Customer Reviews for

The Essential 55: An Award-Winning Educator's Rules for Discovering the Successful Student in Every Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read For Every Teacher!

I finshed the book in one sitting. All of Ron's rules are excellent and can be adapted for any classroom. This man is amazing. We need more teachers like him.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Save yourself the time

I was very disappointed in Ron Clark's book. I had a vision on him and his teaching style built up before reading the book, as I have heard so many great things about his work with students. But I was highly disappointed by the book. There was nothing new or novice ab...
I was very disappointed in Ron Clark's book. I had a vision on him and his teaching style built up before reading the book, as I have heard so many great things about his work with students. But I was highly disappointed by the book. There was nothing new or novice about his '55' rules. I was expecting more of an insight into his apparently 'fabulous' way of teaching, but was sorely mistaken about the book's purpose. He basically reviewed his and my southern upbringing, and how to teach that to all kids. Please do not waste your time here, unless you are looking for about two or three cute little quips about being a teacher. Not worth the effort to read it.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Kezia joy

    Great book for manners

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    SETH TO MEG

    GOT LOCKED OUT MABE ULL SEE THIIF IM LUCKYS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Someone posted: If Ron cared so much about children, he would st

    Someone posted: If Ron cared so much about children, he would still be in the classroom teaching... Teaching isn't a one, five or ten year deal...it is an every year deal. If you looked at Ron and his rules, they are absurd.

    Please know that this is farthest from the truth. After going to the Ron Clark Academy in May of 2012 I can tell you for a fact that Ron not only runs a school, but he teaches full time. His school is truly remarkable and I love all the information in his books. He is an inspiring educator and makes me want to be a better one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Really good book on education rules that help discover the succe

    Really good book on education rules that help discover the successful student in every child- it would be great to create a list like this. I think that I would re-write a list like this in order to build off of rules to become a successful teacher. It’s always great to read about different books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Interesting, new perspective...

    This book is full of lessons which are related to manners more than academics. For instance, the first lesson is "when responding to any adult, you must answer by saying "Yes ma'am or No sir". The author also explains why this lesson is considered important, or how his students succeded after learning it. I believe it's a good tool for teachers who are looking for something different and practical. It's easy to read. However, i must highlight the fact that these are not rules related to school in acadademic terms, but to life and manners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Really good ideas to think about and implement!

    Our principal required all teachers in our school to read and report on. I can see why she chose this book. Had some really good ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    It was awsomme

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    You've got to be kidding.

    What teacher in his/her right mind would promote 55 rules in a classroom situation. 55 rules? There is only one rule that matters in a classroom: respect one another. Model respect, expect it in others, and classroom culture will take care of itself. I hope I haven't violated one of the rules in writing this short piece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Essential 55: An Award Winning Educator's Rules for Discovering the Successful Student in Every Child

    No book I read or lessons I learned in college helped prepare me for what the classroom was going to be like. If I had this book back then, I know my first year would not have been so difficult. I have now learned many of the things Mr. Clark writes of, but the way he looks at situations and the creative advice he has for dealing with students is priceless. He basically lists his 55 rules and then he explains why each one is important, how to teach it to kids and he offers great stories of his time in the classroom to go along with most rules. It was a quick read and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I have been in the classroom 5 years, but this coming year I will be taking a new perspective...and 55 essentials...along with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Every Teacher Needs to Read This!

    I bought this before the new school year last year and was so excited about it that my principal asked me to the inspriation for our back to school staff meeting. It affected everyone on my staff! Clark gives excellent rules from which you can pick and choose from, also making them your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    We need more teachers like Ron Clark

    Great Book! This should be required reading for every student teacher. Though it may seem Mr. Clark is obsessive compulsive, he brings humor, sensitivity and boundaries to students that really need it. In 12 years of teaching I've always tried to not only teach my subject matter, but also to have my students leave my classroom as better people. This book brings back simple values and social grace that many students lack. Mr. Clark's examples may seem harsh at times, but if you taught in his school I'm sure you would see that his lessons are delivered with sensitivity and respect and that his kids deeply care about and respect him in return. Instead of complaining about 'Kids these days' Mr. Clark is doing something about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    JUP- a dedicated educator for 20 years

    I stumbled onto this book in the public library--while stir crazy and out of school sick with the flu. I laughed, I cried, I missed 'my' kids'. I do not profess to have anywhere near Mr. Clarks talent with children, but I wholeheartedly agree with him and try to practice what he preaches. Bottom line--treat those kids with respect and you'll get it right back! If you live by this standard in your teaching --you'll get comments like 'yours was the best class I ever had' 'You make learning fun' 'Please don't make us go to second hour'. These are all the riches a truly dedicated teacher needs.Eat your hearts out Bill Gates and Donald Trump! I'm buying this book for all of my friends. The only disappoint for me??? Ron Clark, get back into your classroom ! The kids are waiting!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Too much ego, not enough pragmatism

    Clark regales the reader w/stories of his students while ignoring the fact that many of the rules are difficult to impose & many apply to his personal teaching style only (e.g. No Doritos in class). He demonstrates how to enforce the honesty rule (one of his strictest) by lying to his students. Some of his actions would normally call for immediate dismissal show that by reading between the lines, he was not the stellar teacher in his early years that he would have people believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    RULES FOR LIFE

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book to any and every teacher or person who works with children! I LOVED this book! I loved it so much I read it in one sitting! I am a student teacher and am hungry for advice from experienced teachers on how to not only be a successful teacher in terms of academics but also to be successful in preparing kids for life in the 'real' world. Ron Clark's techniques, although 'exhausting,' as one reviewer commented, are not meant to be easy. Teaching is not easy. Shaping lives is not easy. But it is EASIER when you find the most effective ways to do it (anything worth doing usually requires the most effort). I wish Ron Clark's book would have been required reading in my teacher preparation program to help me and other pre-service and new teachers realize effective ways of making valuable and lasting connections with students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Essential 55: An Award Winning Educator's Rules for Discovering the Successful Student in Every Child

    Thank you to Mr. Clark for providing a list of rules that work, and for understanding that his rules aren't for everyone. I took his advice and used 20 of his rules and added 5 of my own, making a list that works for me. I don't see how Mr. Clark used all 55, because it is work sticking to these rules, but I have noticed a HUGE change in my students and it is obvious being more specific with rules really works with kids who have trouble with behavior. I have no intentions on stretching my list to 55, but I can see where Mr. Clark probably had great success with his students when he was able to implement all of the rules and expectations. This is an outstanding book for all teachers, and EVERY first year teacher needs to read the sections on dealing with parents and setting up a discipline plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    EXCEPTIONAL!!!

    This was a very enjoyable and useful book for me to read. I am a stay-at-home mom who is constantly looking for things to help me be a better parent, and this book hit the spot. It, more than anything else I have read, gave me tips on how to help my two boys become better students and young men. I only wish my boys' teachers would bring as much energy and compassion into the classroom as did Mr. Clark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Not for Beginners

    I am a brand new teacher who tried to implement these rules in my classroom and found them to be exhausting! With all that I need to be learning, it's too much to work in these rules to my classroom management. More power to everyone who is successful with this method!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Great Book

    I would like to thank Ron Clark for writing this book. As a teacher of young children, I am constantly looking for great books that will help me improve my craft. Mr. Clark has written this book as a guide to help the educator teach character skills and manners. 'The Essential 55' reminds me of 'The Child Whisperer' by Matt Pasquinilli. Pasquinilli gives simple tools to use to improve communication between adults and children, and at the same time teaches the adult how to develop character skills and manners in children. Ron Clark teaches us how to frame this 'basic etiquette' for children in a way that they can understand and apply quickly. I put 'The Essential 55' and 'The Child Whisperer' on the reading list for our PTO group this Fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Essential 55: An Award Winning Educator's Rules for Discovering the Successful Student in Every Child

    First of all, this is not an easy book to find. I had to go to 3 book stores before I found a copy, and after so much work I was hoping I wouldn't be disappointed. I am glad to say that not only was I not disappointed, but I was both moved and inspired by the author's devotion to his students and his strategies for getting the most out of all children. The 'essential 55' that Mr. Clark writes about are his 'rules' for his students. They aren't really rules though, they are more-less expectations he has of all people. He used these expectations when he taught in South Carolina and in New York City, and his studnets who weren't motivated or on grade level previously turned themselves around and scored very high on tests and gained much in the way of pride and self-esteem. Mr. Clark points out that his philosophy of life and of teaching is to make special moments in the lives of others and to truly make a differnce. There are touching moments that give examples of the impact Mr. Clark made on his studnets, but there are also funny stories that keep the book light and enjoyable. This is a great book for teachers, as Mr. Clark gives a lot of advice on how to deal with students (especially those who tend to be hard to reach) but it is also good for parents who can use the 55 essentials as a guide for raising their kids with self respect and manners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    I met him

    Yes, I did meet Ron Clark. And he is an AMAZING speaker! I am only 13 and I wish that Ron Clark was MY teacher! I was in FCCLA, Family, Career, and Community, Leaders, of America. And he spoke in Pennsylvania. He is amazing and has the best stories. He touches little people in life. And I know everyone will love him and his book! READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4