year. I am off my diabetic medication. We have both lost about 40 lbs each and are continuing to lose at a slow pace. We know this is a lifestyle, but even a few lbs off adds years to our lives. We reread this book, in pieces about every 6 months. We try to remind ourselves of the reasons we started this journey in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3