Customer Reviews for

The Eye Book

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Hard to find

    This book has been hard for me to find in retail stores...Needed it to complete our collection of Dr. Seuss books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Engaging

    My year old son loves to have this book read to him...he likes to point at the colorful pictures, at the eyes in the book, at his eyes and mine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Important Concepts, Beautiful Illustrations and Gentle Humor

    If you liked Dr. Seuss's The Tooth Book, you will find this book equally rewarding. In The Eye Book, Dr. Seuss explores the concept of what vision is, who has it, and why it's important. At the same time, he has created a book with an extremely small number of words (almost all of one syllable) and maximum amount of repetition to make memorizing and learning to read the book as simple as possible. A handsome blue-eyed boy begins, 'Eye Eyes My eyes My eyes' He then points to a pink-eyed, friendly-looking rabbit, and says, 'His eyes His eyes' With a picture of the boy winking, the boy says, 'Wink eye Wink eye' With a picture of the rabbit, the boy says, 'Pink eye Pink eye' Then you move into the concept of what vision is -- seeing and being seen. 'My eyes see. His eyes see. I see him. And he sees me.' The connection between humans and animals is nicely built from there. This will help your child to understand that we have many things in common with animals. Knowing that can lead to lots of empathic play and developing a more sensitive adult. Be prepared for your child to want a pet rabbit, though. The book then uses the idea of seeing to add simple words, along with their images in order to help with word decoding. The words introduced include blue, red, bird, bed, sun, moon, fork, knife, spoon, girl, man, boy, horse, tin can, holes, poles, trees, clocks, bees, rocks, flies, ants, pink, underpants, rings, strings, rain, pie, dogs, and airplanes. 'Hooray for eyes!' You can also use this book to establish an interest in flash cards. After reading the book, you can use some flash cards that combine a picture with the letters. Based on my experience with children learning to read, you can accelerate progress quite a lot of you can develop such a diving board for being interested in flash cards for vocabulary. Try to find some with colorful illustrations! The illustrations emphasize large heads and enormous eyes of the sort that I associate with the Walt Disney cartoon drawings of Alice in Wonderland. Everything seems simple, young, and childlike which will make the book more accessible to your child. After you both have the book memorized, I suggest that you play games while riding in the car to identify animals and the color eyes they have. This will help make your child more observant, which is helpful for reading development as well. See the potential all around you . . . and be aware that you are being looked at too! What can be seen about you? Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    excellent

    I have a 2 1/2 yr. old daughter whom I bought this book for, and it is absolutely her favorite book (and she has many). Everytime she is told it is night or nap time, she asks for this book. It has become part of her bedtime ritual. Only this book will do. She even likes to sleep with it. I can hear her 'reading' the story to herself after I leave the room. The pictures are so colorful, and it is typical Dr. Seuss style with rhyme (although this one is not on the silly side). It is long enough but not too long to hold a 2-4 yr old's attention. A delightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1