Customer Reviews for

The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The amazing Ms. Kagawa does it again!! My Opinion: This book has

The amazing Ms. Kagawa does it again!!
My Opinion: This book has reinforced what I thought after reading The Immortal Rules, and that is that Julie Kagawa is a Goddess!! I didn't think she could impress me any more than she already has, but she did! In The Eternity Cure...
The amazing Ms. Kagawa does it again!!
My Opinion: This book has reinforced what I thought after reading The Immortal Rules, and that is that Julie Kagawa is a Goddess!! I didn't think she could impress me any more than she already has, but she did! In The Eternity Cure we get to know Allie a lot better than we did before, especially since she's traveling by herself at the start of it, trying to find and rescue her maker, Kanin. We get to delve into her psyche, which is such an interesting place to go! Allie is not a black and white character but that's what makes reading about her so awesome. And speaking of awesome - Eternity has something no other book has, and that's Allie's blood brother, Jackal! I swear, I could read about Jackal from now til the end of time and never get bored with him! Yes, he's evil and selfish and just plain incorrigible, but in The Eternity Cure, we get to see a side to him that we haven't before - his loyalty to the maker that he hates with a passion, and his sister, Allie. I think Allie is the only one who could bring this out in him. They have such a complicated and emotional relationship, and it's a joy to read. Besides that, Jackal is just plain hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud at some of his comments and antics, which was a nice break from the desolation and violence of the world in which the Blood of Eden series is set. This second book is even more bleak with the introduction of the new strain of the Red Lung virus which is killing off humans and vampires alike. The personal relationships and the search for the cause of this new strain and a possible cure are woven together flawlessly so you don't feel like one aspect supersedes the other in importance. 




Speaking of personal relationships, I enjoyed Zeke so much more in this book because he has really grown up and come into his own since his father's death. He has had to toughen up and become harder to protect the people he loves, and this makes it much easier to relate to him. He is still fighting his attraction to Allie but the magnetic draw between the two of them is hard for him to ignore.




I felt like we got to know all of the major players so much better in this installment of the series, and that's what makes Julie Kagawa's books so great to read - you find yourself drawn into this absolutely foreign world and you don't want to leave when you've finished the book! Because the books are so well written, you fly through them, and The Eternity Cure is no exception. 




I'm giving this book a very enthusiastic 5 stars and recommend it to all lovers of young adult post-apoc/dystopian stories, vampire tales, and Julie Kagawa!! I can't wait to read the next book and will be first in line when it comes out :D

posted by jwitt33 on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Eternity Cure was a MAJOR need now book. I absolutely loved

The Eternity Cure was a MAJOR need now book. I absolutely loved the first book, The Immortal Rules, and you can read my review HERE. We start off with Allison looking for her sire, Kanin. Kanin is in major trouble, and is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic...
The Eternity Cure was a MAJOR need now book. I absolutely loved the first book, The Immortal Rules, and you can read my review HERE. We start off with Allison looking for her sire, Kanin. Kanin is in major trouble, and is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire, Sarren. She meets her blood brother Jackal on her way, and they agree to help each other searching for him with some certain terms they agreed to. Aside from that, I don't think much happened in this book. Yes, I was disappointed. Compared to the first book, I really think it stooped down low. It was still a good read overall, but my high expectations were certainly not met. Allison was a kick-butt protagonist, and I think Jackal really added humor to the book. What I didn't like was that I felt there was no major problem in the book. I actually thought Allison looking for Kanin was just a minor problem, but then it took up the whole book. There were also many parts that I felt were a bit unnecessary, and that the book would have been better if shortened. I also thought the characters were lacking. I just needed MORE characters you know? Like if another new character was added, I think that would have spiced things up a bit. The action was pretty good, and I loved when Zeke showed up in the book. I think the BEST part in the book for me was probably the ending. It was definitely heart-breaking and just utterly shocking. I really don't know what will happen in the third book, and all I can do is just wait.Overall, I think it was a pretty good book, it just didn't live up to my expectations. I'm definitely going into the third book with no expectations, and hopefully it'll be as good as the first. I really hope Julie Kagawa decides to spice things up a bit. Now, I would still recommend these books, because they're still pretty good. Also, I know a lot of people who really enjoyed this book, so it might just be me.  

posted by majibookshelf on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE ETERNITY CURE was a sequel I wasn't sure I would read too so

    THE ETERNITY CURE was a sequel I wasn't sure I would read too soon after the first book. I saw the book on Netgalley and like any other book addict couldn't resist to request it. It took me some time to finish THE IMMORTAL RULES and the second book was just as thick. As I had predicted the story was more on the slow side in the beginning. Allison Sekemoto is wandering around, searching for her sire Kanin. I felt like I was looking for something as well during that first third of the story and Allison's restlessness and her desire to make progress were passed on to me. When things finally started to get under way I noticed fast that THE ETERNITY CURE was a sequel that for once would bring the story forward and not just step on the same spot most of the time.

    Allison is joined by a familiar face known from THE IMMORTAL RULES, who appears as an unknown ally. Their constant quarreling adds a new zappiness and snark to our dismal journey through deserted planes and crumbling cities. But Allison isn't the only one searching for someone. Guess who else joins their group? A certain fair-haired boy with the warmest and kindest heart. Yes, Zeke! His and Allison's romantic feelings for each other are another puzzle they're trying to figure out on their way to finding a cure. I think I liked their moments and love story in THE ETERNITY CURE even better than in the first book, because a greater development becomes apparent.

    This books' title is its subject, too. Allison and her new ally - one that will certainly surprise and amuse you - are hunting psycho vampire Sarren who is holding Kanin hostage. They are also searching for a cure to the disastrous virus that's threating to destroy both humans and vampires. Theories and possible solutions are discussed and old abandoned labs explored. Julie's BLOOD OF EDEN series is the first series centering around a deadly virus that I actually felt drawn to.

    THE ETERNITY CURE promised hope, but is an even darker read than THE IMMORTAL RULES, full of atmosphere. It's a mix between dystopian and horror, vampires and zombies (just thinking about the manic rabids makes me shudder). This is probably no book for a queasy stomach and there will be a lot of fighting. It contains various descriptive scenes of macabre, violent and pretty bloody nature.


    4/5 **** THE ETERNITY CURE – A vampire world with the most chilling and delicious post-apocalyptic feel about it!

    Allison isn't new to the vamp business anymore. As she gains more experience and strength, she as a character very much grew on me, too. With an honorable goal in mind Allison is embarking on a gripping and, most important, life-saving quest that will lead readers through many states of emotions, varying from bright hope to deepest despair. Be warned, this book ends with a mean cliffhanger!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    After reading Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey series, I knew I had to re

    After reading Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey series, I knew I had to read her new book The Immortal Rules. I loved the concept behind it- a society where vampires were in charge and humans were nothing more than meals, who had to be 'registered' in order to walk around freely. Those unregistered would be forced to live on the fringes of society, barely scraping by to find food, as well as staying hidden to avoid detection. I really enjoyed the freshness of The Immortal Rules, which follows Allison (Allie) Sekemoto, who goes from living on the fringe with her rag-tag friends, to being on death's doorstep, only to be saved and turned into a vampire. However, even after being trained by her sire, Kanin, Allie cannot let her humanity go so easily. She meets up with a group of humans on the run, searching for a place called Eden, where humans are still in control. Amongst this group, we meet Zeke, who Allie can't help falling for, knowing that it is wrong, and that he would turn against her if he found out the truth about her real nature.


    The Eternity Cure picks up not too long after the Immortal Rules ended. Allie is on her own again, determined to rescue Kanin, who has been taken hostage by Sarren, another master vampire, who hates Kanin.


    I think what I like most about Allie is her fierce determination. She refuses to give up, no matter how bleak things may seem and remains steadfast in her beliefs throughout the novel.


    I will be honest, this book did take some getting in to. I struggled through Part I, as it was giving us alot of backstory to what was going on, and Allie was alone for most of it. However, once I hit Part II, things really picked up and then the rest of the story was a blur, I read through it so fast.


    Allie forms an uneasy alliance with Jackal, the Raider King of Old Chicago, who was bent on killing Allie in the first book. After some surprising revelations are brought to light, the two head toward New Covington to find Kanin. However, the two will need to speak with the Prince of the city, and the only way to do that, is by venturing through the sewers, where mole men and fringers are seeking refuge. As in the summary, there is a new strain of the Red Lung virus that has been unleashed on humanity, which makes traveling through the city quite tricky. Allie and Jackal need a new way to reach the Inner Circle. They find a young fringer who brings them to his new leader, who happens to be a very familiar face.


    I obviously do not want to give anything away or reveal any spoilers, so let me conclude my review with this: The Eternity Cure ended up being exactly what I was waiting so desperately for, and after waiting a month to be approved by Harlequin, it was definitely everything I could ever want in a book. After Part 1, the book's pacing is fast, the action is non-stop, and it will leave you breathless, wanting to know what happens next!


    *Thank you to Harlequin Teen for providing me with an advanced copy of this book for review. I received this book in return for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've decided that for the time being every subject Kagawa touch

    I've decided that for the time being every subject Kagawa touches turns to gold. I liked The Immortal Rules, even though I thought I was done with vampires. This one makes it evident that even a tired subject matter can be given new life and then sustain it.

    Allison may be a vampire, but she is trying desperately to hold on to her humanity. She leaves Zeke because she wants him to have a normal life. She make a bargain with Jackal because she knows she needs him if she ever hopes to find Kanin and defeat Sarren. She never stops to think about the fact that her behavior is not typical for a vampire. Her life is so tied up into others when that is one of the main things that Kanin told her to be wary of.

    I really do enjoy the relationship between Zeke and Allison. It's admirable how they have learned to forgive each other their faults and still find themselves in love with each other. Something that is hard for both of them to do (I think more so on Zeke's part). But, I found that Jackal completely enthralled me. He's got a wicked sense of humor and I never knew which way his loyalties truly lied. That twist alone gave the story a whole know level of enjoyment.

    I love it when an author doesn't shy away from the gruesome nature that comes with certain types of characters. Kagawa's vampires are what I think they should be. Add in the twisted nature of Sarren, and you have a completely sadistic vampire. We don't get detailed scenes thankfully, but we get the idea of what he is capable of.

    I loved this book! And with one hell of a cliffhanger, I will definitely be reading the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Good

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Leafkit

    Name- Leafkit. <br>
    Gender- shecat. <br>
    Age- about 3 moons. <br>
    Mate/Crush/Kits- none. <br>
    Looks- reddish brown fur with green eyes and brown underbelly. <br>
    Traits- shy and quiet until shes extremely used to you. Cold and hostile to who she doesnt like. <br>
    Kin- mom: Sandpelt. Dad: Oakpelt. Bros: Talonkit, Longkit and Crowkit. Sis's: Squirrelkit Mousekit and Thrushkit. <br>
    Theme song- tiptoe by imagine dragons. <br>
    Other- isnt on much especially mondays and fridays. <br>
    Anything else just ask at fallen leaves result one or two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Picking up shortly after The Immortal Rules leaves off, The Eter

    Picking up shortly after The Immortal Rules leaves off, The Eternity Cure started off a little slowly, but then quickly captured my attention.  Allie has left Eden and is searching for Kanin with Jackal.  I loved Jackal in this book.  He really stole the show, bringing in some much appreciated and enjoyed comic relief, balancing out the doom, gloom, and serious side.  Zeke is back and he pretty much won me over in this book.  He is not the same Zeke as in the first book.  He is harder, a leader, unafraid.  I liked Allie a lot in the book and she wound up being quite the heroine.  I also liked where Julie Kagawa took the relationship between Zeke and Allie - it started off strained, but progressed to a good place.  Kanin of course is in the book again, and I did like him.  Then you have the bad guy Sarran, and he is just pure evil.  I would like to see him have his head chopped off.  There is a new strain of virus raging, and there are secrets finally revealed behind the virus and the cure.  Again, I like Julie Kagawa's taken on vampires.  There is also quite a bit of action/fighting.  The ending is a cliffhanger and leaves you wanting the next book, but what happens before the ending is so heart-wrenching.  It really made me sad because it wasn't what I wanted to happen, but I am sure it will play a big part in what takes place next.  That is really all I can say without spoiling it.  Overall, The Eternity Cure was a good story and I look forward to seeing where Julie Kagawa takes the series from here.      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Ashstar's bio

    NAME: Ashstar - RANK: Leader - GENDER: FEMALE! - MATE: No - CRUSH: Not yet - KITS: No - APPEARANCE: Adark gray shecat. Has blue eyes with golden flecks. Strong, lithe build. - PERSONALITY: Sweet, couragous, smart - NICKNAMES: Ummm...i guess if you really wanted to you could call me Your Highness - POWERS: Do I look like I wear tights and fly around (also this is a no power clan) - THEME SONG: Mission Impossible...do do do do do do do do....oh forget it :) - OTHER: Nope, thanks for reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It has been four months since Allie left Eden and Zeke. She is n

    It has been four months since Allie left Eden and Zeke. She is now fully adjusted to being a vampire and has become more comfortable in her skin. She's more dangerous, harder-edged, but her humanity is still intact. Well, as intact as possible. As much a survivor as ever, she teams up with her untrustworthy blood-brother in her quest to rescue Kanin..

    The characters in this story are just so good. Even Jackal, murderous, untrustworthy bloodsucker that he is, is strangely entertaining. Sarren is the creepiest villain I have met in a long time and every word he says gives me shivers. If there is ever a movie, he should be played by Bill Nighy because he has the perfect voice for it. Zeke is so lovably loyal and self-sacrificing that I spent a lot of time cheering him on. My faint inclination for Kanin as a love interest faded the instant Allie was referred to as his 'daughter'. Oh well, I can still have a crush on him if I want. I'd read a whole book about Kanin.

    Story-wise, I didn't like The Eternity Cure as much as The Immortal Rules until the end. Oh. My. Gosh. That ending...how will I survive waiting for the next one? It was brilliant, but completely evil. This is a great sequel, and I have a feeling Book 3 will be magnificent.

    I received an e-copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Net Galley and Harlequin Teen for providing me w

    I want to thank Net Galley and Harlequin Teen for providing me with an eARC of this book. Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review. When I saw that it was being offered, I jumped at the chance to get a copy and I am so glad that I did. I really enjoyed the first book in this series.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.
    Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.




    So, I will be honest and say that I really do not like the cover to this book. I own the first book with the original cover and I hate how it's been changed. I dislike this cover so much that I will be asking a friend in the UK to purchase me a copy of the paperback (despite the fact that I always prefer hard cover when it's available) because then my covers will actually match.




    That being said, it was almost the only thing that I didn't like about this book.




    Allison is once again the main focus and narrator of this book. She continues to be strong. However, I was getting totally annoyed with her references to Zeke in the first few chapters. The fact that she misses him and feels terrible that she is not with him was obvious from her being torn in the first book when she left him. But, she references this at least once in every chapter in the first few chapters and it was totally annoying me. But I still enjoyed her voice and how she told her story. She is very authentic. I love how she picks things apart and is smart about how she approaches situation. She has a good sense of self-preservation, as well as a sense of how to protect others. Best of all, it's great to watch Allison battle with herself to keep her humanity as she tries to keep control of her vampire side, but cannot always do so.




    It was nice to see that this book was not a filler, as many second books in a trilogy tend to be. Usually they are just a bridge to get the characters from the first book to the last. Not so with this book. This book has a story unto itself and one that is totally in line with where the plot line is going. This book delved more into the world building that was started in the first book. We get to see the inner workings of a vampire city and a deeper understanding of many of the secondary characters. I loved watching the secondary characters reveal more and more of themselves. We also seen the return of characters that we met in the first book (tho I won't say who because I don't want to spoil anything).




    As with the first book, Julie's writing is really great. I love her descriptions. I can feel the emotions of her characters as they progress and I can totally picture their surroundings as they make their way through the story. The action scenes are intense and really kept me on the edge of my seat. Each chapter kept me wanting more and I found it hard to find a good place to put the book down because I was wanting to see where the story was headed. And Ms. Kagawa definitely gives us a few oooo, ahhh, and OMGosh moments in this book! Julie throws you right into the thick of things from the beginning and drags your heart through the book (view spoiler). But the path to getting there is nothing more than spectacular and I wouldn't have it any other way. And, if you think you won't be surprised, breathless and left dangling, you are dead wrong. Yup, there's a cliffy at the end of this incredible book, but it's worth getting there!




    This book took me on an emotional roller coaster ride that was worth ever word put to it's pages. So, why the 4 stars, you ask? The repetitive stuff in the first few chapters of the book got on my nerves. While I loved the story, the characters and where it went, I could not get over this little issue. And I just didn't feel exactly the same pull through this book as I did with the first, tho it was close. I can't wait to see where Kagawa takes us in the final installment.




    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Definately worth to read

    I reaaaalllyyy enjoyed this book. Its really good i hope the next book of this trilogy comes outbquickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Love this book . Not patient ready for the next one

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Book 2

    The book is good but the ending is annoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog THE

    ~Reviewed by ANN &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    THE ETERNITY CURE is fast-paced and cutting. Kagawa doesn't take sympathy on her readers. ~ Under the Covers

    THE ETERNITY CURE is book two in the Blood of Eden series and it is much more darker and desolate than the first book. It hits hard and there are plenty of twists and surprises in store for our dear readers. Get ready for a ride!

    One of the immediate things that popped into my mind while this book was that it had an Urban Fantasy feel to it, especially in terms to Allison's character. Things have changed for her drastically since the beginning of the first book. She is a vampire and carrying her katana, she very much as the feel of a UF heroine - strong, smart and lethal. In THE ETERNITY CURE, Allison must rescue her creator, Kanin from a crazy vampire named Sarren.

    Fast-paced and cutting, Kagawa doesn't take sympathy on her readers. She takes them on a ride that they will never forget. With writing that creates lush imagery and aptly sets the tone of the book, readers will definitely have an emotional connection to this book if they haven't already with the first in the series.

    Death and decay is a thread that pulls this series forward and the Red Lung virus is the latest threat that Allison must face. One of the things I love (and sometimes hate because it makes me cringe) is the detailed descriptions that Kagawa does. She spares nothing and the result is a very vivid, and sometimes crushing imagery for her readers.

    I definitely liked this book more than the first. I've heard others say that this is the best vampire series out there right now in YA. I think I would have to agree. What Kagawa does with this series is wholly her own and she dares you not to have a reaction to the events of her book. Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent would enjoy.

    *ARC provided by Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    The Eternity Cure is the second book in Julie Kagawa¿s Blood of

    The Eternity Cure is the second book in Julie Kagawa’s Blood of Eden series. Four months after we left off in Immortal Rules, Allie is still looking for her sire, Kanin. She can feel the pull, and the dreams she has are real, as she sees him being tortured by the psycho vampire, Sarren, who is the major villain here. Along the way following the trail that she hopes will lead her to Kanin, she comes across her blood brother, Jackal, whom she would like nothing better then to kill him. Jackal was one of the bad guys in Immortal Rules, and though he is still not to be trusted, not to mention dangerous; his character added much humor to the story, and strangely, you end up liking him somewhat.

    They both agree to help each other in finding Kanin, as Sarren is a master vampire beyond redemption. They also want to find the cure to the virus that is killing humans, and vampires. Allie as usual, is a tough kickass heroine, and in this book, she accepts more of what she is…a dangerous vampire. I loved when Zeke showed up, and the love between the two of them is very much apparent, even with the knowledge that this is an unlikely romance between a human and a vampire. I liked Zeke in the first book, but loved him even more in this one. His love for Allie was real, and he would do anything to protect her. Allie loved Zeke too, but she worried about the monster inside her, if uncontrolled, would hurt him. But aside from that, it really is a nice romance.


    Make no mistake, this is a dark and at times very tense story, with the virus, the victims insanity and killing, and the torture from the bad villains. But it is an exciting story, though a bit slow early on while Allie was traveling trying to find Kanin. One of the great things of Kawaga’s writing are the characters she creates; loved Allie &amp; Zeke, even if it seems like an ill fated romance; Jackal, the bad boy who in this book you either laughed with him or wanted to kill him; Kanin, who was more like the sire/father figure that Allie could trust &amp; depend on; Sarren, one of the worst villains, and total wacko; Salazar, another villain, and Stick, her former nerd friend. The ending was a slambang of an ending, that tore your heart apart, and yet things were left open for the next book. I can’t wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        It took me a bit to really get into this book, but once I di

        It took me a bit to really get into this book, but once I did, I enjoyed it a lot. I couldn't remember a lot from the first besides I loved the world, Allie was a kick butt heroine that I really admired because she fought to keep her humanity and I swooned over Zeke and the forbidden love between the two. Luckily for me, all of these things are present in the 2nd book, but it isn't until about 1/3-1/2 way through that I really felt these things again. 
        There is plenty of action, some new characters as well as appearances from the first book. There are unlikely alliances, high stakes, and hard obstacles that Allie has to face in order to find her mentor and sire and try to figure out a way to cure the red lung that now can effect vampires. 
        There was a lot of action in this one, but I just felt like something was missing. And I think it was real and true development on Allie's part. We see her back and forth over decisions about Zeke, and I understand. This part I love because she doesn't want to hurt him and knows full well how easy it is to lose control. But in regards to another character who shows up. I just feel like there was jumping around in plot timing and it would have done well to at least develop some of the time in between. To go from hating to trusting to wondering if he really will stab you in the back, we have to see proof of that. And while I enjoyed their banter and thought it hinted at the realistic relationship the characters have, I think that much more could have been shown about both Allie's character and giving her room to grow and to get to know the other character. More about their motives, and the whys and whats. 
         And oh the ending, it had been wanting to cry, throw things, and beg Julie for the next book--now. Or tomorrow. But def not having to wait another year which is what I am guessing will really happen. I mean, I suppose the main plot of this book was tied up, but man, I just shouldn't have read the last chapter or something because it left me hanging. But it also gave me hope. Because without that last chapter I think I would have been as desperate and heart broken as Allie. But I suppose it is sometimes the advantage of being a reader, that you know something that the main character doesn't and it helps you hold on. 




    Bottom Line: Good 2nd book but didn't blow me away like the first. Bit of sophomore slump?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    **4.5 Stars** MY OVERVIEW: OMG! OMG! OMG! Julie Kagawa, you nev

    **4.5 Stars**

    MY OVERVIEW: OMG! OMG! OMG! Julie Kagawa, you never disappoint. The range of emotions she pulls from the reader is fantastic. I started crying when I read the first sentence of Chapter 19. Then later at the end, I just became numb. 

    PROS: As in the last book, Allie is great. She is constantly at war with her inner demons and it is written so beautifully. Of course… you can’t forget about Zeke. He is the perfect guy, but does still have his faults. 

    CONS: The last line of the book was sooo not a surprise. You really did see it coming. I didn’t like the route Stick’s character took. It just didn’t seem quite right for him. 

    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: Next book please… Wait, it isn’t even announced??? How long do I have to wait?!?!?!? Arg!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1