Customer Reviews for

The Fast Metabolism Diet: Eat More Food and Lose More Weight

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Nook Version....  Double tap on the meal plan and it takes i

The Nook Version....  Double tap on the meal plan and it takes it to a separate full screen.   You can use your fingers to make it bigger once on that screen.  

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

144 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Great book but these diets are fairly unrealistic from a medical

Great book but these diets are fairly unrealistic from a medical standpoint.

posted by Shane_Carlismo on April 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    LIFE-CHANGING!  I can tell it is going to be different than any

    LIFE-CHANGING!  I can tell it is going to be different than any other diet. 

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Do not buy the nook book. Meal plans are unreadable.   Waste of

    Do not buy the nook book. Meal plans are unreadable.   Waste of money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I purchased this book twice. First for my NOOK, but was unable t

    I purchased this book twice. First for my NOOK, but was unable to read the charts and menu suggestions because of size and orientation. I then went out and purchased it in hard back so I would be able to read all the charts, etc. and make my own notes (yes I wrote in my book).

    Keep in mind when starting this diet, it has some drastic changes in diet from those I am used to. You will be eliminating caffine, dairy, wheat, corn, etc. from your diet. I struggled with the withdrawls, but was committed to pushing through. The next hurdle was the cost of grocerys! The recipe's call for a LOT of spices, condiments and etc., that I was not used to cooking with or simply didn't have in the house. Therefore I found myself having to purchase spices and additional recipe ingredients that added to my initial grocery bill which made it very expensive for an average income household ($260. for 2 weeks worth of food for 2). Then the final hurdle: I work from home which you would think would make this diet easy, as there is much cooking involved. In fact there is sooo much prep and cooking involved for this diet, it felt like that was all I was doing. In addition, some of the recipes for soup or chili call for 6 to 8 hours in a crockpot (had to buy a crock pot). This means that you are prepping your ingredients first thing in the morning. Then there is the switching of menus approx every 2 days, so you are freezing a lot. The book says the freezer is your best friend - ie: stock up on ziplock and tupperware. You also need to be very organized to be able to keep your frozen foods easily accessable for the next round. You also need to be able to organize a grocery list with the amounts needed for a week or two of recipes/grocerys without food spoilage which can get more expensive. In the end, I made it a week and a half with 3 lbs of weight loss. The stress of withdrawls and the amount of cooking and shopping, etc were so stressful while trying to work from home were too much. I simply can't imaging doing this diet at all if I were a working mother with children and worked outside of the home. I'm not that kind of super woman.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    A MUST READ!

    A MUST READ!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Just finished reading!  Can't wait to get started and to take co

    Just finished reading!  Can't wait to get started and to take control of my health!  Thank you Haylie Pomroy!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Wow!  Well done!

    Wow!  Well done!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You have to get the hardbound book (nook doesn't work) -- but th

    You have to get the hardbound book (nook doesn't work) -- but this book is phenomenal! Haylie 'speaks' to you clearly, explains why this works -- cheers you on! Plus there are some amazing recipes... makes it so easy to follow!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    "YES! YES! YES!"  just like Dr. Oz said...We are all o

    "YES! YES! YES!"  just like Dr. Oz said...We are all on our way to living a healthier life!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    WEALTH OF KNOWLEDGE!!  Wish I had this info sooner!

    WEALTH OF KNOWLEDGE!!  Wish I had this info sooner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    AWESOME!

    AWESOME!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Easy Read!  Couldn't put it down.  Good-bye dieting...hello eati

    Easy Read!  Couldn't put it down.  Good-bye dieting...hello eating!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Thank you Dr. Oz for having this book and author on your show.  

    Thank you Dr. Oz for having this book and author on your show.  I am so excited to get started.  I really liked the book!  I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK!  I felt like Haylie was in my living

    ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK!  I felt like Haylie was in my living room talking to me!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Love it! Love it! Love it!

    Love it! Love it! Love it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    So weird to be on a "diet" but eating so much great fo

    So weird to be on a "diet" but eating so much great food!  I love it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    What a rip-off. You can't make out any of the daily food plans

    What a rip-off. You can't make out any of the daily food plans on the nook. I even took a magnifying glass to my nook and still can't read them. $12.99 down the drain.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    FINALLY a book that makes SENSE of my situation... I am actually

    FINALLY a book that makes SENSE of my situation... I am actually ENJOYING reading it! My favorite quote so far is "Eating is Good, Eating is Good"  my new mantra BTW : )

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Thank you Dr. Oz & Haylie for this amazing program. 

    Thank you Dr. Oz & Haylie for this amazing program. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    REVOLUTIONARY!!

    REVOLUTIONARY!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9