Customer Reviews for

The Expats

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

New first rate thriller

What started out as a predictable thriller quickly turned into a must read! Will there be another book, dare we say series. Get this book for your espionage collection!

posted by oakbridge on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not as advertised

I purchased this book on the recommendation of an anonymous reviewer at Publishers Weekly who likened it to the works by Robert Ludlum and Jean le Carre. This author is nowhere in the same league as those two giants of the genre, whose works with which l am very familia...
I purchased this book on the recommendation of an anonymous reviewer at Publishers Weekly who likened it to the works by Robert Ludlum and Jean le Carre. This author is nowhere in the same league as those two giants of the genre, whose works with which l am very familiar. Shame on PW for allowing such a, dare I say phony, review to mislead serious readers. Either the reviewer did not bother to read "The Expats" or is not familiar with the works of Ludlum and le Carre before writing a bogus review.

I disliked this book for a number of reasons, foremost among them being that it wasted my time with the most boring real-time minutiae of everyday life of a two-dimensional former CIA assassin (totally unbelievable, by the way) turned housewife with two kiddies who lend nothing to the story line here other than to fluff out the word count; it took me 54 pages to figure out that all I should have been doing was reading the first few words of each paragraph to skip past the fluff, which brought me to about page 253 before I discovered any (barely) worthwhile prose to read.

There are four main characters in this book, including the unbelievable ex-spy housewife/mother, all of whom are two-dimensional and fit in very well with a weak story line that concludes in a ludicrous wind-down that had me thinking "huh!"

Anyone who is considering buying "The Expats" should be aware that this book is neither a "spy" novel nor a "thriller"; as some professional "reviewers" would have you believe. It is, in fact, a simple robbery story with a hackneyed line.

As a former magazine editor/writer and an avid reader of "spy" novels, among other genres, I learned that writers are born with a story-telling talent and the ability to put into print their yarns. This author has the talent to get a story legibly into print, but he needs to get a better handle on story and character development and have the dialog for each character easily identify said characters. The potential is there; it just has to be refined. Terseness counts more than lots of empty rhetoric (take a hint from the motion-picture industry); develop story lines that are both believable and interesting; ditto for characters and dialog; and please refrain from using high-falutin' words (and if you do resort such un-called-for urges, at least attempt to use them in correct grammar) that lend nothing to the story and have developing readers scrambling for a dictionary to look up their meanings. Don't use words just to show off your superior education and massage your ego; when you do this, it alienates your audience.

Would I read another book by this author? Perhaps--but only if my (hopefully constructive) criticisms are addressed.

posted by hariseldenAB on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Very poorly written;; poor development of characters and at time

    Very poorly written;; poor development of characters and at times so trite. Not a plausible plot, unless you really think that a career CIA person could be so dumb (well--there's a thought). And how many times do we need to read about her ho hum of becoming a house wife etc etc. I finished it because I had a long plane ride--but really, not a great book by any means.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    *This is an advanced readers copy* Kate Moore is an expat mom li

    *This is an advanced readers copy*
    Kate Moore is an expat mom living in Luxembourg when she realizes that there are secrets surrounding her daily life. Hiding her own, possibly life threatening, secrets she easily recognizes those of others. When it becomes apparent that her family is under the watchful eyes of those she considers friends she decides to get to the bottom of it. What she discovers is a dangerous web of lies that could destroy the life she was trying to build with her family.
    Kate was a likable protagonist and she was convincing as a wife a mother. The plot is interesting and original in my experience with this genre. I don’t want to give too many negatives as the copy I read was not the final print, but I have a couple of complaints that may have been smoothed over. It read slowly for me and it didn’t grip my full attention. The transition from past to present wasn’t smooth and I had to go back and see which period I was reading numerous times. Overall I liked it and I will be on the lookout for future work from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    I really liked this book and the unpredictable plot. I hated the

    I really liked this book and the unpredictable plot. I hated the jumping around, it felt unnecessary to me. Otherise, this is a good summer read with a great surprise ending!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    The Expats by Chris Pavone

    Once you get into the story, you will be hooked
    . I stayed up until midnight reading way past my bedtime. What a adventure . Daisy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    This double award winning mystery really appealed to me because

    This double award winning mystery really appealed to me because part of the mystery was concerned around what the mystery was actually about, up until the final sentences of this different story. Basically we have an American family living in Europe--THE EXPATS.  Kate is the mother of two young boys, but she's also an ex CIA operative involved in some high level and questionable murders.  Her husband, Dexter, is an IT security genius, who is also a high level thief.  Both are living lies as they settle in Luxembourg, set their boys up in school, make new friends amongst the other expats, and take small trips around Europe. Neither parent believes the other one is anything but your typical American. 




    Then they meet Julia and Bill, and things begin to be exposed between these four people who are not who they seem to be.  Julia and Bill are actually FBI pretending to be regular couple amongst other expats. The "illegal secrets" become mixed up with "family secrets".  Even one of the young boys gets caught up in this. How will things get revealed safely?  How will the CIA and FBI solve their mysteries?  Who is everyone "really" when everything is revealed?  Will everything finally get revealed in the end?  Will everything end safely?




    I definitely believe this book deserved it's awards because it was not like any other book I've ever read.  The plot was deftly driven by the characters and timing of the revelations. The personal and private lives of CIA, FBI, and families made for a very compelling story line. 




     This double award winning mystery really appealed to me because part of the mystery was concerned around what the mystery was actually about, up until the final sentences of this different story. Basically we have an American family living in Europe--THE EXPATS.  Kate is the mother of two young boys, but she's also an ex CIA operative involved in some high level and questionable murders.  Her husband, Dexter, is an IT security genius, who is also a high level thief.  Both are living lies as they settle in Luxembourg, set their boys up in school, make new friends amongst the other expats, and take small trips around Europe. Neither parent believes the other one is anything but your typical American. 




    Then they meet Julia and Bill, and things begin to be exposed between these four people who are not who they seem to be.  Julia and Bill are actually FBI pretending to be regular couple amongst other expats. The "illegal secrets" become mixed up with "family secrets".  Even one of the young boys gets caught up in this. How will things get revealed safely?  How will the CIA and FBI solve their mysteries?  Who is everyone "really" when everything is revealed?  Will everything finally get revealed in the end?  Will everything end safely?




    I definitely believe this book deserved it's awards because it was not like any other book I've ever read.  The plot was deftly driven by the characters and timing of the revelations. The personal and private lives of CIA, FBI, and families made for a very compelling story line. 

    This double award winning mystery really appealed to me because part of the mystery was concerned around what the mystery was actually about, up until the final sentences of this different story. Basically we have an American family living in Europe--THE EXPATS.  Kate is the mother of two young boys, but she's also an ex CIA operative involved in some high level and questionable murders.  Her husband, Dexter, is an IT security genius, who is also a high level thief.  Both are living lies as they settle in Luxembourg, set their boys up in school, make new friends amongst the other expats, and take small trips around Europe. Neither parent believes the other one is anything but your typical American. 




    Then they meet Julia and Bill, and things begin to be exposed between these four people who are not who they seem to be.  Julia and Bill are actually FBI pretending to be regular couple amongst other expats. The "illegal secrets" become mixed up with "family secrets".  Even one of the young boys gets caught up in this. How will things get revealed safely?  How will the CIA and FBI solve their mysteries?  Who is everyone "really" when everything is revealed?  Will everything finally get revealed in the end?  Will everything end safely?




    I definitely believe this book deserved it's awards because it was not like any other book I've ever read.  The plot was deftly driven by the characters and timing of the revelations. The personal and private lives of CIA, FBI, and families made for a very compelling story line. 




     


     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Anonymous

    The book title and cover are misleading. It is flase advertising
    Because it is not a spy noval and not a suspense thiller.
    The plot was weak and the characters where not like any real
    People and not any one you like or want to be freinds with.
    The idea that a CIA agent could marry a man, have two children and live with him for 10 years and not know what he does for a living requires more than just suspenion of belief. I should have stopped reading at that point. The
    Ending was likewise unbelieveable and disapointing.
    Would not recomend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I liked this book alot. I really enjoy spy stories, and this sto

    I liked this book alot. I really enjoy spy stories, and this story had many twists that kept me wanting to see what would happen next. I also love reading about a strong heroine, and the lead character is very likable and resourceful! Read and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    The flashbacks were confusing as there was no indication that's

    The flashbacks were confusing as there was no indication that's what those passages were. First they moved to Luxembourg, then suddenly they were living in Paris. I was disappointed in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Hate this poorly written poop

    At page 200 i still dont care about any of the characters. Crime novels usually have a fast moving plot this jumps around and never settles anywhere. Not only do i not understand whats going on i dont care.
    Oh yeah if our protagonist is ex cia youd think shed have a more tactical and offensive strategy. Shes a bumbling housewife who is not even interesting enough to dislike.
    Thanks for nothing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    A Great Read!!

    Taut, well-written thriller from beginning to end. Keeps you on your toes about where the story is going, who are the good guys and who are the bad guys. A really terrific first novel from a new autor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Terrific!

    I picked up the paperback recently while waiting to board a flight. I'm not one for the spy caper so I expected to choke it down in place of sleep and maybe leave it on the plane. Turns out I enjoyed it so much, i took my time in reading it just to savor it. Wonderful plot, imaginative characters. In fact, I loved it so much that when I left my paperback at home before work, I bought it again here so I could read it on my lunch hour!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Exciting with lots of twists and turns!

    I listened to this on audio book and so enjoyed all the twists and turns that I bought the book to enjoy again.
    Kate's husband, Dexter has announced that he has a chance of a lifetime opportunity to take a job in Europe. So Kate quits her job and they move with their two young children to Luxembourg. Dexter has provided few details of his new job, and yet, has good, logical reasons for keeping her in the dark. He's always been honest to the core.
    The story jumps back and forth between Kate's past and the present as she reveals secrets of her former occupation. She is suspicious of a couple who seem to be a little too friendly. Something about them seems off or is she just a little bored with her new life of mommy and housewife? Is Kate being paranoid or are there reasons for Kate to be suspicious? Can she ever really leave her past behind? Will her darkest secret come back to destroy her life?
    This book was very exciting and hard to put down. I hope Chris Pavone writes more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Expats

    Enjoyable to read. Plenty of international intrique and suspence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    gioesahn.

    gioesahn.
    Giosahn.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    The book is jumping all around in the timeline. Flashback here,

    The book is jumping all around in the timeline. Flashback here, flashback there. It is a little confusing what you are reading when the author jumps around so much with no real segway.

    I would not recommend it for the average reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Book is ok

    The Expats is an "OK" book. I purchased this book after seeing a recommendation in an article. The flashbacks are unexpected and confusing to follow. I found myself uninterested in the characters and going a few days without wanting to read it. I was hoping for a good spy book but unfortunately it was just ok.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    A "must read" if you like intrigue. The more I read,

    A "must read" if you like intrigue. The more I read, the more I couldn't put it down. Via multiple timelines, the author masterfully unravels the story. It is anything but predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm always curious when a book has the endorsements of several b

    I'm always curious when a book has the endorsements of several big name authors. Did they actually read it? I was bored after the first 50 pages because I was waiting for something to happen. The characters were not interesting, detailed or revealing; pacing was at times obscure. I wanted the lead female character, Kate to be enticing and unfortunately she was not. I didn't believe for a moment she was in the CIA. The stark descriptions of Amsterdam were nothing new. Jumping back and forth through time is only effective if it does not confuse the reader. Hoped for much more.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Review1334667416726

    This is a really nice book!1334667416726

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Clever

    This movie-ready plot takes you through an exciting journey through the cold heart of europe and the manipulative minds of its characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7