Customer Reviews for

The Eye of God (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

James Rollins has done it again. The Eye of God is a gripping

James Rollins has done it again.
The Eye of God is a gripping tale of science, history, adventure, and mind boggling theories of how reality, as we understand it, may not be reality at all. The Eye of God pulls you in when a satellite sent out to study the dark energ...
James Rollins has done it again.
The Eye of God is a gripping tale of science, history, adventure, and mind boggling theories of how reality, as we understand it, may not be reality at all. The Eye of God pulls you in when a satellite sent out to study the dark energy of a comet crashes to Earth, after sending one last image of the Eastern Seaboard of the US in a smoldering ruin. At the same time a package bearing strange artifacts is delivered to the Vatican for Mosignor Vigor Verona from a colleague who disappeared a decade before. Inside is a skull etched with ancient Aramaic and a tome bound in human skin. The skin of Genghis Khan.
The SIGMA crew we have all come to know and love is dispatched to different Asian countries to investigate the scientific and historical aspects of the comet and dark matter. Rachel Verona and her Uncle Vigor join forces once again with SIGMA to help follow the historical trail that lead back to major historical figures such as Genghis Khan, Attila the Hun, St. Thomas, all the way back to Adam and Eve.
The way James Rollins seamlessly includes scientific theories on dark energy, quantum physics, the multiverse theory, and quantum entanglement will draw you in and keep you thinking for days after you’ve finished the book. It all comes down to a these questions… What is reality? Are we all just a 3D hologram? And what happens to us after we die? Does our energy just leave the universe forever? Or is what we perceive as death not even real? Is it possible that our consciousness just moves to another form of a different reality, to live out the rest of our lives on the other side of the same coin?
This book guarantees you will come to question everything it is that you think you know.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

Been a Rollins fan for a long time and have read all the Sigma books. This one was a little bit of a disappointment. It just didn't grab my attention like his other books. By the end of the book I was just trying to finish it so I could move on to another book.

Do...
Been a Rollins fan for a long time and have read all the Sigma books. This one was a little bit of a disappointment. It just didn't grab my attention like his other books. By the end of the book I was just trying to finish it so I could move on to another book.

Don't get me wrong, it's a decent book. But by Rollins standards, it just doesn't meet my expectations. It just seems that he rushed it.

posted by 4919624 on July 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    James Rollins has done it again. The Eye of God is a gripping

    James Rollins has done it again.
    The Eye of God is a gripping tale of science, history, adventure, and mind boggling theories of how reality, as we understand it, may not be reality at all. The Eye of God pulls you in when a satellite sent out to study the dark energy of a comet crashes to Earth, after sending one last image of the Eastern Seaboard of the US in a smoldering ruin. At the same time a package bearing strange artifacts is delivered to the Vatican for Mosignor Vigor Verona from a colleague who disappeared a decade before. Inside is a skull etched with ancient Aramaic and a tome bound in human skin. The skin of Genghis Khan.
    The SIGMA crew we have all come to know and love is dispatched to different Asian countries to investigate the scientific and historical aspects of the comet and dark matter. Rachel Verona and her Uncle Vigor join forces once again with SIGMA to help follow the historical trail that lead back to major historical figures such as Genghis Khan, Attila the Hun, St. Thomas, all the way back to Adam and Eve.
    The way James Rollins seamlessly includes scientific theories on dark energy, quantum physics, the multiverse theory, and quantum entanglement will draw you in and keep you thinking for days after you’ve finished the book. It all comes down to a these questions… What is reality? Are we all just a 3D hologram? And what happens to us after we die? Does our energy just leave the universe forever? Or is what we perceive as death not even real? Is it possible that our consciousness just moves to another form of a different reality, to live out the rest of our lives on the other side of the same coin?
    This book guarantees you will come to question everything it is that you think you know.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another fantastic read

    Jams Rollins has quickly become one of my favorite authors due to his unique ability to combine science, mthy, intrigue and adventure into a carefully woven story that keeps you enthralled for every single page. His latest book is no exception. The premise is again totally believable and the characters well defined and interesing. The entire Sigma series is well worth reading.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Excellent

    Rollins does it again and reinforces my opinion that he is a great storyteller. He is most definitely my favorite author. If you enjoy thrills mixed with science and myth, you will enjoy this, as well as all, of his books. I eagerly await his next one!
    CM

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Not his best

    Been a Rollins fan for a long time and have read all the Sigma books. This one was a little bit of a disappointment. It just didn't grab my attention like his other books. By the end of the book I was just trying to finish it so I could move on to another book.

    Don't get me wrong, it's a decent book. But by Rollins standards, it just doesn't meet my expectations. It just seems that he rushed it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Excellent Thriller

    Excellent blend of science and myth. Will have you thinking about the book's premise long after you finish it. Highly recommend all of Rollins' books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    After reading my first James Rollins book in the Sigma Force Series I went back to the very first book and started reading them in order. A great series and group of characters. Each book slightly different from the others but a thread that runs so true through each book. Just finished the latest - "The Eye of God". Another masterpiece. Hope this isn't the last of the series - The Sigma Force colleagues in Rome will be missed, but hopefully more to come. Looking forward to more James Rollins books. Especially great reading on long international flights.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is part of The Sigma Force Series. Much better if you read

    This is part of The Sigma Force Series. Much better if you read it in order, trust me. Sandstorm is the first in the series.

    The last book in this series wasn't one of my favorites. Eye of God is what made me fall in love with James Rollins writing. The right balance of action, history, science. Twist and turns. One of those books in a series that has some major changes in characters lives.

    I found it hard to put the book down when I hit the last five chapters or so. Typical Rollins rollercoaster. The tell tale of a good story, is when it's really hard to put it down. Rollins is back, and in prime form with this tale.

    What more could one want in a tale: a dash of romance, a comet that could end life on Earth, a race to discover the truth before it's too late, a good sprinkling of character conflict. Perfectly balanced for am entertaining read.

    If you haven't been following The Sigma Force missions, it's never to late to start.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    With his characteristic combination of cutting-edge science and

    With his characteristic combination of cutting-edge science and revolutionary history, James Rollins takes readers on another thrill ride in this ninth installment in the Sigma Force series. This time the very fabric of the universe hangs in the balance. Sigma astrophysicists have been tracking the comet IKON as it travels through space, and in an effort to harness and better understand the murky but promising concept of dark energy, they send the IoG satellite through its tail in a space-time venture—a dangerous experiment that could have literally earth-shattering consequences. When the satellite crashes back to Earth, the Sigma team must take immediate action to recover it and to deal with the dark energy within four days—a timetable that is suspected to indicate the end of the world.

    At the same time, an Italian priest receives a strange object from a friend he believed to be dead, a seemingly posthumous gift that is tied to the legendary Mongolian ruler Ghengis Khan and that depicts the same apocalyptic calendar. The two must join forces to solve a scientifically and historically significant two-part mystery regarding Khan’s undiscovered tomb and the exact location of the ill-fated IoG satellite. Their quest takes them to the far reaches of the globe, with much of the action occurring in Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, and North Korea. Sadistic enemies who will stop at nothing to accomplish their own despotic goals threaten the project, and the Sigma operatives, along with their allies, are taxed to their limit as they fight against both corruption and time.

    As usual, Rollins provides the roller coaster ride and pulsating action that his fans have come to expect and anticipate. Perhaps the most intriguing and alluring aspect of his work is its strong factual basis, as explored in the brief “Notes From the Historical Record” and “Notes From the Scientific Record” sections at the beginning of the story and the concluding “Author’s Note to Readers: Truth or Fiction,” in which Rollins refers to the book’s main concepts and events and explains the true-life foundation for each. Not designed for the casual reader, “The Eye of God” cannot be classified as light reading; it deals with hefty and often mind-boggling scientific concepts and detailed historical situations that task readers’ comprehension and imagination skills to the max and may necessitate extra research. As such, Rollins’ work is best suited to those who enjoy scientific extrapolation and historical musing, with a robust thread of adventure and action—think Indiana Jones meets the Science and History Channels. The outcome, nevertheless, is very rewarding and thought-provoking, and the novel’s ending, in particular, proves to be stunning and unexpected and begs consideration. Enter into this other-worldly journey with caution and prepare to be astounded!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    WHOA. I could NOT put this book down! This is not my usual gen

    WHOA. I could NOT put this book down! This is not my usual genre at all - an intoxicating alchemy of espionage, religion, the supernatural .... vampires. I don't do vampires. I don't read about vampires. I don't like vampires or stories about vampires. And yet there are vampires in this story and I still could not put it down! The story isn't about vampires; they're an integral piece of the puzzle that makes this book so intriguing. The description provided here by BN gives you the gist of the story but you have to read it to experience the chills and thrills. I HIGHLY recommend this book and can't wait to read the rest of the Sigma series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    Name is Bengalon washington
    Son of hecate
    Nos about camp halfblood camp jupiter and carter and sadie kane
    Dark brown hair and one silver and one brown eye
    Ratted tshirt and may fight at first but brought under control.
    Weapon is a celestial bronze sword, a gun with a tiny little diomand knife and shoots celestil bronze and impiral gold, and a watch if witch u touch it, it will make a helicopter and a whole army shaped as humans made of mist.
    Am lost so help! Love your story

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Best yet

    Thrilling read, seamless integration of new characters and as always a thought-provoking take on where science and religion meet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Truly amazing as always. Exciting, adventurous, and edge of your

    Truly amazing as always. Exciting, adventurous, and edge of your seat. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great book

    As always love the book. Just couldn't put it down!!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    While I don't think this was my very favorite of all the stories

    While I don't think this was my very favorite of all the stories, it was a great read!!!!! Lots of action, suspense, old friends, new friends, unexpected twists...a definite must-read! I was a little saddened at the direction the storyline took in some parts but I guess it was inevitable. I look forward to seeing where the storyline goes next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great stpru

    Loved this book, fast pace and interesting. Didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Solid Sigma Force Outing

    This was another solid Sigma Force adventure from Rollins with lots of fast paced action and some of the best character development in recent stories. Some very surprising plot turns with equally jaw-dropping character developments and departures. The scenes were well crafted and the tying up of lose ends was Rollins at his best. This sorry was a little heavy on the scientific elements but not overbearing....sometimes the theories put forth carried on a little too long. All in all another great effort in the Sigma Force series and I continue to be a fan and look forward to the next outing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Really good

    I have read all of Rollins' books and this one is really good. As always with them--a little far-fetched, but super entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Great read

    Another grest read. Lots of action and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    The end of the world in an explosive, fiery cataclysm is near...

    The end of the world in an explosive, fiery cataclysm is near... and only Sigma Force and friends can prevent it -- and their adversaries are legion and ruthless, and time is quickly running out. I continue to be awed by this author's amazing talent. Yet another suspense-filled, highly entertaining, relentless, blistering page turner from the undisputed reigning Master of Kick-ass Action & Adventure. Kudos and bravo, Mr. Rollins. I am ready for The 6th Extinction... that is, ready and eager to start reading your next Sigma Force novel. Thank God this stuff is fiction... or is it? Either way, Mr. Rollins never fails to amaze and entertain.

    Kerry Alan Denney, multiple award-winning author of SOULSNATCHER (Lazy Day Publishing, April 2014) and JAGANNATH (Permuted Press, coming February 2015)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    EXCELLENT READ...

    EXCELLENT READ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11