Customer Reviews for

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Why aren't there 6 stars?

This book is beautiful! The story is heartwarming. Anyone who loves books will love this one!

posted by 3191205 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book

I got a sample of this book and I loved it! I just wish my mom would buy it for me!

posted by 10253358 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Why aren't there 6 stars?

    This book is beautiful! The story is heartwarming. Anyone who loves books will love this one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great story framing the importance and joy of reading

    Morris Lessmore loved to write in his journal and read his books. Then one day, a storm came destroying his house and his precious books. Wandering alone, Morris was upset and lonely, until one day he sees a woman flying by, surrounded with books. Noticing how sad Morris is without his books, she gives him her favorite, a walking, talking, and flying tale.
    Back surrounded by the books that he loves and his journal, Morris listens and reads all of their tales. He continues to write in his journal until he is old and grey and his book is finished. With his own story complete, he leaves his friends and his own story behind, for someone new to discover.
    Delightful and well-illustrated, the love Morris has of books and the great companions they make shines through. Although the writing might be hard to follow for younger readers, the creativity behind the storyline heralds the importance and timelessness of great literature.
    *The Inspiration for the Academy Award winning short film by the same title. Recommended for readers age 4 -8.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Best book ever

    This story really touches your heart. Its how books are supposed to feel. They are suppose to fly and jump around you. This story is worth it but after you are done with the book, look up The Fantastic Flying books of Mr. Morris Lessmore 2011. Its better than the book. Both are amazing!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    For Booklovers

    Accompanied by brilliant illustratiions this story touches anyone who has a love of books. Some stories strike cords in children and adults, this is a wonderful picture book for discussion about why books can be so powerful, entertaining, and important in our lives. Late 2nd grade to early 4th grade
    is where it might best be used.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    It is awesome to lond and enjoy books. I believe the the age rec

    It is awesome to lond and enjoy books. I believe the the age recommendation is a bit off. During the summer of 2012 this book was on my son's Kindergarten summer reading list. Other parents and I found this book to be painfully boring for the kids. My eight year old niece was not fan either. Personally, I thought the story was fairly good, but I am not the intended audience. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Good story! Enjoyed it!

    Good story! Enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    This is a beautiful book about loving books! I will be using thi

    This is a beautiful book about loving books! I will be using this story in my classroom several times this year. The illustrations are very detailed and humorous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This book

    I got a sample of this book and I loved it! I just wish my mom would buy it for me!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read this story over and over again and the more I read it, th

    I read this story over and over again and the more I read it, the richer it became. It’s about words, it’s about books, it’s about stories and order and life and ….I could go on but I think everyone who reads it will find their own meaning. Morris loved stories and books, writing his own joys and sorrows down each morning. His hopes and dreams, all written in print as he loved words and order. As life would have it, a storm blew in and upset his world and he finds himself in world like Oz. The illustrations do a superb job with this transformation with the color and the details. A woman floats by in a festival of books and hands him her favorite book, he follows her to the library where he is totally amazed at this building. The room is in dismay as he hears the book calling to him as they float around the room. The books all need assistance and Morris tries to help them. He gets wrapped up inside their pages, those wonderful stories captive him so Morris decides to share the stories with the people of the town. It’s a wonderful tale of Morris and his life; it’s a book you just want to share with everyone. The illustrations fit perfectly with the book and the script is written on a tan paper which I thought added to the warmth of the story.
    "“Everyone’s story matters,” said Morris. And all the books agreed."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Young Mensan Aubrey L, Age 6, Greater New York Mensa

    Review by Young Mensan Aubrey L, Age 6, Greater New York Mensa

    Everyone will love this book!!
    This book is about a man or teenage boy who really loves his books. It says that every book has its upsets, and I think it does. The book is saying that every book is special and that you can write your own book and that’s what books are.
    The man got upset when his book got blown around and everything he knew got scattered. He walked and walked and looked up instead of down and saw this lady and the book that the lady gave him showed him to a library. He took care of the books and when he got older the books took care of him. When he got older he left the library. When he goes out he forgets his book but he meant to because he wants somebody to find out about it. Then the books saw a girl in the doorway. She looked at all the books and Morris’ book and she read it and that’s how the story ends as it began.
    My favorite parts of this book are when he sees the lady drifting through the sky with a bunch of books, and the end it starts over again because you can get another book and know about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    A good and cute read. Kind of sweet in a way.

    This was a good and cute read. Kind of sweet in a way. The pictures are the best part as the story. But with the pictures, take your time with those. Its drawn really good. Pretty good read. I wanted to read this because well, it had to do with books and because of the title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    FLYING BOOKS

    I LOVE THIS BOOK-IT WAS FUNNY, PLAYFUL AND SPARKED MY IMAGINATION. THE PICTURES ARE GREAT. I ALSO LIKE THE IDEA THAT WE BECOME THE BOOKS WE READ. BOOKS CAN TOUCH PEOPLES LIVES IN WAYS THAT NOTHING ELSE CAN. I ALSO LOVE THAT ON MY NOOK I HAVE A CHOICE OF HOW TO ENJOY THIS BOOK; I CAN JUST READ IT MYSELF,THE BOOK CAN READ TO ME'AND I CAN RECORD MY VOICE READING THIS BOOK AND SAVE THE RECORDING TO PLAY BACK LATER. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book!

    Enjoyable read to accompany the great short film! 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I cried through most of this book. From my earliest recollectio

    I cried through most of this book. From my earliest recollection, sitting on my father's lap while he read The Saturday Evening Post and I could pick out words I recognized, until today I still find magic in reading. When I was a child if my mother couldn't find me by hollering out the front door, she invariably called the library and Miss Harding would say, "She's here sitting on the floor, reading."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Hi

    Hah! MORrIS LESSmore! Don't you get it! Haha! This author is totally awesomely creative! His name sounds like more is less! With a more at the end but thats not that important. Cute book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Fantastic

    Fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great for those creative thinkers, brings imagination to life...

    My almost 10 year old very much enjoyed it, has read it a few times, its not too lengthy, but enough to read in an evening before bed. From a parents perspective, pages are great, illustrated well, and its an APPRORIATE book, unlike many where the choice of language or slang is questionable! Can't go wrong with this one, wouls also make a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Powerful and sensitive

    The expression of love for words ... and books by Mr. Morris Lessmore was heartfelt and touch my life personally. After the loss of many of our beloved books and most everything in our life in the Nashville flood of 2010, it reminded me of the great opportunity we have to move into new avenues and adventures, after loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    This a beautiful book to be shared by the whole family. Willia

    This a beautiful book to be shared by the whole family. William Joyce is a creative genius and inspiration to readers of all ages. Life does go on even in seemingly unbearable circumstances, if we have the heart and imagination to live it.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Stunning. (At least the film was!)

    Stunning. (At least the film was!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2