Customer Reviews for

The Essential 55: An Award-Winning Educator's Rules for Discovering the Successful Student in Every Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read For Every Teacher!

I finshed the book in one sitting. All of Ron's rules are excellent and can be adapted for any classroom. This man is amazing. We need more teachers like him.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Save yourself the time

I was very disappointed in Ron Clark's book. I had a vision on him and his teaching style built up before reading the book, as I have heard so many great things about his work with students. But I was highly disappointed by the book. There was nothing new or novice ab...
I was very disappointed in Ron Clark's book. I had a vision on him and his teaching style built up before reading the book, as I have heard so many great things about his work with students. But I was highly disappointed by the book. There was nothing new or novice about his '55' rules. I was expecting more of an insight into his apparently 'fabulous' way of teaching, but was sorely mistaken about the book's purpose. He basically reviewed his and my southern upbringing, and how to teach that to all kids. Please do not waste your time here, unless you are looking for about two or three cute little quips about being a teacher. Not worth the effort to read it.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A Must Read For Every Teacher!

    I finshed the book in one sitting. All of Ron's rules are excellent and can be adapted for any classroom. This man is amazing. We need more teachers like him.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Professional and Inspirational

    I've got a poster of the rules in my office, I like them so much. These really work in the classroom, not infallibly of course, but extremely well. When students begin to behave well it's much easier for them to focus on lessons because they feel less threatened and more in control. Ron starting a new school in Atlanta, so he is still an Educator!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very well written

    I think this book is very well written. It is very organized, and is helpful to students so they will learn basic manners that will be used throughout their lifetime. It is great!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Essential 55

    The Essential 55 consists of Ron Clark's 55 rules he uses in his classroom everyday. These rules cover a range of topics from food etiquette to life lessons. At first, I was skeptical about Clark's views on how a classroom should be run. After I continued to read, I found that Clark had valid reasons for each and every rule. Not every rule will make sense and not every rule should be followed exactly. For instance, rule 47 states 'Do not bring Doritos into the school building.' Overall, I highly recommend this book. Clark organized his book in a manner that is easy to read and understand. Beyond that, the book will stir your imagination and inspire you as a parent, an educator, and a person.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The ESSENTIAL ONE!

    This an excellent book for teachers -- both beginning and experienced! Lots of great ideas and useful information and techniques. Will give you a lot to think about and hopefully improve your teaching. Also a great book for students and parents as well. I highly recommend this and his other book (listed below)!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ron Clark's "The Essential 55"

    Ron Clark's "The Essential 55" is a great resource book for every teacher to use as a class management tool. Ron Clark's common sense approach to teaching and managing school children is enlightening, especially for new teachers.

    I highly recommend this book to all new teachers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Back to basics!!!

    Totally disagree with Urban Reader/Elementary school teacher.......I am a mother of three, have taught in grade school and now work in a high school with 1400 students......teaching the children the basics that we learned as children would help turn this generation of tweens and teens around and it would definitely help with the way some adults treat each other. We have come a long way from the basic respect that should be shown to one another. This book is a reminder of kinder and more respectful times....and if our children could be mindful of this on a daily basis, maybe, just maybe the problems children face would not seem so insurmountable.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good, not great. Short.

    You can easily read this book in a couple of days. I could see myself integrating some of these 55 rules into my classroom--but not all at the same time. That would be chaos! He's a successful teacher, but your mileage may vary.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Save yourself the time

    I was very disappointed in Ron Clark's book. I had a vision on him and his teaching style built up before reading the book, as I have heard so many great things about his work with students. But I was highly disappointed by the book. There was nothing new or novice about his '55' rules. I was expecting more of an insight into his apparently 'fabulous' way of teaching, but was sorely mistaken about the book's purpose. He basically reviewed his and my southern upbringing, and how to teach that to all kids. Please do not waste your time here, unless you are looking for about two or three cute little quips about being a teacher. Not worth the effort to read it.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Just bought this book.

    I just bought this book and I am looking forward to reading it and applying some of it in my classroom. I saw his movie on TNT last night and the first thing I did this morning was order the book. What a story. As to the person who claims that if Ron 'cared about children he'd still be teaching,' people should pay no mind to this person. This is your standard issue 'sour grapes' attitude you get from every bitter teacher who sees another teacher enjoy and excel in what they do. Happy reading!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    I use the Essential 55

    I have read and re-read Ron's book. I have found that his experiences in the classroom parallel my own. I have used several of his 'tips' in the classroom and tweaked others, and they work. I teach in a high poverty, multi-ethnic community, and his ¿tips¿ work. As to him still not in the classroom, I say that because of what he has learned and is sharing to other educators, and continuing his work at the Ron Clark Academy in Atlanta, keep up the good work Ron. Check out this website, ronclarkacademy.com, for more about what this fantastic TEACHER is still doing for kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I read this book in a few hours. It was motivational, concise an

    I read this book in a few hours. It was motivational, concise and reminded the reader that structure and expectations are GOOD for kids. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Ron Clark redefines the word hero!!!

    Ron Clark is everything a teacher today needs to be, and more!!! Choosing to take the more difficult path and work in a tough, urban district he made magic happen with his students. My favorite part about Clark and this book is that it reminds us teachers that there are three components to learning: knowledge, skills, and values. Too often teachers become overwhelmed with preparing their students for the state exams at the end of the year that they forget the key ingredient of classroom success - good citizenship. As teachers, it is not our job to simply fill our students' minds with as much information as possible. It is our job to prepare them for the next stage of life, both academically and emotionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    He is a teacher.

    Person that said Ron Clark should still be teaching you should look up something more if you want to comment on it. 1)He is still teaching, teaching kids and adults alike. 2) He's building a school that opens this year. Thank you very much. Now, onto the book: This book is very informative for both parents and teachers, and as I am both, the book helped in more ways than one. I suggest you read all of his books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Clark redefines the word hero!!!

    Ron Clark is everything a teacher today needs to be, and more!!! Choosing to take the more difficult path and work in a tough, urban district he made magic happen with his students. My favorite part about Clark and this book is that it reminds us teachers that there are three components to learning: knowledge, skills, and values. Too often teachers become overwhelmed with preparing their students for the state exams at the end of the year that they forget the key ingredient of classroom success - good citizenship. As teachers, it is not our job to simply fill our students' minds with as much information as possible. It is our job to prepare them for the next stage of life, both academically and emotionally.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    An Essential for Everyone

    I was recently recommended this book by a teacher friend hoping to prepare me for my first year of teaching. It did. This book is easy to read and contains many interesting stories. The rules are explained in short chapters making it a book you can read for a few minutes and pick up again later with out losing your place or train of thought. Everyone should read this book, not just teachers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    A REAL TEACHER

    If Ron cared so much about children, he would still be in the classroom teaching... Teaching isn't a one, five or ten year deal...it is an every year deal. If you looked at Ron and his rules, they are absurd.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Awesome book for anyone involved with children

    I am in training to be a teacher when I was recommended this book by a co-worker. I fell in love with it instantly. It is very easy to read and most of it can be applied right away. A must read for anyone who deals with children on a regular basis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    This is a simplistic, but powerful guidebook that should be part of the essential library of teachers, student teachers, other educators, and to a lesser degree parents. Mr. Clark explains each one of his rules in a practical way so that they can easily be adapted. Examples add to the overall understanding. Most interesting is that Mr. Clark never loses sight of the goal of teaching: preparing young people to succeed in life by knowing how to interact with others. Though one would think it obvious, try going into a classroom where no one wants to be there for learning; only for socializing or heat in winter. THE ESSENTIAL 55: AN AWARD-WINNING EDUCATOR'S RULES FOR DISCOVERING THE SUCCESSFUL STUDENT IN EVERY CHILD lives up to its title and should be standard fare in every school and part of the criteria of the education major because of its practical nature. Perhaps rule 56 is if you are the new teacher on the block, you will be stuck on the top floor of a six or seven story building with the textbooks in the basement ¿ whoever owns the elevator is your best friend on that first day.<P> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Sucks

    I wish there were lower than 1 star

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4