Customer Reviews for

The English Girl (Gabriel Allon Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was

I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was too intriguing, the chapter hooks to irresistible
and the characters too complex and compelling to abandon them for very long. I figured out a few twists, although perhaps we were meant to do that
but ther...
I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was too intriguing, the chapter hooks to irresistible
and the characters too complex and compelling to abandon them for very long. I figured out a few twists, although perhaps we were meant to do that
but there were still several surprises including a lovely one at the end. I know many people start mumbling "formula" when a character and a series
 becomes as popular as Gabriel Allon and his adventures are, but we all want the main characters to survive to live and love in
another story,and if that puts a book in the formula category, it is inescapable and unavoidable.The Israeli "team mates" of Gabriel
Allon do not appear until the second half of the book.  In the beginning, he is working hand in glove with a former enemy,
Christopher Keller,and they certainly form a  delightfully dynamic duo. In the second half, Gabriel Allon rejoins his Israeli
 team along with the man who nearly had become his assassin in an earlier book. This delay in bringing in the Israelis made me realize
 just how much  I not only like each and every team member, but how fascinating  it is to read about the development of their
 strategies  and their deployment as the operation progresses. Although there is a strong sense that the main character will make it
through safely, there is plenty of tension and excitement as to whether all our old friends among Mossad, MI5 and the CIA  will do the same.
There is also humor bubbling up here and there to relieve the tension and make these characters even more human.The fact that Gabriel Allon is no longer a man in the full flush of youth, and
all the difficulties that aging entails even, or perhaps especially, if you are a legendary spy is handled intelligently without making the main
character one iota less fascinating. If you are a Gabriel Allon fan, you will not be disappointed, and if you have not met him yet, you can start here and then go ba
 to, "The Kill Artist", and follow Gabriel's progress through the years to learn how he got to his current place.This could be my favorite Daniel SIlva book - at least until
the next one.

posted by librogattoRE on July 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

!

Once again, rude plot spoilers ruin the book. Bn, why wont you do something to these ppl that rewrite the book in their reviews? They retell the entire story, giving away every detail. Cant they be banned and their posts deleted? Please do something to these rude poster...
Once again, rude plot spoilers ruin the book. Bn, why wont you do something to these ppl that rewrite the book in their reviews? They retell the entire story, giving away every detail. Cant they be banned and their posts deleted? Please do something to these rude posters.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was

    I really tried to make this book last longer, but the story was too intriguing, the chapter hooks to irresistible
    and the characters too complex and compelling to abandon them for very long. I figured out a few twists, although perhaps we were meant to do that
    but there were still several surprises including a lovely one at the end. I know many people start mumbling "formula" when a character and a series
     becomes as popular as Gabriel Allon and his adventures are, but we all want the main characters to survive to live and love in
    another story,and if that puts a book in the formula category, it is inescapable and unavoidable.The Israeli "team mates" of Gabriel
    Allon do not appear until the second half of the book.  In the beginning, he is working hand in glove with a former enemy,
    Christopher Keller,and they certainly form a  delightfully dynamic duo. In the second half, Gabriel Allon rejoins his Israeli
     team along with the man who nearly had become his assassin in an earlier book. This delay in bringing in the Israelis made me realize
     just how much  I not only like each and every team member, but how fascinating  it is to read about the development of their
     strategies  and their deployment as the operation progresses. Although there is a strong sense that the main character will make it
    through safely, there is plenty of tension and excitement as to whether all our old friends among Mossad, MI5 and the CIA  will do the same.
    There is also humor bubbling up here and there to relieve the tension and make these characters even more human.The fact that Gabriel Allon is no longer a man in the full flush of youth, and
    all the difficulties that aging entails even, or perhaps especially, if you are a legendary spy is handled intelligently without making the main
    character one iota less fascinating. If you are a Gabriel Allon fan, you will not be disappointed, and if you have not met him yet, you can start here and then go ba
     to, "The Kill Artist", and follow Gabriel's progress through the years to learn how he got to his current place.This could be my favorite Daniel SIlva book - at least until
    the next one.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Silva does it again.

    What can I say? Another terrific adventure with Gabriel Allon. Great stuff.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Great addition to the series

    Terrific characters & locations ... looking forward to Silva's next book in the series ... good twist towards the end.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I wish the author would write books more frequently! Who do you

    I wish the author would write books more frequently! Who do you all recommend as a similar author??? HELP!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    "I'm Gabriel Allon. I only do big." That linefrom Th

    "I'm Gabriel Allon. I only do big." That linefrom The Enlisg Girl pretty much sums up not only this book but the series as a whole for me. Unlike other novel series that seem to stagnate and become way too predictable, this one only gets richer and deeper with each addition to the collection. This particular installment includes a very creative and well thought out plot, and it was remarkable to watch how Mr. Silva brought so many threads together. What sets this one apart for me, however, is that this book leaves the reader with alot of questions regarding the future of a number of characters, including Gabriel, Chiara, Ari, Graham, Mikhail, Uzi and even Christopher Keller. I read the final line of this book and felt a renewed desire to go back and reread this entire series. Yes, this book was that good and I am excited to see what happens when the next installment comes out, presumably next year.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    I've read all of Silva's books and The English Girl" is his

    I've read all of Silva's books and The English Girl" is his absolute best..The main character in Gabriel Allon takes you on a ride you won't forget..Gabriel is a spy -personified..Silva has created a simple but fascinating plot that has an amazing twist at the end...,,,or the ultimate "double cross"...I'm not sure I agree with Silva's idea that Gabriel Allon will be promoted to Operations Chief in his next book..I hope the author will have a little talk with Gabriel before he accepts this position..Gabriel is a hands on operative..No way he will last as an administrator with the politics involved..

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Silva is the best!

    There are very few authors who consistently put out books that are unputdownable. Daniel Silva is one of the few. The English Girl is just another example of this. Gabriel Allon is one of the greatest creations in thriller fiction in the last 20 years. When reading his exploits, it feels as if you are reading about actual living breathing people. You care about these characters.
    As with the other Allon books, all is not what it seems. The story revolves around the British PM and the blackmail scheme surrounding him regarding his mistress who has been kidnapped and given 5 days to live if the ransom demand not met. With secrecy needed. Gabriel is asked to track down the kidnappers and save the girl. For long time Silva readers, the reemergence of Christopher Keller from The English Assassin is a welcome addition. (Mr. Silva, Keller needs his own series, please)
    Throw in the old favorites, Chiara, Eli, Mikail, Dina, Rimona and the rest of Gabriel's crew and The English Girl is thoroughly entertaining and one of the best books of the year. Shamron would be pleased.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Daniel Silva maintains his high standard in this latest iteration of the Gabriel Allon sagas. The novel traces Allon's attempt to locate a young woman implicated in an affair with England's Prime Minister, who was abducted. The book is both an intricated vision of the world of art and of the world of the spy. It spans most of Europe and ends with a tension-filled forray into Russia. I am a fan of Silva's writing, and feel that this is one of his better works. Silva's insight into the insidious application of force by Russian oil moguls is up to his usual high standards, and his lingering theme which stars an old woman in Corsica. Her final revelation to Chiara makes this book worth the wait. As I look forward to the next Allon novel, I am aware that Silva is very cognizant of the process of aging, and watching Allon age is a marvel of literary content and insight. My thanks to Daniel Silva for many hours of intelligent and exciting reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    The best yet

    It holds your interest from the first sentence and continues until the last word -don't want to wait another year for the next one! Well wrtten down to the last twist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Fabulous book! Enjoy!

    Fabulous book! Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    f Goobik Good book

    A

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Kcwazzup

    I love this book just u no recommed to me plezz..................

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    I love you

    Dear love

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I have most of Silvia's books. I particularly enjoy the Gabriel Allon series. Aside from being a very effective spy and assassin, Allon is a refined and cultured gentleman, which is probably why my wife also enjoys the stories. I think "The English Girl" is Silva's best yet. A real page-turner. All the characters are well fleshed out, especially Allon's "team", and there is always a lot of interesting historical information on the people, places and things that comprise the background of the stories. Makes me wish I could hop on a plane and visit some of the places where Allon has done his work. TR, Richmond

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    5 stars Love it! Love it! Loveit! Could not put it down! Up all

    5 stars
    Love it! Love it! Loveit! Could not put it down! Up all night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Never stale

    This is classic Daniel Silva and more. Gabriel is once again dragged reluctantly into an adventure, but this time it is the British doing the dragging. It appears that Gabriel has found himself a new and intriguing sidekick as he maneuvers the many twists & turns of the plot. Along the way we see the very human side of him entering the storyline, and the ending is personally satisfying as well. Well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book

    Silva has written another great book, a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Really well put together!

    I found this book exceptionally well plotted. The writing was up to the authors exceptional standard butbwhat made this book one of his best was the story just grabbed you and held you. Would highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Good read

    Good book, starts out slow but moves along as it goes. Good plot another good Daniel Silva book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Cool

    Pirate101 is cool and so is this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7