Customer Reviews for

The Fast Metabolism Diet: Eat More Food and Lose More Weight

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Nook Version....  Double tap on the meal plan and it takes i

The Nook Version....  Double tap on the meal plan and it takes it to a separate full screen.   You can use your fingers to make it bigger once on that screen.  

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

144 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Great book but these diets are fairly unrealistic from a medical

Great book but these diets are fairly unrealistic from a medical standpoint.

posted by Shane_Carlismo on April 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Don't get this book on the nook. The images for the meal plans a

    Don't get this book on the nook. The images for the meal plans are low quality and unreadable.

    27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Do not buy the nook book. Meal plans are unreadable.   Waste of

    Do not buy the nook book. Meal plans are unreadable.   Waste of money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I purchased this book twice. First for my NOOK, but was unable t

    I purchased this book twice. First for my NOOK, but was unable to read the charts and menu suggestions because of size and orientation. I then went out and purchased it in hard back so I would be able to read all the charts, etc. and make my own notes (yes I wrote in my book).

    Keep in mind when starting this diet, it has some drastic changes in diet from those I am used to. You will be eliminating caffine, dairy, wheat, corn, etc. from your diet. I struggled with the withdrawls, but was committed to pushing through. The next hurdle was the cost of grocerys! The recipe's call for a LOT of spices, condiments and etc., that I was not used to cooking with or simply didn't have in the house. Therefore I found myself having to purchase spices and additional recipe ingredients that added to my initial grocery bill which made it very expensive for an average income household ($260. for 2 weeks worth of food for 2). Then the final hurdle: I work from home which you would think would make this diet easy, as there is much cooking involved. In fact there is sooo much prep and cooking involved for this diet, it felt like that was all I was doing. In addition, some of the recipes for soup or chili call for 6 to 8 hours in a crockpot (had to buy a crock pot). This means that you are prepping your ingredients first thing in the morning. Then there is the switching of menus approx every 2 days, so you are freezing a lot. The book says the freezer is your best friend - ie: stock up on ziplock and tupperware. You also need to be very organized to be able to keep your frozen foods easily accessable for the next round. You also need to be able to organize a grocery list with the amounts needed for a week or two of recipes/grocerys without food spoilage which can get more expensive. In the end, I made it a week and a half with 3 lbs of weight loss. The stress of withdrawls and the amount of cooking and shopping, etc were so stressful while trying to work from home were too much. I simply can't imaging doing this diet at all if I were a working mother with children and worked outside of the home. I'm not that kind of super woman.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    What a rip-off. You can't make out any of the daily food plans

    What a rip-off. You can't make out any of the daily food plans on the nook. I even took a magnifying glass to my nook and still can't read them. $12.99 down the drain.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    CAN'T SEE MENU CARDS!!!!!

    This book would be good if the menu cards were in larger print!!! I can't use it because I can't read them!!!!! Very frustrating!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Hard to follow and stay on

    I found this diet hard to follow and to stay on. You could have fruits on some days but only certain kinds. The two-day Phase II was especially hard for me because you couldn't eat any fruits or grains. I'll admit I'm a sugar addict, so I know that makes a difference, but I can see why the diet is to last only 28 days because you'll be sick of it by then! The required food is common but more expensive such as meat, a lot of fruit, nuts, etc. I would just think twice about trying this diet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Buy the Book

    Having the book on the Nook, you are not able to view the meal plans well and there is no way to print them off, so it is difficult to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1