BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Face

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Amazing read

    I could barely put it down. If you have never read a koontz book, this is the one to start with!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I REALLY enjoyed this book. A real page turner, it was hard to put down!

    It did start to creep me out a little, and I was concerned it would lean more toward horror than I would prefer - but it never crossed that line. I risked it and continued to read, and was glad I did. I'm a real scaredy cat so that's a testament to how good this book is. I did get a little scared when reading it alone at night in the dark (on my Nook Color), but I simply couldn't put it down.

    The book kept me guessing and continued to enthrall and surprise me from beginning to end.

    Once I finished this book, I went on to a new book I got from one of my favorite authors, and my favorite series of hers - but couldn't get into it. The FACE is a hard act to follow.

    I highly recommend this book! Yet another amazing work from Dean Koonz.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME! Reminded me why Dean Koontz is my favorite author!

    I bought this book to read at the beach (my favorite place to read) but only thought that I would read a few pages. I ending up reading it in just 3 days; it was so hard to put down! It has a really good plot, as well as complex and interesting characters. I would completely reccommend this book to anyone, as I would for most of Dean Koontz books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    The best Dean Koontz ever!

    I have been reading Dean Koontz for years and while I haven't read all of his novels, I've read most of them. This one is the best. It was a wonderful, thought provoking story, a real page turner and a genuine thriller. I went through so many emotions while reading it. At one point, I was so creeped out, I had to put the book down until the next morning. By the end, I was crying my eyes out. I usually don't read books more than once, but I'll definitely read this one again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Where to start

    First of all the writing is atrocious, painfull really. I don't think Koontz understands that he's not paid by the adjective. The plot is boring. But worst are Koontz's caricatures of liberals. They are vicious, cowardly and resemble no liberal I've ever met. Libertarian propaganda+one dimensional characters+bombastic boring writing. I completely agree with the reviewer who said King at his worst is a million times better than this. Koontz isn't fit to even be mentioned in the same category as King.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Misque- Excellent. New & Exciting

    Misque says...Please read. You won't be disappointed. Different in idea and format. Excellent reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved it so much I have read it 3 times!

    Great story!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    LOVE

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Freaky

    Couldnt stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Very good read

    A very good read with some twists and turns. Only gave it four stars because it's not one of my favorites, but I enjoyed it plenty, nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    This book isn't even as good as Stephen King at his worst!!

    I got about 300 pages in and then started skimming. The writing was repetitive, the characters one dimensional and I felt the author couldn't decide if he wanted this to be a supernatural thriller or a "surprise at the end" real mystery. I hated it. I stopped reading Koontz a long time ago. I remember why. I didn't make it to the end. I didn't care what happened.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Different

    The plot was different and in some aspects predictable. This book had some intense scenes but also had some long boring drawn out sections. If it had been condensed I think it would have been much better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    Amazing

    This is Dean Koontz's best book of all. It had all the right elements of a great thriller. Not only did I really like most of the characters, it creeped me out too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    amazing

    Well let me start by saying that when I first began reading this book I was skeptical, but over time I become so engrossed in it i couldn't put it down!I started by reading it for my freshman book report but ended up reading it for fun!The only thing I had trouble with was realizing you had to accept all the book said as a 'truth' or you wouldn't understand it completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    It's All My Fault !

    Matt, Martin, Mark, and Natalie are all teens who love to do crazy and different things. They decided one night to go to a club they were invited to earlier that day. Matt and Mark didn¿t think it was a good idea to go because it was over on the other side of town, where gangs and violence always took place. Natalie and Martin convinced Matt and Mark to go with them. They arrived at the club at ten pm. They had a good time drinking and dancing until they leave. Martin and Mark make a decision they will never forget. Mark walks off with a couple bumps and bruises and Martin is in the hospital for over a month trying to fight the fact that he will never look or be the same again. I think this book would be one of my top three books that I have read. I loved the way the author wrote the book. He has the whole book wrote in Martins point of view, which I think made the book a lot better and interesting. This book has a whole lot of emotion that keeps the reader way more interested. I found it hard not to cry in a few parts of the book because it makes you feel like you are right there seeing and dealing with the actions of the characters. This book isn¿t in a serious and it doesn¿t remind me of a movie or show, this book reminds me of my cousin Brittany. Brittany was faced with a choice and she chose the wrong answer. Now she is face with so many scars to remind her of the wrong choice she made. She doesn¿t look the same just as Martin didn¿t. She had to show everybody that one wrong mistake can change your life forever, such as Martin. I would recommend this book to any male or female who likes to read really emotional books. If you like sport books or funny books this is not the book for you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Couldn't make it through...

    I've recently discovered the joy of audio CDs and looked forward to this one with great anticipation. I haven't read Dean Koontz in years and was hoping for something great... now I remember why I stopped reading. I only made it through 1/3 of the book before my frustration with the endless descriptions got me. I had to stop. The action would start to pick up and I'd get bashed in the face with a 20 minute description of something that could have taken 3 minutes!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Dean Koontz Amazing As Usual!

    The Face is a suspenseful novel filled with fascinating characters and bone chilling horror. Enter a world where mystery's need to be solved in this realm and beyond. This book surpassed my expectations. Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    This book Stinks!

    This was my first Dean Koontz book. I struggled thru the first 500 pages and finally it started picking up. Some of the pieces were interesting, but most of the book was rubbish. The end got better, but then again, it couldn't have got any worse for me. I would recommend Watchers(which I picked up despite reading this first) which is a far superior book in every way possible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    Had to finish

    Once I started to read this book I couldn't put it down. I was entranced for about a week and I have to say I really liked the ending. I really liked Fric and Ethan. The Dunnie thing sort of stretched the imagination but it added a touch of hope to the whole story line. That Corky Laputa, well his last name says it all. Its a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6