Customer Reviews for

The Fairest of Them All: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Think you know everything there is to know about Rapunzel? YOU

Think you know everything there is to know about Rapunzel?

YOU DON’T.

The Fairest of Them All is a magical and imaginative story that explores everything that happens when fairytale characters don’t have
their happily ever after.

Oh. My. God.

I’d initially picked u...
Think you know everything there is to know about Rapunzel?

YOU DON’T.

The Fairest of Them All is a magical and imaginative story that explores everything that happens when fairytale characters don’t have
their happily ever after.

Oh. My. God.

I’d initially picked up this book thinking it would be a mild, fluffy read. I didn’t expect the stories to differ much from their original
companions (other than Rapunzel being Snow White’s stepmom), but what I got from this story was a wonderful surprise.

This book was so captivating. From the prologue, I was immediately hooked.


Rapunzel was the protagonist here. Forget about the singing and dancing Disney character, because she’s nothing like that.
Rapunzel evolves in this book many times.

At the beginning, we see her as the young and beautiful girl who let a prince fall into bed with her. She’s then left alone to pick up the
pieces of her broken heart while the Prince marries another. In this part, you can’t help but feel overwhelming pity for the girl.

Then, when Rapunzel finally gets what she wanted: her happily ever after, we start to see her desperation at wanting to be the
 fairest in the entire Kingdom. We see her slow but steady descent into “evil”.

After that, when Rapunzel is finally consumed by her desperation, she decides to get rid of the only thing standing in her way
from being the fairest: Snow White.

I’ve got to applaud Carolyn Turgeon. She created an amazing character change in Rapunzel. It was amazing seeing the heroine
 turn into The Evil Queen. We got to see into her innermost dreams and desires, but also her fears and motivations. She wasn’t
 Evil because she chose it, but because she was given reasons to be so.

It was also nice to see than in this book, Snow White wasn’t the all-loving, forgiving saint who’s represented in every story.  
Here we see real personality from her; we may even dislike her as much as The Evil Queen does! (I know I came to dislike her
in one point of the book!)

This story was nicely crafted. The way Carolyn Turgeon intertwined both Snow White’s and Rapunzel’s stories, and added a
 dark aspect to it was… mind-blowing. There’s a really huge plot twist that I was not expecting in this book, that when it happened,
it left me shocked.

I definitely was not prepared for that. I also wasn’t prepared for the other fairytale that was suddenly intertwined at the end.  
When I reached the 93% mark, I was desperately hoping the book never ended.

I think the only drawback of this book was its pacing. At times the book felt like it dragged on and on, without any significant
 events occurring. I think this has to do mainly with the fact that there was a lot of description. Don’t get me wrong the descriptions
where beautiful, they were great, but it’s easy to lose track of the story when you’re drowned in description.

Overall, Carolyn Turgeon creates such a wonderful story, that you’ll be left dreading to pass the last page.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

posted by MarianneLee_092 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Another book made unreadable by plot spoilers telling every fetail of the book, then bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. Face it...its not an honest review! It is a bought review! Call it what it is. So stop telling the entire st...
Another book made unreadable by plot spoilers telling every fetail of the book, then bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. Face it...its not an honest review! It is a bought review! Call it what it is. So stop telling the entire story in your review. Just state if it was good or not.

posted by 8888649 on February 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Fantastic book!

    I can't get enough of Carolyn Turgeon's books. It's so frustrating to do a search for books and all you get back is Twilight teenager books or stupid romance novels with cheesy covers. It only took me two days to get through this book because once you start, you can't put it down. The characters draw you in from the first sentence. You feel like you are in the book yourself, living Repunzels life. If you like fairy tales but you are an adult, you have to read these books. Please Ms. Turgeon...write more!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    I love this re-telling of a classic story! It gives so much dept

    I love this re-telling of a classic story! It gives so much depth to characters we thought we knew, while still being believable.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great combo of fairy tales

    This was an awesome interwininf of storyies

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Beautiful and haunting, this is the kind of book that sweeps you

    Beautiful and haunting, this is the kind of book that sweeps you away into another world. Yes, it's inventive - the plot merges Rapunzel and Snow White's stories - and a hell of a fun read. (How great to read a novel that lives up to the "impossible to put down" designation!) But I also loved the richness of the characters. These are multi-dimensional human beings, conflicted and confused, just like we all are. Even at her most "evil" I could never hate Rapunzel. She was too real, too human. I felt disgust at her behavior, but I always understood it. And, as always, Turgeon's language was just pure poetry. I'm a longtime fan of her's and I feel sometimes like I'm reading her language I could happily drown in it, I'm so immersed. She really does create another world in The Fairest of Them All. And although it's a sometimes terrifying, tragic one, it's one I didn't want to leave.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Spellbinding novel about how and why, exactly, wicked queens bec

    Spellbinding novel about how and why, exactly, wicked queens become wicked. In concept, a mashup of Rapunzel and Snow White, but so fully developed it feels like its own fairy tale, especially considering Turgeon's choice to make Rapunzel a powerful enchantress in her own right, before she ever even lets down her hair. It's a pleasure to watch Rapunzel's slow descent into evil, and Turgeon's ability to fully inhabit every moment of this novel--to make it sing with life and sensuality--is breathtaking. Fans of Gregory Maguire's WICKED and Marion Zimmer Bradley's THE MISTS OF AVALON, take note: this one's for you! - Mary McMyne

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    This book was so inventive and good. I read it all in one sittin

    This book was so inventive and good. I read it all in one sitting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Gorgeous Mash-Up

    Prose so beautiful, it made me weep + a bonafide page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1