Customer Reviews for

The Fairest Beauty

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book was a lovely surprise! I was quite sure from reviews

This book was a lovely surprise! I was quite sure from reviews of Melanie’s other books, and also from the back cover, that I would enjoy this book…I just didn’t know how much! This is a delightful retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. But it isn’t really a fa...
This book was a lovely surprise! I was quite sure from reviews of Melanie’s other books, and also from the back cover, that I would enjoy this book…I just didn’t know how much! This is a delightful retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. But it isn’t really a fantasy book…everything that happens really could have happened! There isn’t any “magic” like you usually see in these retellings. However, it is easy to see how in later retellings (I’m pretty sure this is the TRUE story) magic was worked in. The characters depended on God, making them clearly Christian. However, this didn’t detract from the delightfulness of the story in the least! The dwarves were changed, but recognizable…and that’s all I’m going to say about that here. Go buy a copy. :) Oh, also, if you’ve read The Healer’s Apprentice, I’m pretty sure you’re going to find a character or two to recognize! I haven’t, but I caught the reference through pure luck. Definitely want to read more by Melanie

posted by CharityU-Austenite on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, positive read

I read the author's first book and loved it. The story of Rose and Wilhelm (the parents in this story). I appreciate how the author keeps the reading both romantic and rated G. You can still feel the romance without explicit detail...it is about emotion.

My only reason...
I read the author's first book and loved it. The story of Rose and Wilhelm (the parents in this story). I appreciate how the author keeps the reading both romantic and rated G. You can still feel the romance without explicit detail...it is about emotion.

My only reason for giving the story three stars is because while i understand it is the author's goal to evangelize about God and His grace; i do feel most of the time she portrays God as a magician. If you just pray in earnest His will accommodate your desires -- and that is not real. Life is not about getting what you want because you pray in earnest. It is about God's will and being open to it even when you do not want to. Praying is great, but the way she portrays it feels almost like superstition...and that's not how it works.

So, on a positive side it was a light, feel good romance with a predictable ending...but i encourage the author to rethink how she promotes the power of prayer and doing God 's will. Life is not that simple. Faith is not that simple nor God's plan that predictable.

posted by Romance2 on January 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    This book was a lovely surprise! I was quite sure from reviews

    This book was a lovely surprise! I was quite sure from reviews of Melanie’s other books, and also from the back cover, that I would enjoy this book…I just didn’t know how much! This is a delightful retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. But it isn’t really a fantasy book…everything that happens really could have happened! There isn’t any “magic” like you usually see in these retellings. However, it is easy to see how in later retellings (I’m pretty sure this is the TRUE story) magic was worked in. The characters depended on God, making them clearly Christian. However, this didn’t detract from the delightfulness of the story in the least! The dwarves were changed, but recognizable…and that’s all I’m going to say about that here. Go buy a copy. :) Oh, also, if you’ve read The Healer’s Apprentice, I’m pretty sure you’re going to find a character or two to recognize! I haven’t, but I caught the reference through pure luck. Definitely want to read more by Melanie

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Enchanting! In The Fairest Beauty, Melanie Dickerson





    Enchanting!








    In The Fairest Beauty, Melanie Dickerson sweeps us away on an enchanting, whimsical journey set during the medieval era in a captivating spin on the alluring classic, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. The reader is immediately transported to another time and place -- one of lords and ladies, exotic castles, a wicked Duchess, and a lovely, charming cottage hidden deep in the forest...the Cottage of the Seven!






    Our beautiful 17 year old heroine, Sophie, is trapped in the clutches of the abusive and evil Duchess Ermingard -- destined to spend the rest of her life in Hohendorf castle as little less than a servant. The duchess is envious of the maiden's enchanting beauty, and keeping Sophie's identity a secret from all, makes it her lifelong pleasure to torment and abuse her.






    A mysterious, handsome nobleman, Gabehart, comes to Sophie's rescue, and whisks her off to safety -- to the Cottage of the Seven, narrowly escaping the duchess and her henchmen. Sophie and Gabe must fight off a budding romance because he informs her that he is already betrothed and shockingly so is Sophie -- to his brother. But just as Gabe and Sophie are being well taken care of by the seven dwarfs, new and life threatening danger appears and long buried secrets arise as darkness threatens to envelop the lovely lass.






    Will the two make it to Sophie's betrothed's castle safely...or is there to be no happily ever after in her destiny? For even should they make it to Hagenheim, can Sophie even dare to think about life without Gabe in it? Will she be able to give up love for the sake of tradition? And will Sophie and Gabe allow God to heal their hearts of past wounds and hurts?






    Melanie Dickerson is one of the finest writers in Christian fiction today. Her stories are filled with adventure, suspense, romance, twists and turns, and heart pounding action! Inside of every woman is still that little girl who once dreamed of her Prince Charming and "happily ever after", and Melanie satisfies that need in each of us to become that young lass again...even if only for a short while. This is a fantasy and the reader should regard it as such. The characters are very endearing...especially the delightful seven dwarfs...and I just love how much Gabehart evolves throughout the book! I really enjoyed this novel and could barely put it down once I got into it...very nicely written, Melanie Dickerson!






    I received an ARC of this novel from Zondervan in exchange for my honest opinion.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is for fairy tale lovers. Sophie has been a scullery m

    This book is for fairy tale lovers. Sophie has been a scullery maid all her life, a prisoner in Honhendorf Castle. Her evil stepmother, Duchess Ermengard, hated Sophie due to her beauty. Sophie had black hair, pale skin, natural red lips and big blue eyes. The duchess throws Sophie into the dungeon for every little thing. Sound familiar? Yup, this story is based on Snow White. When a stranger named Gabeheart comes and tells her she is royalty, betrothed to his brother,Valten, she decides to run away with him. What she didn't expect, is that she would fall in love with Gabe. Can she break her betrothed to Valten, and still live in a loving family, which is all she ever wanted? 
    If you like romance, action, suspense, and fairy tales, then this book is perfect for you. I am not a huge fan of historical fiction, but this book was still really good. The beginning was a bit boring to me because I'm not a Snow White fan, but I still decided to give it a chance. It was so good after the first few chapters! I will tell you guys out there in advance, there is some religious points in the story, as both the main characters, especially Sophie, believe strongly in God and Jesus. Anyway, the book was pretty amazing, and I might even read it again. The flow was smooth and easily understandable to me. 
    I think my favorite part was when Sophie first met Gabe. I thought it was interesting to see how the would react to each other, like a cat reacting to a strange new animal. I didn't know what she would do next. Would she stay? Would she call the Duchess, who murders every trespasser who doesn't come to please her? I couldn't tell and the suspense was killing me!! Nothing from the book really annoyed me. I thought it was a good book. 
    The writing style was actually a favorite of mine. Every chapter or 2, she would switch points of view, so in one chapter, I was Sophie, then in another, I was Gabe. I like that writing style. This is a wonderful book. I totally recommend it to 7-11 graders. The Fairest Beauty is for fairy tale lovers who always want a happy ending. 

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Best Book In The World!!!

    Sweet sweet romance, Love for God, a total must read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Enchanting!

    I've read the Healer's Apprentice and the Merchant's Daughter and loved them, the Fairest Beauty didn't disappoint! I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Janessa, Age 15 Yet another fantastic twist on the f

    Reviewed by Janessa, Age 15
    Yet another fantastic twist on the fairy tales we have all grown up on but with a tantalizing twist! The Fairest Beauty is about a girl named Sophie, whose father is murdered by her stepmother, Duchess Ermegard, which I must say at first it threw me into a fit of laughter as I read it as the notorious meme’s “Ermergerd” aka- OMG. If this was intentional, I give her so mad kudos for sliding this into the book.
    “”You look as b-b-beautiful as a s-s-s-s-sunrise,” Siggy said.”
    I was hooked by page one and could hardly put it down as Sophie suffers at the hands of her stepmother, as she has been raised no better than a house servant, unknowingly rightful heir to the estate and her title. After sixteen years held captive as a measly servant, one of the hired help fakes her death and escapes to Duke Wilhelm, whose eldest son was betrothed to Sophie as an infant. Since the eldest son’s leg is broken, Gabe, the younger son, goes to rescue her and they quickly find themselves entangled in a forbidden romance. The book just keeps getting better from here on out, and so many twists and angles that it truly deserves six stars!
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review* 
     *You can view the original review at Musing with Crayolakym and San Francisco & Sacramento City Book Review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Melanie Dickerson: Best Author EVER!

    Melanie is my favoritest author! I've read all the books she has published and I absolutely love them all. I think this one is my favorite though. Did you know she is writing a new book called: The Captive Maiden? I can not wait for this one. I LOVED the Fairest Beauty and I can not wit for th next book. Definately a 600 star book. :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    The Fairest Beauty was a fantastic, enchanting, and wonderful bo

    The Fairest Beauty was a fantastic, enchanting, and wonderful book. I had read The Healers Apprentice and was really looking foward to this book, and I was definitely not dissapointed. This book was written so beautifully and I was  captivated from the beginning.  Melanie Dickerson has a true gift for writing wonderful books with interesting relatable  characters, and making the reader feel what  the characters are feeling.
    I loved the characters in the book especially Sophie and Gabe and the 7.  I also loved that Sophie and Gabe asked God for help and strength, more YA books need to be like that.  It was really nice that Gabe was Rose and Wilhelms son from The Healers Apprentice, and got to hear about them as well.
    This is one of my favorite books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Love of a teen that never reads

    I never read but when i got this book for a school book report i couldent put it down ! I acually like the prayer cause it shows to trust in God and allways take His way before yours:)
    LOVE U ALL
    A teenager girl Christian
    God loves you to the moon and back infinity times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Have a nice day and tell someone u love them and this book:) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great retelling of snow white!

    I love fairy tales and I love to read how different authors spin the stories I grew up reading. I read the reviews on this book before deciding to purchase and as one of the reviews says; this book was a complete surprise! I loved it so much I purchased another book by the author and am now on my 3rd book from Melaine Dickerson. So far these re- tellings have been great reads. I highly recommend them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me repeat...Loved it, loved it, loved it!! Melanie Dickerso


    Let me repeat...Loved it, loved it, loved it!! Melanie Dickerson has done it again! The Fairest Beauty is a wonderfully written new twist on Snow White and the Seven Drawfs. Melanie has such an amazing ability to pull you into the story, and keep you there from the very beginning of the book until the very last line. Once I started reading it, I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! I highly recommend this book, I would give it 10 stars if I could!!! Melanie is truly one of my favorite authors. Keep 'em coming, Melanie, Keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Could hardly wait for this book!

    I llllllllllloooooooovvvvveeeeeedddddd this book ss much as the last one! Sophie and gabe are so sweet! I couldnt stop reading it from the minute i started! I need to read the next book as soon as it comes out!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Award-winning Melanie Dickerson pens her third young adult novel

    Award-winning Melanie Dickerson pens her third young adult novel loosely based on the story of Snow White.

    In The Fairest Beauty, Duchess Ermengard fakes the death of her stepdaughter Sophie, driving her husband, Duke Baldewin, to disappear in despair. For over fifteen years, she convinces everyone the scullery maid Sophie she torments, is only an orphan girl. Even Sophie is unaware of her true identity. A former nurse, the only one left with knowledge of the deception, fakes her own death and travels to Sophie’s betrothed. But Valten is laid up with a broken leg and unable to come. His impulsive younger brother, Gabe, decides to rescue Sophie on his own.

    He tells Sophie of her true identity, and convinces Sophie to escape with him because her life is in danger. When Gabe is severely injured by pursuing guards, they take refuge in the Cottage of the Seven. While he recuperates, Sophie and Gabe discover they are falling in love, but they are both betrothed to others. News reaches Gabe that Sophie’s father is not dead but alive, and he leaves to find out the truth. While he is away, the Duchess, in the guise of an old woman, visits Sophie in the Cottage of Seven with the intent of killing her.

    Like her earlier books, the faith element is clearly evident. Sophie prays for her stepmother instead of hating her. Both Gabe and Sophie struggle with past hurts needing God’s healing. They also struggle to seek God’s will and act honorably with others.

    Dickerson is a masterful storyteller with a carefully crafted plot, richly drawn characters, and detailed medieval setting. The reader is pulled into the story, forgetting it is based on a familiar tale. All of her books are a delightful retelling, but this one is her best so far!
    Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sophie is a maid in Duchess Ermengard¿s castle. She has never un

    Sophie is a maid in Duchess Ermengard’s castle. She has never understood why the duchess hates her so much until a handsome young man arrives, claiming she is the duchess’s stepdaughter. This young man, Gabe, also wants to rescue her from the duchess’s service and take her to meet his brother, to whom she was betrothed at birth. This could be Sophie’s change to get away from the duchess and be free. But how can she be certain Gabe is who he says he is?




    Gabe went after his brother’s betrothed to prove to his family that he was capable. He’s not supposed to have romantic inclinations toward the girl. It’s impossible not to, though, with her beauty and kindness and knowing all she’s suffered at the hands of Duchess Ermengard.




    When the duchess sends her soldiers after them, the two flee to the Cottage of the Seven, where a group of outcasts take them in. The longer they stay there, the stronger their feelings for each other grow. What will they do?




    Oh how I love Melanie Dickerson’s fairy tale romances. Her research is done so well that I feel like I’m in a medieval time and place. And her characters are always so endearing that I can’t put down the book until I’ve read the whole thing. I especially liked reading about the men in the Cottage of the Seven. They were all such fun characters. If you like fairy tale retellings, romance, and a historical setting and have never read any of Dickerson’s novels, you must! They’re fabulous! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Classic Snow White Tale with some twists! Melanie Dickerson wea

    Classic Snow White Tale with some twists!

    Melanie Dickerson weaves a beautiful Christian re-telling of Snow White in The Fairest Beauty!  I was hooked from the first page all the way until the last page!  The pages flew by so quickly!  It was the kind of story that you just want to sit and read without stopping.  The characters were amazing, and I loved the adventure, action and budding romance!  Ms. Dickerson added her own twists to the original tale that I really appreciated.  It made a story that you expect to know everything about surprising and much more interesting!  The Fairest Beauty had everything I love and need in a good book!  I highly recommend it to all fairy tale fans!  Five stars and I hope that Melanie Dickerson is writing more soon!  
    I received a copy of this book for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Simply enchanting:)

    This is a wonderful story with good christian values and the struggle of wordly problems. If you are a fan of disney's snow white this book will not disappoint you! In fact it may be better than the original!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Good read

    Read all her books enjoyed every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2