Customer Reviews for

The Farm

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Just wow! This book grabbed me from the first page and didn

Wow! Just wow! This book grabbed me from the first page and didn't let go. The story is told in multiple POV. Lily dominates the story, but Carter and Mel both have some chapters along the way. While I gravitated toward Lily and her protective nature, always worrying mo...
Wow! Just wow! This book grabbed me from the first page and didn't let go. The story is told in multiple POV. Lily dominates the story, but Carter and Mel both have some chapters along the way. While I gravitated toward Lily and her protective nature, always worrying more about her sister, Mel, than anything else, I really loved the chapters told by Mel. She's autistic and boy does the girl have an interesting mind. She really adds depth to the story.

Lily is only concerned about Mel and her own safety, which means getting off of the Farm before they turn 18. 18 is the age they are supposedly released, but Lily thinks it's really the age they are fed to the Ticks. So Lily devises a plan, but everything gets derailed when Carter, a sort-of-friend and major crush from the Before, shows up. He's not at all what he seems, but Lily must trust him in order to go through with her plan to escape.

Carter has lots of secrets and I won't spoil any of them for you, but let me tell you that nothing is as it seems in this story. McKay has tons of twists and keeps you guessing. And be ready to experience every emotion in the book. There were scenes that had me cringing and grossed out. Other scenes made me want to cry. And the tension is high just about all the time. You're in for a crazy good ride with this story. It's easily on my lists of favorite books this year.

posted by Kelly_Hashway on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Refreshing New Take on Vamps

I'm in my late 40's and enjoyed this book. I really liked Mel and Lily. The charachter development is nicely done. I anxiously await the next book in the series - talk about a cliff hanging twist!!

posted by 1201333 on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    I thought this book was great. I loved the love between Lily an

    I thought this book was great. I loved the love between Lily and Carter. Well written. Slow in the beginning, but I was then not able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting book. Very interesting indeed. Initially, g

    Very interesting book. Very interesting indeed.




    Initially, going into this book I thought I had it all figured out. Boy was I wrong.  Instead, I got a more in depth, complicate story that turn out to be quite beautiful. The plot of the book is nothing like the synopsis cause it go farther and deeper that what the reader is told. Which I really liked. I liked that the story kept me on my toes as well as entertained. I loved reading more into the characters as well as learning more about their history.




    Now the main characters, Lily and Mel as phenomenal. I love their relationship as well as the survival tactics. Their both immensely smart and protective of one another. Like Mel, my son also has ASD and well, I think the author did a great job in her research about Autism. The point of view does switch quite a bit between the two but I didn't mind it. I like seeing the sides from both girls and seeing what they are thinking/feeling.




    The love interest is what I expected with well a lot of betrayal. At the beginning, I admit that I hated the guy. He has been lying about his motives from the start and I quickly caught on. Towards the ends, I'm not sure how to feel. I want to trust the guy but it just that, he lied so much I can't. I guess I have to read the next and see if he is able to re-gained my heart.




    The Farm is fresh yet complex. It offers a new world, new rules that you must learn to play in order to survive.  It's one of those books that you can read and think about afterwards. The history to the story and where it's going it whats keep me hooked. Innovative and different, The Farm is wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    The Farm is The Bomb

    Having not finished the book in its entirety, I can already say that I'm hooked. It's fast-paced, suspenseful, and thrilling at every turn. There's never a dull moment, whether it be action-packed or juicy (sparks do fly, my friend). Can't find a reason to put it down once I pick it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    loved it!

    loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Morgera

    Your welcome. She smiled. What happened to your mother anfather? She asked

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fresh and Scientific take on a Vampire Apocalypse. I didn┬┐t w

    A Fresh and Scientific take on a Vampire Apocalypse.

    I didn’t want to put this book down.

    And I wanted so much more when it ended!

    McKay does an excellent job of penning the first book in a series. THE FARM has a steady build so the reader fully realizes the world Lily and Mel are living in. The story is told from multiple, limited points of view. I know multiple POV’s aren’t everyone’s cup of tea. But know that McKay pulls it off. Much like George R R Martin’s A SONG OF FIRE AND ICE series, the different views add to the fullness of this story. Giving the reader far more information than any single character could.

    The setting of the tale is so freshly after the Tick takeover that we’re not sure what to expect from the world beyond The Farm. We see from Lily’s memory that before she and Mel were shipped to The Farm there were warnings for people to move away from the Tick infestation. The Farm itself seems reasonably well set up as a stockade for teens. It’s true purpose feels sinister – but on the surface appears to be a well thought out protection for the most vulnerable of Tick victims  Heck, as a parent I’d send my child there. Better to see them safe behind a fence than running from blood sucking monsters.

    What’s great about these blood sucking monsters in particular is that McKay doesn’t rely on the paranormal to explain her Vampires. Instead her monster is based strictly in science. And this makes it all the more terrifying because you could see how genetic experiments could go wrong…It’s far more realistic. And far more scary. It’s the realistic explanation that really sucked me in. The invasion of the Ticks reminds me of a “zombie” plot. The idea that a “virus” or “DNA” change would spread rapidly – resulting in a blood-thirsty being with no higher-level thought processes. Just smell food = Eat food. The horror!

    But it’s really the humans who prove scariest. While the Ticks can kill, fast and easy, it’s the humans and their own higher-level thoughts and plans that promote a more terrifying reality. Because you know The Farm I spoke of above isn’t based in pure intentions.

    And when the hot boy from Lily’s past comes into the picture with his own motivations knowing who to trust and which path Lily should take kept the pace of the book moving along swiftly. But don’t expect YA insta-love to hit these two. They’ve got a past of their own, a few years of crushing on each other to back up any feelings plus, romance just isn’t the point of this book. Survival is. Uncovering what’s really happening in the world is. And for once our heroine really doesn’t want to be the savior of the universe.

    “If I was an abductura, then that changed everything. Forever. … I would have to give up any hope I still clung to that there might be a normal life for me somewhere.” 

    It was this line that sealed the deal between Lily and me. I get that. When the world starts crashing down, I think all we really want is to find a normal again. To find a steady and calm place – even if it doesn’t look like it used to. You don’t get to save the world and then fade into the suburbs. It’s not wrong to wish that someone else could save the day. And leave the hope of “normal” to the heroine.

    Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Mel’s autism as a very cool addition to the tale. The (short) chapters from her point of view were wonderfully written in a lyrical/riddle mix. They always ended up shedding light on the story and by the end of the book I found myself hoping that Mel chapters would pop up so I could get new/clear information! They were little gems strewn throughout the book.

    But that ending! Geeze, I need to know NOW how everything is going to change.

    Rating: 4/5 A Fresh and Scientific take on a Vampire Apocalypse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    I wanted to enjoy The Farm more than I actually did. I picked up

    I wanted to enjoy The Farm more than I actually did. I picked up the book after heading home from university, and I craved a good read. The Farm was all right, but mostly it was meh. Surprisingly, considering the book had the super-awesome premise of two girls escaping a farm where people are kept for their blood, which is being fed to vampire mutants.

    Lily and Mel, our two main characters, live in a world overrun by mutant vampires called Ticks. They’re stuck inside a blood farm, along with several other kids their age, because their blood is most appealing to the Ticks. However, they need to escape fast, because they’re reaching the age of maturity – and no one knows what happens to people who do. They just vanish. Lily doesn’t want that to happen, so she and her mentally handicapped sister Mel, need to escape. Except that’s not as easy as it sounds. Even letting Mel in on the escape plan is a hassle.

    The best part about this book, no doubt, was the relationship between Mel and Lily. They have an unique connection. Lily is often frustrated with Mel, who has all kinds of quirks, but she loves her sister despite all that, and Mel loves Lily too, although she doesn’t always understand why Lily does the things she does. I enjoyed the chapters from Mel’s POV the most. The author obviously did her research, and she told Mel’s side of the story in a clever, interesting way.

    What was not that convincing though, was the male love interest. Carter. He’s apparently all that, and then some, and Lily has fallen for him ever since she first met him – and apparently the insta-love is mutual. But Carter, if anything, is just ‘meh’. He’s not interesting. He’s not alluring. And he hides way too many secrets. Why Lily trusted him even after he admitted to keeping secrets from her, is beyond me. Also, the chapters from Carter’s POV bordered on being boring. His POV seemed repetitive, and not necessary at all – he didn’t offer anything new to the table.

    I would’ve preferred if the story had focused on Lily’s and Mel’s POV only. I disliked Carter, and I found him a liar, who kept things for Lily ‘to protect her’, which never works, and the book owuld’ve worked better without him. Sebastian was all right though, at least he had a reason for being a pretentious jerk (which I won’t explain, because it would be a spoiler).

    All in all, not as enjoyable as I hoped, but an okay read nevertheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bits: The twists! The suspense! The fact that this book kep

    Best Bits: The twists! The suspense! The fact that this book kept me up until the wee hours of the morning on a work night... I really enjoyed the premise of The Farm. It's a mix between a zombie apocalypse and a vampire story, and it felt really fresh. It doesn't romanticize vampirism (which YA tends to do), and it's full of surprises. I think it takes a lot of skill to write a YA without falling prey to the some of the most common tropes and of the genre (tropes are really common plot points/character situations. They're not bad in general, but when it comes to vampires there are a lot of things that I can't read anymore). McKay avoided that. There's no tired love triangle, no insta-love because the characters new each other before the Ticks came into existence, and the danger is real. I wasn't prepared for the paranormal aspect of the book (beyond the ticks), and I can't give away what that is for fear of spoiling you, but let me just say that I was pleasantly surprised. I also really enjoyed the characters. With the exception of a couple of Lily's actions, I was rooting for her and Mel to get the heck off of the Farm.

    Nit Picks: I only have one for The Farm, and it is related to the relationship between Lily and Carter. It's not the relationship itself that I have a problem with. In fact, I actually enjoyed the way that played out in the story (it wasn't insta-love). My issue is that Lily tended to put everyone in danger when Carter wasn't safe. During the first half of the book she's so focused on the safety of her sister that I was surprised that she would risk the lives of the group waiting for Carter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Really good!

    Thought this book was very good and can't wait for the sequel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Book

    Strange very strange...... but WOW the book was amazing. Lilly and carter's romance was intense. Can't wait for the next book loved this strange big story.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Great Read..

    This was a little different then your typical vampire story.. There are twists and turns every which way.. over all great read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Gripping

    I only read the first chapter inside barnes & noble but i really liked it and definately want to buy it and read more!



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    recomended

    is like evil resident just with lest action and more drama more real ..u will liked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great story. Highly recomment.

    Great story. Highly recomment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    This book was AMAZING!!! I love to read personally, and I have r

    This book was AMAZING!!! I love to read personally, and I have read hundreds of books ,but this one is defiantly a favorite of mine! I read straight through this book without being able to put it down....as soon as I finished I went searching to find iout when the next book was coming out. I found the story line to be captivating.  Lily is my favorite character but I also admire Mel and Carter for adding to the story. I cannot wait until the next book comes out to read more! Emily McKay does an exceptional job with connecting the reader to the story..and leaving the audience thrusting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1