BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fairy Book

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    A Fun Fantasy Romp

    The energy and authentic voice of its 9-year-old author (perhaps with a little structural guidance from mom-author/editor) make this a very fun read. The mix between old-fashioned fantasy storytelling and contemporary girl power with some humorous twists is refreshing. The illustrations add character and you want to see the main character succeed.

    This short story and the poems that follow also should inspire pre-teen readers in their own creative pursuits. Get writing and get drawing! Now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Wonderful book that's hard to put down

    The Fairy Book is a wonderful story about a young girl, Isabel, who must fight off a dark sorcerer. The story is told in different styles of poetry and is quite entertaining. When I originally read the description of the book, I must admit, I wondered if it would be the type of story I'd enjoy reading. But it stole my heart by page 2 and never let it go. Any pre-teen would love the story as Isabel outsmarts Rashkai. With just enough reality running throughout the book, it seems almost real! But, of course, it is a fairy tale and a very good one indeed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read!

    The Fairy Book is a wonderfully entertaining story about a girl named Isabel who is chosen by the fairies to fight off a dark sorcerer named Rashkai. The story is written in various styles of poetry, which combine and flow beautifully. In writing this story, Svetlana Kovalkova-McKenna teams up with her 9-year-old daughter Alexandra. Alexandra's illustrations are interspersed throughout the story. At the end of the book, Svetlana has included examples of all styles of poetry written by Alexandra.

    Both The Fairy Book story and the variety of poetry had me smiling as I read. The world Svetlana and Alexandra created is imaginative, captivating, and just plain fun. This mother-daughter duo is a talented pair and an inspiration for all of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    Fun & Sassy

    Fun and Sassy were the two words that sprang into my head after reading The Fairy Book. I loved Isabel's character, she made me smile. The pace of the book romped along at a good pace and the story flowed well, keeping you engaged all the way through.

    I thought the poetry was original, and in this case it really helped the story stay snappy and fresh.

    I also liked the examples of poetry at the end of the book. It helped a poetry challenged person like me understand the story more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    A fairy story with a difference

    I loved this story. The poetry and style of writing created some very colourful imagery, which flowed well into some beautiful moments. Elements of humour added a grown up feel to some parts of the story, which I feel highlighted the young authors move through life.
    I read this to my friends children and they loved the magic and also the modern elements that they could relate too. I am looking forward to reading more from this young author, as this was a classic modern fairy story with a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Dyeydhd

    Eudysyd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    What a wonderful children's Book!

    When I read the first book by the mother/daughter team of Alexandra and Svetlana Kovalkova McKenna, I was hooked. This beautifully written story has all of the magical elements expected in a pre-teen fairy tale. Readers will be captivated from the first page as the story of Isabel and Rashkai unfolds. There is the proper amount of challenge and believable solutions to each problem, allowing the story to teach life's lessons while being entertaining. It is well written, poetic, and the kind of book that will draw a child and parent together as they read. If you have children or take part in a library reading program, you don't want to miss the opportunity of sharing this book. I am looking forward to reading and sharing, 'Isabel and the School for Sorceresses,' the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Ilikefairiesforever

    nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2