Customer Reviews for

The Face

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Very good read

    A very good read with some twists and turns. Only gave it four stars because it's not one of my favorites, but I enjoyed it plenty, nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Must read for Koontz fans

    The book starts off very slow and at times, is hard to get through, especially during the first two chapters. But once Ethan learns of the death of his friend Dunny, the story becomes very engrossing and I found myself having difficulty putting it down. Plus, it's hard not to fall in love with Fric. There were some 'cheesy' moments at the end, i.e., Corky's break-in and the resurrection of the victims, but overall, a truly great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Worth the Wait

    I started reading The Face, made it about halfway through, but then lost interest due to the overwhelming amount of details that seemed to drag on. However, I picked it up again and the story kept me intrigued. The way Koontz jumped from one area of the story to another proved to make this a real page-turner. So, even if you may get lost in the details at some point, finish; it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Pretty Darn Good

    I agree that the book might have been a little longer than it needed to be. It was very detailed and alot was going on at once- but that's what makes this book good. It keeps you turning pages to try and see what's going on. This is one of his best and I have read many of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Good

    I agree with most readers, it was much longer than it needed to be. Too many descriptions that shouldn't be in the book. Then again, what do I know, I'm not a writer. Koontz, though, is one, and he's very good, just as this book. The ending is what¿s worth the read. So, despite an ungenerous review, put it on your to-read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    Very good overall.

    Mr. Koontz has outdone himself this time. Every aspect of the story is incredibly detailed and complex, but not overly wordy or tedious. The characters send chills through your spine and put pity in your heart. Koontz fan or not, this is a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    a title

    Dean Koontz latest novel is a must for fans. It explores the unlikely relationship between a security gaurd of the worlds most popular movie star, and the movie stars son, Fric. This is completely enjoyable, and yet thrilling as a madman named Corky (the funnest character in the book) gives Fric a call that will change the day into a nightmare. The last hundred or so pages you may read in one day, like I did. The book is lengthy, but by the time your done with it, you'll want to read it again. The Face is perhaps my favorite book of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Koontz is back!

    After a number of books that kept missing the mark, this one finally is more in line to what we have come to expect. Solid characters, a far fetched plot, mixing in some supernatural events and you have the makings of a typical Koontz novel that we have read and loved in the past. Finally a new Koontz novel worth telling others to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    The Face Delivers

    After the big disappointment of By The Light Of The Moon, I am glad to say that Koontz is back from the grave and is ready to deal out another great novel. The Face has some of the most incredible cast of characters, including a villain that is probably one of Koontz's best (besides Roy Miro). The Face is not the best Koontz has to offer, but I can see what he is trying to do and I applaud him all the same. It's a rare thriller that can genuinely stir you, it's even rarer for that same thriller to enlighten. The Face comes close to enlightening, but it's the effort that counts. Besides, who couldn't love a little boy named Frick?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    This was a great read!

    I loved 'The Face'. I loved the characters and the plot. Was a bit grossed out by 'stinky cheese man' but I enjoyed it! The book was full of suspence, intrique. It was humorous at times. I think it's one of his best! My money was well spent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Great Book

    I loved this book. Great page turner. Was a little disappointed in the end, but the first 550 pages made up for that slight disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Koontz has returned to his roots

    I'm going to keep this short, because I really dislike rambling reviews that include spoilers to the novel's plotline. If you've been a fan of Mr. Koontz's work since the beginning of his career, as I've been, this novel won't disappoint you. The familiar theme of good vs. evil is ever present in this book, but thankfully, Mr. Koontz didn't integrate a far-fetched premise along with it, as he has in his last 4 or 5 novels. He's restored my faith in him once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2