Customer Reviews for

The Fat Fallacy: The French Diet Secrets to Permanent Weight Loss

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    At least 15 lbs lost and still losing!!!

    After battling the same 40 unwanted lbs for the last 10 years, needless to say, I've gone on and off a lot of diets. Couldn't stick with any of them---how long can a person last living on cardboard, anyway? I've visited Paris and I knew what Dr. Clower said about the eating & exercise habits of the French was true. If you do see an obese person there chances are they're American. I've followed every bit of advice in the Fat Fallacy from using whole butter, to dining slower, to eating real foods with ingredients I both recognize and can pronounce. After 3 months following this plan I got up enough nerve to get on the scale and I've lost 15 lbs.!!! The best part of this plan for me is that I've completely lost my taste for all forms of fast food, junk food and the like. It tastes like absolute garbage to me now, so it's no longer a temptation. Neither is snacking. I eat my rich but small three meals a day and I'm more than satisfied. Caution: You WILL become a food snob, but eating will be a great pleasure instead of a great tribulation in your life!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    american style

    The Fat Fallacy is a very funny book.If you read Frech Women don't get fat and did'nt understand it or you did'nt feel like you got all that the writer was trying to say, The Fat Fallacy is a great read.If you compare the two books, you will find that they are both good,but their is something differnt about the fat fallacy. for one, French women dont get fat is very stright forward.We asked the french womam and she told us her secrets to staying thin,but i found more helpful instructions in the fat fallacy.The man who wrote it is very funny and will answer all your questions before you even ask them.The theory of the book works too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    Worked for me!

    I first spotted The Fat Fallacy in a bookstore at a time when I was feeling frustrated at not being able to shed those last 10 pounds after months of exercising more regularly than I ever had before and trying to eat low-fat. I was intrigued by the idea that I could eat foods I love - cheese, full-fat premium ice cream, and chocolate - all while losing weight. It sounded almost too good to be true, but I'd seen firsthand from a trip to Paris that the French ate very differently from us yet stayed thin. Also, many of Will Clower's comments made a lot of sense intuitively. I decided to give it a try, hoping for the best, but promising to stop if it caused me to gain weight instead. I tossed out the skim milk, 'low-fat' cheese, and processed foods containing high-fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils and other artificial ingredients (you'd be amazed how many things include them!). To refill my pantry and refrigerator, I bought cream-top yogurt, whole milk, cheese, freshly baked french bread, good olive oil, high-quality dark chocolate, fresh vegetables, etc. I loved eating the new foods, found I didn't need to eat as much as before to feel satisfied, and was amazed at how quickly I saw the pounds start coming off. Within just over a month of making the changes, I had lost the 10 pounds I'd been struggling with. Another 5 pounds that I wasn't even trying to lose came off in the following month, leaving me happily surprised to have dropped 3 clothing sizes. Wow! It's so wonderful to be able to enjoy food without guilt, and to be happy with my body at the same time! I've since bought several copies of The Fat Fallacy to share with friends and family who've expressed interest. I'm always happy to be able to tell people about this book, as it encourages a healthy lifestyle rather than a 'diet'. It's definitely worth reading, and the recommendations seem so much healthier than some of today's trendier diets. Hope you'll read it and get as much out of it as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Good ideas, but...

    Ok, I agree that this book is good, and it has some really good, practical ideas, such as, put your fork down between bites to enjoy your food more and slow down. Eat smaller bites. That is how Europeans eat. I lived in Europe for 8 years, and am actually a bit shocked now that I am back in the U.S., at our consumer attitude toward food. The Europeans view food as part of their landscape, their history, their culture. They sample and enjoy. In the U.S., we consume it. We eat in our cars. We eat on the go. At night, when I watch TV here (occasionally), I see one ad after another of these massive, deep-fried foods. It is literally like being bombarded by the fast food companies. The whole message here is: eat big, eat fast, don't think, consume, consume, consume. That is the stereotype of American eating around the world. Unfortunately, for 80 % of Americans, it is true. The only two things I would add to my review is, this book is great, but, I strongly think that smoking should be a factor here. No doubt, many more Europeans would be fatter if they gave up smoking. Smoking is an appetite suppressant, and it also tends to kill you younger, so your chances of living to be bigger are less. The author should maybe tell that story as well. I knew Europeans who were 'fit' from the outside, but only by being chain smokers. Also, Europeans just walk around more. When I lived in Europe, I walked to get groceries. No doubt, the American lack of walking also makes us fatter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    A MUST-READ for everyone interested in eating GOOD FOOD for GOOD HEALTH!

    This is the most balanced book on getting the 'right diet' that I've ever read. The author has exposed America's unhealthy obsession with 'low-fat' and 'no-fat' foods (which the author refers to as 'faux foods') and the fact that Americans are increasingly fat, fat, fatter! Yet France has an obesity rate of only 8%. After only one week of beginning to modify my diet according to the author's suggestions, I am eating smaller amounts of REAL food and have already lost 2 pounds. And I'm happy! Hey! Anyone who tells me 'Eat chocolate -- it's good for you!' is going to get my hearty recommendation. BUY THIS BOOK!! If you are serious about making a change, this book will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    sensible satisfying eating guide

    I stumbled onto Dr. Clower in my local Barnes and Noble, THANK GOD!! Buy this book is really the gist of my review, even with your last $10. There was a famous 60 minutes story a few years ago about the 'french paradox' of high fat, wine, and even smoking lifestyles, yet they had better health than many other countries. Dr. Clower lived and worked in France and successfully gives a rather in depth explanation of the 'french paradox', where 60 minutes failed. I have followed Dr. Clower's guide to eating and feel satisfied, have lost weight, and cannot recommend it highly enough. Dr. Clower blows away the low fat and engineered food diets that have been thrust on us by the large food companies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1