Customer Reviews for

The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

I cant wait much longer!!!

The suspence is killing me!

posted by 16901430 on July 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

It pains me to leave a mediocre review for a book series that i

It pains me to leave a mediocre review for a book series that i have come to love, but the fact remains that this installment pales in comparison to its predecessors. I finished this book extremely fast because it was without a doubt the shortest installment of the main...
It pains me to leave a mediocre review for a book series that i have come to love, but the fact remains that this installment pales in comparison to its predecessors. I finished this book extremely fast because it was without a doubt the shortest installment of the main series. The story line lacked the action pack, suspense filled writing that fans have come to know and love from this series. I hope that the next installment will be better than this one.

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    It pains me to leave a mediocre review for a book series that i

    It pains me to leave a mediocre review for a book series that i have come to love, but the fact remains that this installment pales in comparison to its predecessors. I finished this book extremely fast because it was without a doubt the shortest installment of the main series. The story line lacked the action pack, suspense filled writing that fans have come to know and love from this series. I hope that the next installment will be better than this one.

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Very disappointing. For the past three years my sons and I have

    Very disappointing. For the past three years my sons and I have looked forward to getting the next installment of this series. Not so much anymore. The Fall of Five is not well focused. It seems to wallow around in uncertainty and angst. There is no real character development. All the characters that we have come to like so much in the first three books never do anything in this book. They do not grow. They are not particularly interesting (possible an argument can be made that Marina is not quite as flat as the other characters in this book). Cookie cutter, cardboard, flat.
    Lots of cursing in this book. The characters curse so much their IQs drop 20 points. The F bomb is even dropped a couple of times. Really, if the author thinks this is the only way young people communicate, he needs to meet some classier young people. If the author communicates this way, he/she fails again. Hey Pitticus, get some class. You created some noble characters, let them act nobly.
    This book is worth the time to read if you are invested in the characters, but if the next book has the same failings, I will likely discontinue reading the series.

    19 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Great series but...

    Like most people have been saying, this is a filler book, which I found very annoying. If you're going to release a filler book, make sure you do so 3-4 months before you release the upcoming one. Because filler books leave people kind of empty handed and authors tend to lose fans at a faster rate. I am still a fan of this series of course, despite the nauseating ongoing romance with Four and Sarah.

    Can I just comment on how needy they are? It's gross and redundant. If anything, Four needs a more relevant love interest and I truly thought something was going to happen with Six--she is a better match in my opinion.

    Five's little "twist" story was actually predictable, the way he was introduced into the series was just weak and it seemed as if the author just threw it up at last minute..

    Eight's death was devastating and I really wish it hadn't been his end. I would have wanted to see something more spark between him and Seven.

    Oh! Another thing that sort of pushes my buttons, why keep a human name? I mean some of the garde haven't kept their human names so what is the point of keeping them. I get the it's supposed to let "John" have a solid identity but he already has one. Wouldn't it be cool if unlocking their real names is some last piece of the puzzle or some element like that. I have really thought about this.

    Twist endings are my favorite, if they are set up phenomenally. Like, what if there was more to the Loric battle than any of the garde or mogadorians think? What if, to preserve the species, not only did the loric rely on the nine garde but maybe...idk finally writing this theory out feels weird and not all together but like maybe they "preserved" some loric people. Haha like kept them frozen. That would give the garde a bigger army and a better chance of reproducing in Lorien. It's a theory..

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Just finished the whole book in one night. Not good but not bad

    Just finished the whole book in one night. Not good but not bad either. It's like a filler book. 70% dull and about their love stories, 30% about the main storyline. The only parts that has an impact were the last parts. Sad though, too much questions left unanswered when you reach the end. For me, It didn't deserve my one-year wait. Too short

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Eh... not good

    Eight's death was sad but Five was just an idiot. AND PITTACUS IS DEAD!!!!! WHY!!!

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Ok. Here we go.

    *sigh* This book seemed slightly like a filler book. One that prepares you for the next one. I mean the persectives kept jumping around that I found it hard to get attached to the story line. Also all of the charaters were focused on their love lives and and not on defeating the Mogs. Prioritize people. It would do you wonders of good. Also I feel so sad for Eight. WHY! The one thing I loved about this book was how awesome 9 was.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    X

    This book was a little disapointing because it had way too many swear words in it. The first book had a manageble number but this was out of control. Also I didn't like how four and sarah shared a bed. That just took it to a whole new level. I mean they ate only 15 and 16. I'm going to keep on with the series because I'm hooked but any series over three books has the later of the books not living up to par. Of course that excludes the Harry potter series.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Sorry

    Sorry i usually rate books by him a five but it disappointed me. I know there were parts about love in the previous books but this was so mushy. Most of the time i was like,"get back to the action!" But my favorite perpestive was Marina's. But overall this story is heartbreaking because of the ending. Can't wait for book 5!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Whyyyyyy

    Overall, disappointing. The fact that the characters swear so much makes them seem unintelligent. It seemed like a book the author put together at the last moment. *Spoiler Alert* Im kind of disappointed at the way Five changed sides, the author didnt bother to really give him a personallity. I also expected a little more between Seven and Eight before he was murdered. Its also kinda gross the way theres hinting of Nine hooking up with Ella. Im very disappointed at be forced to wait a whole year for this...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    The book was okay, but nowhere as great as the others in the ser

    The book was okay, but nowhere as great as the others in the series. It almost felt as if the authors were losing focus in the book. Admittedly, there are about 6 main characters in this book and the authors seemed like they were having a hard time keeping up. There several places in the book, where the authors forgot whom was talking/thinking and it cause disturbance in the reading (such as pg 234) and the description of characters changed a few times (pg 140 vs pg 267). As a reader, I had to correct the mistake myself to allow for smooth flow. I hope next is better and goes back to the ease of the first three.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Enjoyable series

    I enjoyed the series however feel this last book was lacking in comparison to the previous 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    It's a great book but....i wanted more Marina and Eight. And Nin

    It's a great book but....i wanted more Marina and Eight. And Nine cause Nine is awesome. so i can say i am disappointed. Like why???
    *SPOILER ALERT* i can't believe eight had to die. He just shouldnt have...no no
     no. I wanted more Marina and Eight! and now that he's dead....idk if i still wanna read it. I honestly wanted Six and Four to get together cause i dont really like Sarah but...at the same time i wanted SIx and Sam to get together.
    But Eight?!?! Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo i cant.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Spoiler Alert*** When I first started this series, I loved it!

    Spoiler Alert***

    When I first started this series, I loved it! The first, second, and third installments were fun to read, the story lines creative and new.
    I was so used to all this Young Adult Dystopian novels, so when I found this series I was excited for something different.
    Now I hate to say this but the fall of five did not live up to my expectations. The other books were heart pounding-ly awesome!
    What happened to that?

    Pros about the book:
    Marina and Eights relationship. They were so cute and just about the only (okay they weren't really together but whatever) couple
    that I liked. The book is pretty easy read (in my opinion), and is shorter than the first three. Thats not much of a pro for me but some
    people like that I guess.

    Cons about the book:
     This book was missing the action packed awesomeness that the other books bring. It usually leaves me having to guess about what
    will happen next but that didn't really happen this time. There was also lots of swearing. I don't know why but that just kind of made me
    mad. Not that I haven't said a few choice words in my life but it was just an unnecessary  add to the story, In my opinion it would have
     been better without the cursing. I don't really like anyones relationship except Marina and Eight. They were cute :) UNTIL HE DIED.
    I wish he hadn't cause I literally read that book for more Marina and Eight. The rest of it was kind ugh boring lovey dovey stuff.
    Ok and does anyone else find that the whole Ella/9 romance insanely creepy??? Like she is a little kid! And even though she can grow
    older and stuff, that just makes me feel uncomfortable. I kinda hate the whole Sarah/John relationship. I don't know I just feel like Sarah
    That was just an unnecessary add to this book. I don't think anyone really cares about their relationship anymore. Like it was cute in
    the first book but now its just irrelevant. I could tell Five would be evil in the end, I felt like Pittacus Lore needed to develop his
    character a little more and have him get along better with the other characters in order for me to believe he was actually on their side.
    I did not like his character, especially the fact that he killed Eight! I'm am still secretly hoping that Eight will somehow come back alive,
    but I know that will never happen.

    To finish this very long book review (sorry bout that) I would recommend reading this book. Even if it is just a filler book, and is not
    as exciting as the other books, important stuff happens that you can't skip or else you probably wouldn't understand the revenge of
    seven (when it comes out). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Come on

    I liked it, but then an unforseen ending kills one of my favorite characters... ugghh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Don't read the reviews unless you want to be spoiled! Idiots are

    Don't read the reviews unless you want to be spoiled! Idiots are posting spoilers. Why are you people so stupid!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Wtf

    It would have been better to read from six's point of view. John and sarah are just getting more annoying . the whole thing with five was obvious af . I hope bk is alright . And its cool to see marina get stronger .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    This is a weak link in the series

    This is a weak link in the series. And it really pains me say say that but its the truth. The book starts off really nice and the middle is good but the end of the book fell to pieces.
    The book is really short, the charcaters are saying the F word,
    Not to mention they kill off my favourite charcater and five is a total rat! This is the first time sense I started these books that I am not sitting on the edge of my set waiting for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    So-so

    I was really disappointed that the author decided to use a lot more curse words. He even used a F word a couple times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Good but too brief!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I would have liked the book to have been alot longer but overall still enjoyed it. There were some points
    when i didnt know who was really talking until later in the conversations but it still was good.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Eight, why are you so AWESOOME EIGHT WHY ARE YOU SO AWESOME

    Seriously eight you should have let nine die. YOURE JUST TO NICE. You made this book so freaking sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2