Customer Reviews for

The Essential Bob Dylan

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dylan has been here forever, where was I?

    The book Chronicles spured my renewed interest in Dylan as a serious artist. I listened to "Essential Bob Dylan" while reading "Chronicles, Vol I". Now I study Dylan. Once you find him you just cant let go. I hear him completely differently then I did in the 60's. It's like I had to muture to appreciate his music and now there's no artist better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bob is the "boss"

    This is a very good collection of some of the masters songs. The only fault, if any, must be that more songs could be added. If anybody deserve to be called the boss, Bob is the man. Sorry Bruce, everybody get small compared with Dylan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite Dylan songs packed into one

    This double disc feature of Bob dylan is a great masterpiece. I can listen to this from when i wake up to the afternoon, even to when i am about to go to sleep. This brings back the classics and remasters them completely. Each song is in the perfect order and i could listen to each song and fell comfortable with not changing any of the songs or skipping any. Bob dylan is one of my favorite artists and for them to bring back his beautiful songs and poetry back to cd and remaster it is one of the best things they could do. The double disc feature is very impressive to give you even more bang for your buck, even though the cd maybe pricey for some, you might as well buy the greatest hits because this is my kinda cd. All i can tell you is thta this cd set is pure gold, dylan at his best and it will keep you thinking about poetry,life,and peace for a long time, i enjoyed this folk singer's lyrics and i still hope i can look forward to buying more cds of this artist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm buying it!

    I am a pretty young person and just found out who Bob Dylan is and I love his music. It's been said that when it comes down to great song writing The greats are Stephen Foster, Hank Williams (Sr. even though Jr.'s good Hank was the man), and Bob Dylan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Essential Album

    When I bought this, I thought this CD will be wack, But when I open this, Put CD 1 in my CD player, loads, and press play, I heard it calm and no interupt my listing. I heard two songs before I bought this album of bob dylan. So this is the essential album to put this in your Bob Dylan Section. (A must have)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great songs, but a very good compilation

    First of all, there is nothing wrong with the songs that are here. The ones that aren't is quite a different matter, however, and to me this collection is completely overshadowed by Dylan's two original Greatest Hits-albums (Greatest Hits from 1967, if I remember correctly, and Greatest Hits vol. II from 1971). If you are relatively new to Bob Dylan, go get those two phenomenal collections instead. Sure, they don't have his later material, but neither does this album. Not the best of it, anyway. And once you've decided if Dylan is your thing, go on to "Blood On The Tracks", "Live 1975" and maybe "Desire". Leave this good-but-not-great record company cash-in alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Fabulous

    I haven't listened to Dylan in years. This was one of the greatest compilations an album could accomplish. All the great songs are here. If I could tell you all one thing it would be to BUY THIS ALBUM!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ESSENTIALLY MARVY!!!

    THIS COLLECTION OF DYLAN SONGS IS A CHRONOLOGY OF HIS CAREER. HIS EARLY TUNES LIKE ''BLOWIN' IN THE WIND'', TO HIS MIDWAY CAREER TUNES LIKE ''LAY LADY LAY'', TO HIS LATER CAREER TUNES LIKE ''THINGS HAVE CHANGED'',[WHICH HE RECENTLY WON AN OSCAR FOR], SOUNDS GREAT IN THIS 'REMASTERED' COLLECTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TWO WORDS- BOB DYLAN

    This is a great CD. If you are a Bob Dylan fan you must have this one too. The man and his music is nothing short of genues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Some of the greatest music the world has ever seen!!

    This is one of the best albums from one of the best astists of all time.I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this album set, it really captured the musical career of Bob Dylan. There are a few songs from all of the different styles of Dylan. There were some songs with just him, his guitar and his harmonica, as well as with his Band. There were some of his protest songs and just plain fun songs. I loved it. I do admit that there are a few ''essential'' songs that didn't make the final cut, but then again he has too many hits to be put on just 2 discs. Save the rest for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1