Customer Reviews for

The Facts of Business Life: What Every Successful Business Owner Knows that You Dont

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 30, 2014

    Easy to follow business advice. This book has a great step by s

    Easy to follow business advice. This book has a great step by step process with seven easy facts to follow and five levels of the business life cycle. The author breaks down the seven business facts with great examples. I recommend this book and this process no matter what business or compay you are starting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Great read and advice for both business owners and consultants.

    Great read and advice for both business owners and consultants. I really appreciated the "straight talk" style of the author on how to take one's business to the next level. The book provides guidance to help others avoid the pitfalls many aspiring entrepreneurs run into time and time again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Easy-to-read. Really helped me re-assess the organization, oper

    Easy-to-read. Really helped me re-assess the organization, operation, and salability of my business. Hats off to the author who presents his thinking from a base of practical experience, not the pie-in-the-sky theoretical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    This is an easy read that will guide a business owner through th

    This is an easy read that will guide a business owner through the entire life cycle of a business.  I am an entrepreneur and executive manager, and have studied business throughout my adult life.  I will refer back to this book often, and highly recommend it to anyone interested in business ownership!  Jack Powers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    This is a brilliant book regarding the inner workings of the bus

    This is a brilliant book regarding the inner workings of the business world and what it takes to run your establishment effectively. The seven key facts of operating a strong company are brief and concise; the points are excellently explained throughout the book. Bill’s clear-cut approach to business has worked considerably for him and it can work for you too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    This book was clear and concise, even if you don't own your own

    This book was clear and concise, even if you don't own your own business or plan on ever owning your own business, it gives a very good insight into what business owners (i.e. your boss) are seeking.
    If you can get on the same page as your boss, you will go far in your company. This is a must read for anyone in the business world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    This book helped me to implement alternative approaches in my bu

    This book helped me to implement alternative approaches in my business while reinforcing and restructuring some of the current methods being used. I feel the book is helpful for new, established, and future entrepreneurs to honestly assess the landscape of what it means to be a successful entrepreneur. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    This book is absolutely fantastic ... I am not currently a busin

    This book is absolutely fantastic ... I am not currently a business owner but have been in the past ... I have plenty of experience in the corporate world from established companies to startups and from failing businesses to successes ... McBean clarifies the entire process step by step ... The information McBean conveys is invaluable ... Coulda, shoulda, woulda read this book almost two decades ago when I was exiting college ... If you want to own a business, buy this book ... If you don't want to own a business, buy this book - because you'll want to work for someone who has read this book ... I have personally recommended The Facts of Business Life to numerous close friends/family ... This is a must-have book ... and that pretty much means, I'm telling the citizens of Amazon that it would be in their best interests to buy and read/listen to this book ... The ONLY gripe I have about the book is that James Earl Jones does not narrate the audiobook ... I hope to meet Bill one day, shake his hand, and thank him for graciously bestowing his knowledge and experience ... Job well done, McBean, job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Every leader can use a guiding light to keep growing. This book

    Every leader can use a guiding light to keep growing. This book is a yellow beacon for business owners to lead and to keep striving to reach higher goals. Bill McBean speaks from experience as successful business owner. To the point, smooth read. You can tell he has his heart in his businesses. I still have a long way to go. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    It isn't often I find a business book that has something origina

    It isn't often I find a business book that has something original and refreshing to say. The Facts of Business Life is a breath of fresh air in the usually stuffy and stale business book world. The tips, guidance and advice are top notch and easy to follow. This is a must read, or listen, for everyone who is considering owning a business and those who already do. Mr. McBean has a no nonsense approach to business and the background to back up his statements. I am putting this on the shelf next to my 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership and 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. I highly recommend you get this book if you are interested in business, success or just doing things a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    One EVERYONE should read, preferably as soon as they're old enou

    One EVERYONE should read, preferably as soon as they're old enough to comprehend it (teenager possibly). Helps you evaluate your goals & priorities in life and determine what kind of person you want to be and how to be successful! Very good info, wish I had purchased this book when it was first published.This book is a great read to keep on track and effectively work through professional and personal challenges.  - Rafael Batista

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    I don't read too many books but this one was referred to me by a

    I don't read too many books but this one was referred to me by a friend. As a young first time business owners this really opened my eyes to a lot things I had simply not realized. I made a few changes regarding the way I run my business based on the book and I can already notice the positive effects. Take it from someone who doesn't necessarily read too many books, this one is worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    As an avid business reader and owner this book gives you real li

    As an avid business reader and owner this book gives you real life advice on how to be successful under any circumstances.It will guide you through every aspect of owning and running any business. Bill McBean is the consummate businessman and above all great man. Proud to call him my friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

     I feel that the guidance in this book would keep me away from p

     I feel that the guidance in this book would keep me away from potential mistakes. I found it helpful that each chapter backed up a  fact of business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    I received this book as a gift from a friend who knew I had aspi

    I received this book as a gift from a friend who knew I had aspirations of starting my own business.  After reading "The Facts of Business Life," I feel like I definitely learned some valuable tips to not only get started, but to be successful as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Every aspiring business owner (and every existing business owner

    Every aspiring business owner (and every existing business owner) should read this book.  It's full of common sense, timeless advice that help you succeed. Buy it, read it and pay attention.  Money and time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1