Customer Reviews for

The English Girl (Gabriel Allon Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was

I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was too intriguing, the chapter hooks to irresistible
and the characters too complex and compelling to abandon them for very long. I figured out a few twists, although perhaps we were meant to do that
but ther...
I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was too intriguing, the chapter hooks to irresistible
and the characters too complex and compelling to abandon them for very long. I figured out a few twists, although perhaps we were meant to do that
but there were still several surprises including a lovely one at the end. I know many people start mumbling "formula" when a character and a series
 becomes as popular as Gabriel Allon and his adventures are, but we all want the main characters to survive to live and love in
another story,and if that puts a book in the formula category, it is inescapable and unavoidable.The Israeli "team mates" of Gabriel
Allon do not appear until the second half of the book.  In the beginning, he is working hand in glove with a former enemy,
Christopher Keller,and they certainly form a  delightfully dynamic duo. In the second half, Gabriel Allon rejoins his Israeli
 team along with the man who nearly had become his assassin in an earlier book. This delay in bringing in the Israelis made me realize
 just how much  I not only like each and every team member, but how fascinating  it is to read about the development of their
 strategies  and their deployment as the operation progresses. Although there is a strong sense that the main character will make it
through safely, there is plenty of tension and excitement as to whether all our old friends among Mossad, MI5 and the CIA  will do the same.
There is also humor bubbling up here and there to relieve the tension and make these characters even more human.The fact that Gabriel Allon is no longer a man in the full flush of youth, and
all the difficulties that aging entails even, or perhaps especially, if you are a legendary spy is handled intelligently without making the main
character one iota less fascinating. If you are a Gabriel Allon fan, you will not be disappointed, and if you have not met him yet, you can start here and then go ba
 to, "The Kill Artist", and follow Gabriel's progress through the years to learn how he got to his current place.This could be my favorite Daniel SIlva book - at least until
the next one.

posted by librogattoRE on July 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

!

Once again, rude plot spoilers ruin the book. Bn, why wont you do something to these ppl that rewrite the book in their reviews? They retell the entire story, giving away every detail. Cant they be banned and their posts deleted? Please do something to these rude poster...
Once again, rude plot spoilers ruin the book. Bn, why wont you do something to these ppl that rewrite the book in their reviews? They retell the entire story, giving away every detail. Cant they be banned and their posts deleted? Please do something to these rude posters.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Well paced and authentic sounding story that centers around the

    Well paced and authentic sounding story that centers around the race to dominate theworlds thirst for oil. This time it is not the middle East--It's Russia. the Israeli team is it's usual efficient self and Gabriel stumbles in the beginning but redeems himself once hefigures things out. Silva has opened up a whole new vista with Gabriel's looming promotion--all you have to do is look at the situation in the Middle East today and he has a wealth of material for future novels to challenge his main character and his team ahead of him. Looking forward to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    A young English woman named Madeline Hart disappears from her va

    A young English woman named Madeline Hart disappears from her vacation in Corsica supposedly kidnapped by low Marseilles’ criminals. The demand –left at the door of the British prime minister’s press secretary--is simple: seven days or the girl dies. With such short time, the young British prime minister, counseled by his powerful and Macchiavelian chief of staff, phones Graham Seymour, MI5’s deputy director, for a personal chat.




    On behalf of the PM –and unbeknownst to him--, Graham travels to Israel to meet Gabriel Allon to request as a personal favor that he takes the case and finds the woman. Madeline, a rising star in Britain’s ruling party, had been right until her disappearance the mistress of the prime minister.




    With no other trails to follow, Gabriel starts his investigation in Corsica. Accompanied by old nemesis Christopher Keller and backed by Keller’s employer Don Orsati, Gabriel finds his first clues in the low life who spirited Madeline away from Corsica in his high speed dinghy. Days go by without finding Madeline, until the kidnappers ask for ten million euros in ransom money and then the chase is on to deliver the money and find her alive, only once the money is safe in their hands, they kill her…




    Armed with the promise he made Madeline--the only time they met after Gabriel had asked the kidnappers for proof of life--, Gabriel can’t rest without answers, and in the process he will end up in “the city of heretics”, Moscow, the very city where he almost lost his life to Ivan Kharkov’s goons. There, Gabriel and his team will match wits with silovikis working for a government-owned oil and gas company that is planning to extract oil in the North Sea thanks to an agreement with the current British administration. And the ultimate truth or deception they will find in the prospekts of alluring St. Petersburg.




    I liked The English Girl. It is international intrigue of the highest order as Daniel Silva is able to deliver, but a book unlike its predecessors in the series, for the other books were about terrorism as it related to the Jewish state, or about the Jews during and after the Holocaust, while in this case it was a kidnapping made to appear as if low level criminals were behind the operation when in reality it was anything but.




    In The English Girl there are three characters that first made their appearances in The English Assassin, namely the signadora—a character that I love because she can predict the future and see the past as well--, Don Orsati—the man behind a revenge-for-money and olive oil business, employer of Christopher Keller—, and Keller—who once put a target on Gabriel’s head and spared his life only to pair up with him for this adventure. All three characters are very well developed as are the others.




    As always, Gabriel worked here with his team made up by Rimona, Yossi, Yaakov, Eli Lavon, Dina, Mikhail, Oded, Mordecai and Chiara. Uzi Navot and Ari Shamron also made cameo appearances.




    In summary, The English Girl breaks the mold when compared to its counterparts in the Gabriel Allon series, but it keeps its essence by delivering great and complex international intrigue and a roller coaster ride of emotions. Can’t be missed!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Absolutely love Daniel Silva!

    Well written and a gripping story as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    recommend

    Enjoyed the book - kept you guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    A great read by a master craftsman

    Daniel Silva/Garbriel Allon fans will not be disappointed. The English Girl is part thriller (first half), part mystery (second half). As usual, the stakes are high and the characters--even the bad guys--engaging. The strength of Silva's novels are his characters. They are portrayed with the depth you might find in a LeCarre novel. Although the action and suspense in LeCarre's books can sometimes flag a bit, that's never a problem with Sliva's writing which propels his stories relentlessly forward.

    The English Girl is a great read by a master craftsman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Great Read

    Number 13 in a series that is always entertaining and well done as is usual for Daniel Silva.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The English Girl absolutely held my attention to the very last page and I can't wait for the next Gabriel Allon book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Recommend

    Very complicated plot with a great ending. I will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Another GREAT book from Daniel Silva

    I have loved all of Daniel Silva's books and "The English Girl" did not disappoint. It was quick moving and full of great suspense. Can't wait for Silva's next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    recommended ... consistent with previous work by Silva

    Great summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Good read in the tradition of Gabriel Allon

    Good read continuing the tradition of the Gabriel Allon series. Not so surprising ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    The English Girl

    Daniel Silva always keeps me wondering what is going to happen next. This book lived up to my expectations in every way.

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Loved the book. It was exciting and kept me wanting to read more. I always found the Allon series. good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Silva Back on Track

    I thought Daniel was getting off track with Gabriel in the last few books, succumbing to the action hero model of recent movies. Gabriel, who should now be in his mid to late 50s, (maybe older), was being beat up and abused more and more. It was just a bit unrealistic that he would continue to recover from this and forge ahead. In this adventure, Gabriel is dragged in to investigate a kidnapping that is a political hot potato for the British. His old allies hope that he can resolve the issue without any involvement by them. Not a chance, and soon Gabriel is working with his own agenda. The action is still intense, but Gabriel is pulling strings, investigating, and solving puzzles rather than getting shot, beat up, and tortured in general. This book tells a solid story. The plot holes can be overlooked simply because of all the new doors that are opened for future books. Is Gabriel moving on? Personally? Professionally? Are new alliances being created or new adversaries? Lots of fun now and great anticipation for the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A good read

    My husband and I have read everyone of Daniel Silva's book and thoroughly enjoy them. This one didn't move along quite as fast as some of his others but, definitely worth reading. Figured out some of it but, the end was definitely a nice surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Politics and those that want the power

    The English girl's disappearance is the core of this story. Gabriel Allon searches for her because she is involved with the English primier. His determination strengthen when see sees her killed in a burning car. Determined to find the killer he finds a twisted ending. A fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    You must check it out!!!

    An excellent book for reading. As usual Daniel Silva's books are excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Hiii

    Hi this book sounds good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I have been a fan of Daniel Silva from the beginning. Although I

    I have been a fan of Daniel Silva from the beginning. Although I really liked the book, I have to agree with some reviewers who criticized the amount of pages devoted to people and events from his past books. As a fan, I found it distracting and seemed to drag the reading. I assume Silva did this for the sake of first-time readers of the Allon series, or to refresh the memories of fans of his previous books. I also think some scenes should have been more intense, but as the tension rose it seemed to end too quickly. I did like the developing relationship with Gabriel Allon and a former enemy and hope it continues. The character of the mystic signadora just seemed out of place from his other characters in previous books. Although not his very best, I still think it was well worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Silva's best in years

    The last few Gabriel Allon books were becoming formulaic. This latest one, despite some elements of the formula---the female in need of rescue, the coming together of the usual team under Allon's leadership---"The English Girl" has enough twists and turns to make it exciting. It keeps you reading until the end. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3