Customer Reviews for

The Evolution of Robin Thicke

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    I cant stop listening to it.. he's a fresh sound, and takes you to a different place. I lOVE every song. I'm so excited for this cd and cant waite for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUSIC TO MY EARS

    I received his cd for christmas, . After listening to the cd, i went out and pruchased it. This cd is so good i had to give him his credit. You go boy! it's been a long time, that i've bought a cd and got my money's worth. The evolution of robin thicke is a great listen from begining to end. This cd brought me back to toni braxton's first album. R.T. Keep them coming. Please...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I can't get enough.

    This is a cd you can listen to over and over again. I made my children listen to "2 the sky", the lyrics, the musical arrangement, I love that song. I recommend this cd to anyone who likes substance rather than fluff. Great work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grammy Award Winning

    When i first heard this cd (i listen befroe i buy because to many times i have brought cds and thought that they would be good, but they ended up being crap---LaToya's cd is a good example)i did not know what to expect, boy if i was not in for a suprise--this cd left my speechless, in love and i developed a crush on robin thicke---everything about this cd is WONDERFUL!!!---yes, some of the tracks on his cd seem to not fit into the whole laid back soft soulful vibe of this masterpiece called The Evolution of Robin Thicke, like his songs with Lil Wayne---but who cares they are all amazing----i recommend this cd to anyone who loves music and my favorite track on the cd is all of them, but i find myself playing "I need love" and "2 the sky" over and over---this man's cd is crazy, wonderful and he deserves more respect than he is getting----forget Justin Timberlake---his cd cannot touch Robin's, they are on 2 whole different levels---in this cd Robin is soulful compared to J.T.'s pitful pop---Robin needs to "teach him a lesson" on how to create a powerful cd and how to sing better, with his heart---buy this cd, because you will not be disappointed---but warning, you well become like me and become completely addicted to it (i will not leave the house without it and i have had it for more than a month and I am very much still in LOVE!!!!)--this is the best cd of 2007

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Go to another label

    This album is smooth and sensual, you have not received the much needed recognition that you deserve!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't Stop Listening

    Ok so I bought Thicke's debut album and it was amazing. I thought, "he has an amazing future ahead of him." Now I have Robin Thicke's The Evolution of Robin Thicke and I can't stop listening. Every song is just amazing. He's grown so much as an artist. He doesn't make over produced garbage. The man makes grown folks music. He knows his strengths. No he's not Johnny Gill, and he uses that to his advantage. His smooth voice is perfect for just listening or making love. He has it all on this album and it flows together so nicely. You have to pick this one up. You won't be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievable !

    I had not heard of Robin Thicke until several weeks ago when both my teen daughter and I watched his "Lost Without You" video. We looked at each other with amazement over how soulful and beautiful his voice was. I ran out and bought his cd, and I have not been disappointed. In fact, this is the best cd I have purchased in the past few years. There has not been a cd I've enjoyed as much as this one. This cd is excellent from start to finish. Robin is one of the most talented artist in the business. This is by far one of the best cds in 2006.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So talented

    This CD is off the hook. I got this CD 2 weeks ago and I've been listening to it everyday since. Every track on the album is good. I put all my friends up on Robin. Hopefully he will soon get the recognition he so deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robin Thicke can set the mood in this album.

    I came across his album and sample all of his songs through this site and I loved what I heard and decided to purchase it. After receiving it and hearing it numerously I say that this album is positively outstanding. Every track is incredible. Thicke's vocals are soulful, silky-smooth, rich and beautiful. The ballads (along with Thicke's vocals) are filled with so much emotion and tenderness. The up-tempo songs make you want to move or simply chill to. He emerges with "The Evolution of Robin Thicke," and gives soul fans something we can revel in. The disc opens with a duet between Robin and 'The First Lady' of R&B Faith Evans. "Got 2 Be Down" finds both artist in tune with each other and proves to be the highlight of the collaborations on the album. The disc presses on through the marvelous "Complicated," In this track the first minute is great and the lyrics are fantastic accompanying piano playing drive this tune. "Would That Make You Love Me?", "Lost Without You" and "Ask Myself" delivers soulful melodies each of these tracks are very smooth and beautiful I can’t get enough of them. His collaboration with Lil Wayne on "all Night Long" can be addictive with it’s beat the and rhymes. This track threw me off guard in the beginning not because it’s high tempo but it swerve me from vibe that I’ve been getting into. Robin quickly shift back gears by giving us the Latin tinged "Everything I Can't Have". He thought so far outside of the box on this track, and it worked so well! “Teach U A Lesson,” is a sexy number and the lyrics are great and naughty at the same time. I’m honestly in love with “I need Love” because Robin put together some great lyrics and the vocal melody in here is just as superior. “Wanna Love U girl” with Pharrell was the first song that I heard from him on the radio almost a year ago and I thought is was pretty average and that hinder me from picking up this album from the beginning. “Can U believe,” is ole school and the piano line is simply amazing which makes it another favorite. I can go on with the rest of the tracks in this album but you need to hear it for yourself and the rest of the songs trudges on in similar fine style. I have become a big fan of him and his music. I recommend this album to anyone who’s looking for music that will move them and touch their hearts in intimate ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best CD purchase of 2006

    Based upon a recommendation from my administrative assistant, I purchased this CD while avoiding rush hour traffic. Much to my suprise, this is the BEST CD I have purchased this entire year...it's so smooth, pure, and relatable. "Complicated" (Track #2) is my personal favorite, and track 8 (I think it's called "Teach you") is fanstatic (and made me develop a small crush on Robin! LOL). Also, I was pleasantly suprised how well Thicke 'fit' with Lil' Wayne on their two collaborations on the album. Intersting mix, but it works! You definitely won't regret picking this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is what I call great music for the grown and sexy

    This album is amazing. I can only imagine how proud his parents must be. This talented artist formerly known as Thicke (TAFKAT) has much in common with his royal badness. He's alot more sentimental though. I love his first album for the boldness and variety. The second album is a beautiful compilation of love songs with an occasional dance track in between. His music is so addictive that I've become his online groupie. I told him that 'ask yourself' and 'teach u a lesson' were my favorite tracks but they both take second place to Angels which is as beautiful as any of Prince's ballads. If you like 'lost without u' u need to try the entire CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HOT!!!

    This is one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. I came across it by accident, but I haven't been able to stop listening to it. Very very smooth. Every song is good!!!!Definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I enjoyed this CD very much!!!

    My cousin purchased the CD and I listened to it one day.I was blown away by this one song "Lost Without You". I asked to borrow and listened to all the tracks I was impressed by the vocal skill the artist displayed and became hooked. I burned a copy but felt like I needed to support this artist I went to Wal-Mart and purchased 2 copies one for my house and another for my daughter. I cannot believe Alan Thicke has a son that can sing like this.I cannot wait to see him perform "live" in concert!! I am definitely a fan of your music he is grossly underrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The cd The Evolution of Robin Thicke is positvely outstanding. Every track is incredible. Thicke's vocals are soulful,silky-smooth,rich and beautiful. The ballads(along with Thicke's vocals)are filled with so much emotion and tenderness you feel like crying....very moving. The uptempo songs make you want to get up and dance or play it cool and just bop your head. This is real music by a real musician...not the over produced garbage trying to pass for music nowadays. Robin Thicke is one of the most talented artist out there..a real R&b singer like Marvin Gaye..Al Green. This cd is certainly worth buying. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1