Customer Reviews for

The Fannie Farmer Cookbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    Eternal Usefulness

    For day-to-day practical use, The Fannie Farmer Cookbook is my standard for reliability. I have worn out three FF Cookbooks in my 30+ years of marriage. My daughters use theirs and I recommend it for everything from spaghetti sauce, beef stew and roast beef to lemon squares, fruit preserves, and Lazy Daisy Cake.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Excellent Cookbook

    Although this book has receipes it's a cookbook. It teaches you how to cook. It's the one book I have used consistently. It has a lot of long lost knowledge on cooking. It's very informative. Anyone can follow a receipe but this book teaches you how to cook from scratch because it educates you on cooking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    A must have in every kitchen!

    The is our cookbook bible! It has the answer to every cooking question we have and some of the best recipes. Some times we wonder why we have any other cookbooks in our house. This is the book we go to every time and has never steered us wrong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Excellent cookbook! Worth every penny!

    This is a great cookbook. The recipes turn out great every time and are easy to follow. There are a wide assortment of recipes and chances are this cookbook will have the recipe you need making other cookbooks unnecessary. In addition, it has a number of helpful hints on picking out the best produce and basic food preparation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    The perfect book to begin the cooking adventure

    This is the first cook book I was given. In fact my first cookbook.
    This is the basic primer for cooking. Easy to use, easy to find recipes and easy to follow. It isn't gourmet in its content, but if you want to learn how to cook, without shelling out thousands to a school, this is the best place to start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    A true cover all cookbook

    One of the most comprehensive cookbooks I own - so glad I bought it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    The only cookbook I use!!

    I have used this cookbook exclusively for years!!! It contains the everything!!! It provides the easiest to the most challenging of recipies. Best of all, it truly is the most comprehensive, it includes information to host dinners, parties and intimate entertaining. It provides listings of staples for the kitchen, and explaines kitchen equipment. Both front and back covers have tips, measurements, and cooking temperatures for quick & easy referral. This is a great gift for new and well-seasoned cooks alike!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    For those who don't know how to boil water

    This book is terrific at giving a novice chef basic instruction on cooking 101; Including how to boil an egg, bake a ham to cutting an artichoke properly. It is organized so well and so simple to use, making a meal like mom's is easy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Beautiful book!

    This makes a great gift, I have an older version & gave this to my sister for Christmas. It is a to go to recipe book for about everything on cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Love it

    I have one of the originals and this 100th anniversary is great and easier to read. Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Most cookbooks are fun; this one is a must.

    When I didn't know how to cook, this book took me by the hand and made me bold and unafraid. Every recipe has been a great success. When you cook everything from scratch you stop buying prepared foods, and your savings at the grocery store are impressive. This is required reading for anyone going out on their own, as cooking and kitchen management are important to health and finances. This is my third or fourth volume -- I've killed them all! I resolve to be kinder to this one by using sticky flags to mark the page edges instead of bookmarks that break its binding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Generations of great cooking

    I remember this cookbook being around our kitchen since I was a little girl. It was the first cookbook I purchased as an adult and have never been happier with it. There is a recipe for EVERYTHING in this book and they are fairly simple for the most part. I have used mine so often that I have gone through several copies because of torn and worn out pages. It is an essential part of every kitchen and I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to cook or bake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    love it

    great home cooking at its best. every recipe I have tried works great. My mother used this book also, and she is a great cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Cookbook

    got this to replace my tattered paper back version. It is a good basic cookbook for most people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    back in print

    I am sooo glad that this is back in print now. Fannie Farmer is my all time gift for weddings or young people setting up house. There is absolutely everything in here. and everything from scratch. We made "sponge cake" from this book. Dynomite!! and very good for preparing cuts of meat and looking up ingredientss for regular stuff like bottle salad dressings that used to be made at home all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Best Cookbook Ever

    My mother has asked for another copy for Christmas..she wore out the one I bought her 5-6 yrs ago.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2