Customer Reviews for

The Evelyn Wood Seven-Day Speed Reading and Learning Program

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC BOOK

This book is great. If you stick with it you will soon be reading much, much faster. The book also outines a methodology for students to use when studying. I bought this book to assist me with the reading required in grad school. Within the first 5 weeks o...
This book is great. If you stick with it you will soon be reading much, much faster. The book also outines a methodology for students to use when studying. I bought this book to assist me with the reading required in grad school. Within the first 5 weeks of the semester I had read ever book, article etc required on the syllabi. Imagine my classmates dismay as I was able to quote/ reference material we were not scheduled to cover until the last part of the semester. The book is worth it for that alone for every student that is competing with others on a curve. And as the book teaches you will have really been through the material five times by the time you have 'read' something. Have found it to be better for non-fiction and technical, business related material. It takes some of the joy out of a good fiction read. Highly recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time

The book increased my reading, but the improvement was insignificant. Anyone can increase by concentrating. Also, the book cites many students who improved, but these students had taken an Evelyn Wood course and spent a month in it before seeing the promised results. Th...
The book increased my reading, but the improvement was insignificant. Anyone can increase by concentrating. Also, the book cites many students who improved, but these students had taken an Evelyn Wood course and spent a month in it before seeing the promised results. The note taking portion was confusing and without an instructor you don't know if you are doing it correctly. You won't see great improvement in 7 days.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    FANTASTIC BOOK

    This book is great. If you stick with it you will soon be reading much, much faster. The book also outines a methodology for students to use when studying. I bought this book to assist me with the reading required in grad school. Within the first 5 weeks of the semester I had read ever book, article etc required on the syllabi. Imagine my classmates dismay as I was able to quote/ reference material we were not scheduled to cover until the last part of the semester. The book is worth it for that alone for every student that is competing with others on a curve. And as the book teaches you will have really been through the material five times by the time you have 'read' something. Have found it to be better for non-fiction and technical, business related material. It takes some of the joy out of a good fiction read. Highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    A classic with some good tips

    Many have recommended this book to me, and I have to admit that I was hesitant to get it. It sounded too good to be true to me. Ok, so I read this book in an hour. It was easy to speed-read. Unfortunately, most books are not. I consider myself a fairly fast reader, so some of the tips and tricks I found very interesting. But for me, mostly it was just the fact that people exist that can really do this was what fascinated me. I could not believe that there were Presidents of the USA, and prominent CEO¿s, important professors and politicians who can read and digest so much information so fast. I think it mostly comes down to necessity, desire, and confidence (or maybe arrogance). A person can pick up a book and get the `gist¿ of it in a few minutes if they feel that they don¿t really want to `waste¿ the time reading it word for word. Some of the books I did tend to skim sections of, so these tips were helpful in those circumstances. And as I start grad school, I imagine that I will have the necessity to speed-read a LOT of materials in the future. So this book inspired me to practice speed-reading more, and to try to really make new habits. There are four tips that really stuck in my mind: (1) Be OK with reading out of order ¿ blocks of words (2) Trust your eyes ¿ don¿t `hear¿ the words in your mind (practice by only reading out loud key words) (3) Learn to read vertically ¿ even get words in periphery (4) Understand the `gestalt¿ of what you read ¿ the gist. But I still enjoy reading a big, long, engrossing book and totally losing myself in it, which is something speed-reading does not seem to allow

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Don't waste your time

    The book increased my reading, but the improvement was insignificant. Anyone can increase by concentrating. Also, the book cites many students who improved, but these students had taken an Evelyn Wood course and spent a month in it before seeing the promised results. The note taking portion was confusing and without an instructor you don't know if you are doing it correctly. You won't see great improvement in 7 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Amazing

    This should be a mandatory read for "High School" kids.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    pretty cool stuff

    this book has really tought me to read faster,and to understand what im reading

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    An interesting read...

    This book was great! All of the techniques were fascinating to learn about and I can't wait to apply them. This book will help those who want to improve their reading speed, take better notes, and also retain more information. I have so far doubled my reading speed after 3 days (from 250 to 500) and I can't wait to progress on and watch my grades soar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    really consider this book

    Wow, this book really is good! I used to read at about 300 words per minut and in 2 days (I only read the book while on the bus to school) I could read 669 wpm. I calculated it using the formula given in the book. That is good but i'm shooting for the 1500 wpm it says I can achieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    alright book

    The book was good, but it wasn't as great as I would have imagined it to be. I, however, did increase from a reading speed of 200 wpm to 450 wpm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    I Love It

    It Was a Great Book To Read. I Easily tripled my reading speed overnight. I have always been a slow reader. I would recomend it to anyone who loves to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    A must for any college student!

    The Evelyn Wood 7-day learning program will help anyone who wants to improve their reading speed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    Improve Your Reading Speed

    I am actually reading this book as of now, and I have already improved my reading fromthe average 200 words-per-minute to an improvement of 600-words-per minute. With the simple techniques this book supplies, you will easily increase your reading speed. Not only does this book teach you how to increase ypur reading speed, but it tells you how to improve your comprehension, sharpen your concentration, help you meet deadlines at ease, and take good notes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Should be in high school curriculum!

    This book will help you read almost twice as fast within the first 50 pages! Its excellent, they give you a reading test, tell you how to time yourself, and then they give you another after teaching you a technique. My reading speed was more than doubled so I would highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    Not Bad

    I am in 11th grade. This book was not bad, I increased my reading speed. If you don't inrease your speeding read at least you'll get an idea about speed reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    Helpful with note taking

    The Evelyn Wood Book and course is a very different and at the same time good book. I found the book to be helpful in some areas and not in others. For people who want to learn a better way of studying and help them read at a faster rate and read for more comphension it is a great book to read. Those of us who wanted to read at unbelievable rates, I do not feel that this book is for that purpose. The parts of the book that I feel where the most helpful were the hints to writing short papers, the studying hints and the recall patterns. The hints for writing small papers were very helpful. I at times followed them and was not stressing out doing a paper. One of the parts that helped me a lot was the hints for studying for finals. I used these methods during the fall semester finals and did really well. I feel that the reason I did so well is because I started to study a few days before and followed my regular routine, as the book says to do. The part of the book that I really thought was the most helpful and I got the most use out of was the recall patterns shown in the book. I used the slash recall pattern for my history class lectures to organize my notes. That method of taking notes worked really well for me. I am a visual learner and by having all of my notes on one or two pages and in color I was able to see it and remember the color and the position on the page during my test. The parts of the book that I found not really helpful for me were all of the amazing stories that I did not find real at all or to far fetched to make believe that I could read that fast. The book really helped in some ways with the recall patterns the short paper hints and the study habits have really helped me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    This book helped me a little

    This book gave some good reading techniques such as not regressing. Regressing is reading over the same sentence more than once or looking back. It also told you not to read and hear the words in your head, but it didn't suggest any techniques. It gave you motions on how you should drag your finger across the page. The material in the book was very boring even corny. If you want to improve your reading skills use the Speed Reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    Dvorak's Muse on Evelyn Wood's Program

    This book made me quite skeptical at first. It made claims of reading speeds in excess of two and three thousand words per minute. After finding out that these speed are only attainable after the overview technique I regained confidence in the book. It contains valuable advice and information on the use of techniques contained within its¿ covers. The skills an individual can expect to develop from this book are; faster, more efficient reading, higher comprehension and retention, better note taking, and better preparation for deadlines. These skills are essential for any student and individual in a professional occupation. Based on the benefits I have received, I would recommend this book not only to anyone wishing to improve these skills, but also to any educational curriculum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Accelerate your reading rate

    This book is wonderful. It has helped me to double my reading rate and increase my overall comprehension. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read at a more efficent level or just needs some help studying for test or writing papers. This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Note taking and faster reading

    This book will help you improve your reading speed if you are slow to average reader now. A fast reader may see little improvement. The note taking tips would be handy for any student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    This book is amazing

    This is a great book. It's a book about reading books. If you don't know how to read, don't read this book on reading books, because it won't help much. I know. I've tried it and it didn't help me to read very much. See ya.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Most helpful tool I've encountered

    I reade this book 6 months ago and read it over and over since. Barnes and Noble claims it will double your speed; I tripled mine already. I read this in one night and finished it. I read it next morning using the skills I learned and knocked it out in less than 45 minutes. It's a great book, a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2