Customer Reviews for

The Eye of Minds (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Mortality Doctrine Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Gripping and Awesome!!!

From the moment I began reading The Maze Runner, I became an instant James Dashner fan! When I saw he was coming out with a new series, I preordered the book (over 8 months ago). The Eye of Minds does not disappoint! I could not put the book down. It had me on the edge ...
From the moment I began reading The Maze Runner, I became an instant James Dashner fan! When I saw he was coming out with a new series, I preordered the book (over 8 months ago). The Eye of Minds does not disappoint! I could not put the book down. It had me on the edge of my seat dying to find out what happened next! One of the most thrilling adventure/survival stories I have ever read, my only regret is that I now have to endure a whole year of waiting for its sequel, The Rule of Thoughts, to come out. Quite honestly, the only book I have read that is still better than this is The Maze Runner! A must read for anyone who can read!

posted by 18480099 on October 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A good read, but very disappointing.

When I first started this book, I had high expectations and very excited to read it. I had read the Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and was hoping for another great series like that from this author. Sufice it to say, it didn't even come close to meeting these expe...
When I first started this book, I had high expectations and very excited to read it. I had read the Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and was hoping for another great series like that from this author. Sufice it to say, it didn't even come close to meeting these expectations. While the story had a decent enough plot and the action was mildly entertaining, the story lacked character development and depth in every way, shape, and form. You barely knew anything about the main character, and pretty much nothing about the others. While for some people this may create a mysterious aspect to the book, I just found it to be completely unrelatable and unlikable. The world James Dashner creates seems only half-cocked, and I think some more detail in this area would have been an improvement. Also, more emotional and in-depth scenes between the characters would have allowed the readers to get to know them better, and would have given some contrast to the constant action. However, the best part of this book is the ending by far. Dashner leaves the reader blown away and hanging, and for this reason I will probably be reading the rest of the series. It also creates a lot of potential for the next book, and I now have hopes that the sequel will be an improvement from the first. I don't reccommend this book for readers that need a great hook right from the beginning, but for readers that are willing to stick it out to the end it's worth the read.

posted by 10604878 on January 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    The twist at the end was AMAZING guys!!! <3

    The twist at the end was AMAZING guys!!! &lt;3

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Actually pretty good.

    This book is actually pretty good. It wasnt good as the Maze runner though. I was kinda sad there wasnt a sequel. It ends with a cliff hanger FIY?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Sad ending

    The ending was sad and surprising

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Good read but confusing

    A great book but the end makes little sense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is the best book in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Not Bad

    It was a pretty good book and kept me hooked the whole time.But still James Dashner has wrote better books like the Maze Runner series whic was amazing. I recomend this book but don't expect the best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Awsome and cant wait for the 2nd book

    You made me like reading you made me read till 11:30 to12:00 at night soo now im more then a geek or a dork im a nerd i call it not even remotly dorky im soo a nerd :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Hurry with the sequels

    I usually wait to get into a series until it's complete, but made the decision to go ahead and torture myself this time, with this one being the only book of the series available so far. I must say I enjoyed The Maze Runner series more, but I'm not a PC-game nut and still enjoyed it immensely. Hurry up with the sequels, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I like this more than I want to.

    It's not a work of literary genius, but is impossible to put down. A great book for teens/young adults. It plays off of the addictive virtual world we live and leaves us hanging on the cliff in the end, in much the same way as the Maze Runner series does. I am not looking forward to waiting until Fall 2014 for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Good book

    Kept me guessing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Wow. The end was stunning.

    It totally took me by surprise. I had assumed that Kaine would turn out to be Gunner Skale, but I was wrong. The idea is awesome.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1