Customer Reviews for

The Family Corleone

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

"If you have any knowledge of The Godfather you will love t

"If you have any knowledge of The Godfather you will love this book. It’s a perfect addition to the Corleone saga. For me the best part was the way it fills in the backstory that is only hinted at in the movies and original book. ... When you see this bo...
"If you have any knowledge of The Godfather you will love this book. It’s a perfect addition to the Corleone saga. For me the best part was the way it fills in the backstory that is only hinted at in the movies and original book. ... When you see this book, buy it. It is written with love for the characters and respect for Puzo. It is also a story that won’t quit and I couldn’t stop reading. Falco brought me back to a world I love and did it perfectly. As far as I’m concerned this is THE BOOK to buy in 2012."

Jon Jordon in Crimespree Magazine

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Although Falco's writing is more Puzo-esque than Winegardner's r

Although Falco's writing is more Puzo-esque than Winegardner's re-characterization of the original story, there seems little need to expand on an incredible classic like The Godfather. Mario Puzo carefully wove an eloquent tapestry of events and characters, that for the...
Although Falco's writing is more Puzo-esque than Winegardner's re-characterization of the original story, there seems little need to expand on an incredible classic like The Godfather. Mario Puzo carefully wove an eloquent tapestry of events and characters, that for the most part were portrayed in the trilogy of Godfather films. If any Godfather ardent fan, casual reader, or film watcher cannot link the storyline together without supplementary books by Falco or Winegardner, then they may be missing the point of Puzo's elaborately detailed outline. Some stories like The Godfather need to end with the reader's interpretation of finality. The third film in the trilogy answers questions never posed in the original book, although Anthony's legacy (Michael's son) was clearly defined as an opera singer with the position as head of the family bequeathed to Sonny's illegitimate son, Vincent. I found the subsequent books pale in comparison to the original on which they were based, and the most recent Falco version, less satisfying than I had anticipated. I love The Godfather as written by Mario Puzo. I only wish that he were still alive to continue writing his saga in his own style, his own voice. As other authors attempt to fill in gaps within the original book, they also seem to distort Puzo's original intent. Ultimately, the "sequels" seem more like supercilious bits of edited storyline of the original text rather than worthy additions to a great story that needs no further novelization.

posted by 1656030 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    "If you have any knowledge of The Godfather you will love t

    "If you have any knowledge of The Godfather you will love this book. It’s a perfect addition to the Corleone saga. For me the best part was the way it fills in the backstory that is only hinted at in the movies and original book. ... When you see this book, buy it. It is written with love for the characters and respect for Puzo. It is also a story that won’t quit and I couldn’t stop reading. Falco brought me back to a world I love and did it perfectly. As far as I’m concerned this is THE BOOK to buy in 2012."

    Jon Jordon in Crimespree Magazine

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Although Falco's writing is more Puzo-esque than Winegardner's r

    Although Falco's writing is more Puzo-esque than Winegardner's re-characterization of the original story, there seems little need to expand on an incredible classic like The Godfather. Mario Puzo carefully wove an eloquent tapestry of events and characters, that for the most part were portrayed in the trilogy of Godfather films. If any Godfather ardent fan, casual reader, or film watcher cannot link the storyline together without supplementary books by Falco or Winegardner, then they may be missing the point of Puzo's elaborately detailed outline. Some stories like The Godfather need to end with the reader's interpretation of finality. The third film in the trilogy answers questions never posed in the original book, although Anthony's legacy (Michael's son) was clearly defined as an opera singer with the position as head of the family bequeathed to Sonny's illegitimate son, Vincent. I found the subsequent books pale in comparison to the original on which they were based, and the most recent Falco version, less satisfying than I had anticipated. I love The Godfather as written by Mario Puzo. I only wish that he were still alive to continue writing his saga in his own style, his own voice. As other authors attempt to fill in gaps within the original book, they also seem to distort Puzo's original intent. Ultimately, the "sequels" seem more like supercilious bits of edited storyline of the original text rather than worthy additions to a great story that needs no further novelization.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading of the Coreleone family from the time the children were young. In the original Godfather I always wanted more of the Sonny character and this book brought that to me. I very much enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    A Family Reunion

    I am only 50 pages into this book and I am very happy to be reading it. This book is spot-on as a prequel to The Godafather. So many characters are coming back to life with each page...you can picture them vividly only younger.

    Since its based on a screenplay that Mario Puzo had written, its no wonder the book seems to be a wonderful complement to the original. Not only does this book round out the original story (by filling in the pieces that the film The Godfather Part II did not), it also makes The Godfather's Return and Revenge seem even more awful because the writing in this book very Puzo.

    Awhile back, I wrote that I thought Mark Winegardner's books had their moments but after having started to read The Family Corleone...I see even moreso that Mark Winegardner was merely writing his books out of thin air as opposed to rounding out the original characters as older people. He simply didn't involve the original storylines enough and brought in way too many characters that I didn't care about. He basically left Puzo's style out of those books.

    Anyhow, it's good to have the Corleones back.

    Hopefully, there is one more book left that could possibly flesh out the end of the Corleones and fix the damage of not only Winegardner's books but The Godfather Part III as well.

    It would be great to see Michael's son grow up not only to take over the family busines but to be the last one in the family business. Whether he dies, goes to prison or becomes a rat wouldn't matter so long as the story finally had a good ending. They might even call the book: Centanni - 100 years of the Corleones.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It is a worthy addition to the Godfather saga, but they could ha

    It is a worthy addition to the Godfather saga, but they could have left out the Lucca Brazzi storyline and just focused on Sonny. Sonny was always one of my favorite characters from the original story and it was fascinating to find out how he became involved in his father's business. The Lucca Brazzi story was boring and I just wanted to get through it to get to the development of Sonny's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Posted below by accident before i was finished...

    ......to give the series story-line some continuity, but it makes his omissiin from Godfather Part I even more glaring. A figure that big would have been around during the whole Sollozo war. He needed to be intruduced as a much lower-level gangster in this book, to explain his non-involvement in Godfather I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    nice revisit to family Corleone

    good book, brings back the Corleone's with a vengeance. Fills in the missing sagas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have just started this novel on Nook and I am already fascinat

    I have just started this novel on Nook and I am already fascinated with the characters. Ed Falcon has a way of drawing the reader into the family and I can't wait to know them all more personally. I re-read "The Godfather " in preparation for this novel and so far I am not disappointed. Read this if you love "The Godfather"! It will be on your shelf when you a good character fix.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Worth every minute!

    I enjoyed this novel so much, I read it in one sitting. If you are a fan of the orignal by Puzo this will satisfy any "JONES" you may have for more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    The Family Corleone is a triumph of epic proportions! This is th

    The Family Corleone is a triumph of epic proportions! This is the Godfather novel that we've been waiting for, capturing the raw emotions first tapped by Mario Puzo, and drawing even deeper from that well to take us inside the head, hearts and souls of Luca Brasi, Sonny Corleone, Clemenza, Tessio and others...while creating memorable, highly-believable characters. The reader gets to know "who" Vito Corleone really is and the depth of his love for his family; while cutting a menacing figure who is feared by his enemies. Bravo, Mr. Falco, for exceeding my expectations! Can a post-Michael Corleone family novel be in the not-too-distant future?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    A summer read

    Not bad for a book to read while on vacation. It's not a book that you can't put down, nor does it build to an exciting ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    A light read

    If you are a fan of the previous Godfather books, you will be greatly disappointed. Granted, the books takes place when the Corleone children are younger and in school, but there is very little to keep your interest compared to the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    If you are a fan of The Godfather, this is a must read.

    This gives the back story to how the Corleones got there, especially young Sonny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Very interesting, highly recommended

    I just finished "The Family Corleone" and was very satisfied with the read.

    I am very interested in the screen play the novel was based off of. From what I remember reading "The Godfather" 10+ years ago, most of the back story seems to be consistent.

    One thing I really liked, or better yet, one thing I hate about "Prequels", is they seem to tie up all loose ends in a single scene. "Revenge of the Sith" for example, lead you right into "A New Hope". "The Family Corleone" instead, actually has various layers and depth to the story, not just a flick of the switch leading you into "The Godfather". I hope that makes sense.

    Highly recommended for any Godfather fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I don't think the author even read the original. He changed a c

    I don't think the author even read the original. He changed a couple of things mentioned in the original. You CAN'T change the story! For instance, Sonny witnessed his dad kill Fanucci. However, Mr Falco changed the victim to Tom Hagens drunk father?!!? Really?
    There are other issues as well, but this one really irks me. The Godfather is a classic, this book is not even close.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Could not put the book down. Stunning.

    Could not put the book down. Stunning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Garbage,,trash,horrible, waste of money and time

    Garbage,trash,horrible. Waste of money and time. Insulting to italians and irish.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2