Customer Reviews for

The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict

Average Rating 4.5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

This book is fantastic for all ages. Trenton Lee Stewart does no

This book is fantastic for all ages. Trenton Lee Stewart does not dissapoint with his prequel to his phenominal Mysterious Benedict Society. Stewart's writing style is captivating and whimsical and fits his story perfectly. Besides being an exceptionally good writer, hi...
This book is fantastic for all ages. Trenton Lee Stewart does not dissapoint with his prequel to his phenominal Mysterious Benedict Society. Stewart's writing style is captivating and whimsical and fits his story perfectly. Besides being an exceptionally good writer, his characters and plot sparkled. Each character was unique and consistent and characterized beautifully. The plot was enthralling (however my ONLY negative comment about this book is that there were about 3 chapters in the middle where the pacing was a little bit slow, though the slowness was a bit necessary for the plot). The ending was a solid and satisfying one, all of Stewart's plot threads tied up beautifully into a wonderful little package that created a masterpiece of a book. While it is not essential to read The Mysterious Benedict Society before reading this book, I found it helpful considering I knew the main character better. I read The Mysterious Benedict Society when I was younger, and now that I am older I still found that I enjoyed this story as much as if I were still in grade school. This is a truly fantastic read for those who have whimsical minds and enjoy a good mystery. My only complaint is that I wish he would write more in this series! While the ending was satisfying I was sad to see the book end. If I could give it 6 stars I would ;)

posted by theravensaidnevermore on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Really good- but I wish...

This book was good but it was slow at points. I wish the treasure they were searching for was an actual tresure. The origianal Mysterious Benedict Society books were better by far and I hope Trenton Lee Stewart has enough sense to make more books to the original series....
This book was good but it was slow at points. I wish the treasure they were searching for was an actual tresure. The origianal Mysterious Benedict Society books were better by far and I hope Trenton Lee Stewart has enough sense to make more books to the original series. I wanted it to go more into his adult years and how he picked Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance. I know i sound like a downer.... but I expected more.

posted by sarah-is-awesome on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    This book is fantastic for all ages. Trenton Lee Stewart does no

    This book is fantastic for all ages. Trenton Lee Stewart does not dissapoint with his prequel to his phenominal Mysterious Benedict Society. Stewart's writing style is captivating and whimsical and fits his story perfectly. Besides being an exceptionally good writer, his characters and plot sparkled. Each character was unique and consistent and characterized beautifully. The plot was enthralling (however my ONLY negative comment about this book is that there were about 3 chapters in the middle where the pacing was a little bit slow, though the slowness was a bit necessary for the plot). The ending was a solid and satisfying one, all of Stewart's plot threads tied up beautifully into a wonderful little package that created a masterpiece of a book. While it is not essential to read The Mysterious Benedict Society before reading this book, I found it helpful considering I knew the main character better. I read The Mysterious Benedict Society when I was younger, and now that I am older I still found that I enjoyed this story as much as if I were still in grade school. This is a truly fantastic read for those who have whimsical minds and enjoy a good mystery. My only complaint is that I wish he would write more in this series! While the ending was satisfying I was sad to see the book end. If I could give it 6 stars I would ;)

    42 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Can't wait

    I havn't read this one but if it's half as good as his other books you'll love it. This book is a prequel to Stewart's Mysterious Bennidict Society trilogy. I can't wait for it to come out! The trilogy is also available on the nook.

    16 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    BEST BOOK

    I love this book! You learn to care deeply for young nicholas and his friends as they meet in secret, trying to find a treasure and get through an extremely hard childhood. You will love this story of three children trying desperately to find ways to make their lives better.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    AMAZING

    I'm pretty young, but I find this book to be highly informatice and I couldn't take my eyes off it. This book will make you understand the world and yourself a little better. Are you smarter than Nicholas? I highly doubt it. Great read dude!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Wonderful!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!! It gives a detailed insight of how Mr. Benedict grew up. This better book shows the marvelous intellectual intelligence of nine year old Nicholas. You will laugh, cry, and sense the gutt wrenching emotions of this book.(in a non vomitting,bitter-sweet "AHA I GET IT NOW!!!!" way)


    Btw the person who wrote this is only 12!!! Not joking!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great

    So good! Written just as well as his others with a great storyline. I definitly recommend it!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Finally!

    I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Nicholas Benedict and experiencing a bit of his childhood. I again found myself attempting to piece together the clues to solve the mystery and enjoy the messages of humanity in each book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    These books are the best ever! Great mystery and brainteaser. Awesome for all ages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    So entertaining. I read this series on my Nook, but am consideri

    So entertaining. I read this series on my Nook, but am considering purchasing the books for our grandchildren to read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    EXCITEMENT

    I cant eait for the book to come out I have been so excited!!!!!!

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Great

    Entertaining book read all 3 books 1st

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    WOW

    I LOVED LOVED LOVED Stuart's other books so if this one is anything like the other three you will be amazed! Even though i havent read this one yet, i have a feeling that it will keep you hooked untill you are done with this AWESOME book. If you dont like it, I would be very surprised. The other books were filled with mystery and adventure, and who doesnt like that?

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Sooooooooooo excited!!!!!!!!

    I cant wait! I love all the other ones!

    3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Hope this one is as good as the others

    I have read all of these series and love them....just hope this ome is as good as the other omes in this series

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Yesss!!!!

    Yesss im soooo excited i love the first two books of the mysterious benidict society but i still have to read the third but im so excited for this one to come out, i literally vant wait!!

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great series!

    This series of books by Mr. Stewart has been very humerous. As i was reading them i was constantly figuring out the puzzles and making guesses at what was going to happen next. I love the word-play, it was always making me think, and frequently laugh out loud. The idea behind this story is one of the best I have read. I would recommend this story to anyone with an active mind, so you may also make assumptions. Believe me, it adds to the excitement of major events when you are right about it. I hope he decides to right more books much like these.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    Totally worth the money... explains why adult nick did half the things he did! But dont read it if you hadnt read the other books. I had no problems with it loading or anything! It keeps you reading till the end...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    I haven't read it yet but can tell it will be good. I have read all of his other books and am friends with him but i am ticked off by the people who say it is bad. GET A LIFE!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    GREAT BOOK, MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book i could not stop reading it has a lot of great details yet it does not drag on it is one of my favorite books i would suggest it for ages 9- up (it might be a little bit of a hard read for children under 9) MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    The extraordanary education of nicolas benedict

    The best book ever! The sample is boring because the begining is slightly boring but that does not matter because the rest of the book is soooooooooooooooo great. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8